We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Ranked #306 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in a spacious room and very comfortable. The antique furniture bring the ancient sense in a modern environment. The receptionist while we checked in was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is nice and we can enjoy all the menu. The hotel location is also very near to the Rome Termini station (central train station) as well as the Hop On Hop Off bus station, from where we can explore around the city of Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pahala_Silalahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located just a few metres from Termini station with all services available nearby, and easy access to Rome center. Staff was very friendly and available to help for anything we needed, hey even proposed a package breakfast as we had to leave early the last day. They have connecting rooms for families with children, not easy to find in Rome.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mdtalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is located close to central station and subway possibilities, which on the one hand is great getting around Rome & on the other, you hear/ notice the trains in your room. The rooms are tiny, furnished in a style of the 60 - 70's & nothing has been done to update them, apart from wifi &TVs. The bathroom has a constant sewerage smell, from the old pipes. You need to keep the windows closed or you will hear the traffic from the main street below. Breakfast is in a windowless room, the variety is not bad. The staff are below average throughout the hotel, compared to other staff I have come across during the week in Italy, the staff here didn't really want to serve & when you asked questions as you were perhaps confused they let their frustration show and be heard. On a night that i stayed in, due to not being well, I called reception to order a tea - I was told they had a day off & I could leave the hotel to cross the street for my tea, I remarked that I was sick and didn't want to leave the hotel, and there was no 'service' of anyone making me a tea. It is not a hotel I would have booked, it was part of a tour package. Its a hotel that I would not recommend, nor stay in again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mytravelworldrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here in November 2013 for 4 days. The rooms were large, well equipped and clean. The food was nice but basic. Unfortunately as a Coeliac, Italy wasn't geared to cater for non-pasta and pizza eating people but there were enough salads and risottos to go around! The hotel was located really close to the Termini so it was easy to get to from the airport (the Leonardo shuttle goes directly to Fiumincino airport from the Termini every half an hour). From the hotel you could easily walk to fantastic attractions like the Trevi Fountains and the Spanish Steps and with the metro a short walk away it was perfect for travelling to larger attractions like the Vatican and the Colosseum. This hotel was a perfect base for a short trip. Just bear in mind that the hotel restaurant is slightly pricier than other eateries.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which isn't near the main road which seems to be really noisy at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot_JMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed there because of conference we were taking part. The hotel is very conveniently located close to Termini train and metro station but if you wish to stay in the very city centre you should probably look elsewhere. Anyway it takes about 25 minutes to walk from hotel to Coloseum and Forum Romanum (or two stop metro ride).
Room was nice and clean but very basic and old-styled. I think that the room would be nice set up for some vintage looking glamour photo. However the hotel corridors seems quite shabby to me. We had an issue with room temperature (AC was working however it was not possible to set the temperature bellow 24°C which I found quite hot for good sleeping. My colleagues in other rooms had same issue so probably the temperature is centrally set?) and with toilet flush - it taked long time to fill the tank again.
Breakfast was rich and tasty but I would prefer more Italian food (salami, cheeses, olives etc) to be served when staying in hotel in Rome. The breakfast room was small and probably would get cramped when more people came inside but we do not have the problem as only few more people eat with us at the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing tram tracks as it could be quite noisy there (especially in lower floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inutihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We frequently visit Rome and I have stayed in various hotels in the city. Via Cavour in general is very convinient given its position to Roma Termini train station.
The room was clean, nothing to complaint about this. However the lobby and rooms are old looking and the breakfast is limited in options.
Check in and out happened reasonably fast and payment in US dollar was accepted as well.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Soully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for a Mid price European hotel. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Rooms are clean. Staff is helpful. Restaurant and bar were just ok weak drinks, food not as good but still okay. When comparing food in Italy, it is hard to call any of it bad so it was good not Great! Breakfast buffet is decent especially given the fact Italians do not really eat breakfast like Americans. The buffet provided bacon eggs cereals and breads along with meats and cheeses. Overall I liked this hot

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4dakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#468 of 1,272 in Rome
549 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#99 of 1,272 in Rome
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#121 of 1,272 in Rome
355 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#229 of 1,272 in Rome
1,248 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio

Address: Via Cavour 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1875 the Hotel Massimo d’Azeglio has provided traditional hospitality to its numerous Italian and Foreign guests. Although through the years it has been refurbished many times the hotel has maintained its “turn of the century” character. Its halls, bar and restaurant house an important collection of paintings and prints of the Italian “Risorgimento”. The wood paneled Restaurant, with its famous wine cellar, is one of the best known in the city. The Massimo d’Azeglio Restaurant and Hotel has been included amongst the historic hotels of Italy. The Massimo d'Azeglio Hotel has 185 Rooms,3 Conference Rooms, Garage, Bar & Restaurant, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Rome
Bettoja Massimo d Azeglio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing