We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful hotel and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #57 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, Bucks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful hotel and great staff”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed at the Splendide Royal in August with my 5 month old baby and my mother. The staff could not do enough for us, they were very helpful and attentive, which was lovely especially traveling with a baby. They even put a travel cot in the room for us and made it all up with their sheets which was very thoughtful.

The location is just a small walk from the spanish steps, which was perfect. The restaurant was a little on the expensive side but had beautiful views over rome. We were very happy with our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    267
    82
    40
    33
See reviews for
197
755
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Went here for a special occasion. Had a stunning room with large comfortable bed and lots of period furniture and features. Balcony with fantastic views towards the Vatican
5 star quality but without the stuffiness of some larger hotels in this category. Service exemplary and friendly. Recetion recommend a small traditinal restaurant which served the best pasta I have tasted - al tartufo - height of the truffle season when we went.
Mirabelle restaurant great experience but ridiculously expensive - see separate review

Room Tip: go for a superior room with balcony if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We, too, spent our 25th wedding anniversary at the Splendide Royal. The service was excellent and our room was beautifully designed, elegant, comfortable and a real haven after a busy day touring Rome. Wonderful amenities included bed turn-down each night, with slippers placed on linen mats bedside. It was just a wonderful and most memorable stay. We are thrilled to have discovered Splendide Royal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I wanted to stay somewhere extra special for our 25th wedding anniversary - and the Splendide Royal did not disappoint us. We spent 5 nights at the hotel. The staff were most attentive - nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The hotel is in an excellent location - in a central part of Rome, but off of the main busy street. Next time we go to Rome we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loriandrussvezzola
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I highly recommend this hotel. The location is great, rooms are big and gorgeous. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to go out of their way. They booked us a tour to Tuscany complete with wine tasting. They arranged everything including the train transportation. This hotel is very close to the hop on and off bus stop. Try the coffee cafe on the next st across from hotel Eden and a very short distance from the bus stop. FIrst class all the way!

The Jewells

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriandrussvezzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

me and my fiance went to rome for a romantic birthday trip. the staff at the splendide royal are the nicest hotel staff we have ever dealt with. they were helpful, polite, friendly and they went out of their way to please you. we had a problem with payment for our stay but they dealt with it in a pleasant manner and didn't change their attitude towards us. we had a problem with the jacuzzi in our room, within less than half an hour it was fixed. room service is out of this world, their food was luxurious. the rooms are faultless decorated beautifully and tastefully. the hotel itself is spectacular and on a great location. definately recommend it to anyone !

Room Tip: we were originally put in a standard room which was out of this world decorated beautifully, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky13AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on transit from Venice to Tokyo as we did not wish to leave Venice so early to go back straight. In so doing I chose this hotel having read many favourable reviews on Tripadvisor and also because, having been disappointed with our stay at Hassler last summer, we wanted to explore a better hotel. We booked a junior suite with a Borgehse Park view but without balcony. The room allocated to us was quite spacious and furnished well having a large balcony with a couple of reclining chairs. They sort of leveled up to a better room very kindly without mentioning it. The lounges are gorgeously decorated and furnished in a Baroque style. Lifts and corridors are rather small and narrow but sufficient for a small number of guests they accommodate. Staff at reception were efficient and kind appearing to be always sincerely ready to help guests. As my wife’s suitcase had been missed at the airport a concierge kindly searched for it earnestly through Alitalia’s lost property desk which had appeared to us very inefficient and untrustworthy ( we got it back two days after we returned home ) We had booked a table at Mirabelle, a Michelin starred restaurant in this hotel for dinner for which she thought she had no appropriate dress and shoes. The concierge talked to Restaurant Manager describing what she wore and persuaded him to accept her as she appeared. However she felt so sad and miserable that we even thought of cancelling the dinner. Good gracious me, when I opened my suitcase I found a shopping bag in which a new dress she bought at Villa D’Este was contained and further found her pair of dress shoes, too! So we could have cheerfully a good dinner. Mirabelle was a very good restaurant beautifully decorated looking out nicely to the city and Borgehse Park. Hassler had a similar or even better location ( Michelin starred also ) but Mirabelle provided much better ambience and cuisine. First a manager like man greeted us and asked which table we would like inside or outside. My wife asked for an inside table and then he said, “We would give you a table very close to the balcony still with a good view”. Quite a few waiters served us very smartly creating good atmosphere for us. The dishes were, like Japanese summer style, all made of decorated glasses. As one of them was so beautifully designed that its surface was uneven and dressing flowed over the plate and then the table on to my trousers. Several waiters came and offered to change the plate but, as it could spoil the food, I asked a folded napkin to insert between the corner of the plate and the table. A lot of applaud came from them, saying how clever I was. It did not damage our cheerful mind at all but back home I discovered that my trousers had uselessly carried a couple of big stains even after cleaning. However overall it was a good stay and dining for the last stop before going back home.

Room Tip: As commented
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomoyuki-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#126 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#113 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing