We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #56 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Splendid stay in Rome”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A very beautiful and refined hotel with a pleasant staff.
Room did not had a view but it was huge (I got an upgrade)
The only con is get back to the Hotel from the Piazza di Spagna...it's 10 minute walk in a steep way

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VittorioRullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    267
    82
    40
    33
See reviews for
196
755
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I want to give 4 1/2 stars but can't as this site won't let me. This is a lovely boutique type hotel in the old world style and where you stay if you're not just looking for on tap food, easy access bar, etc. Whenever I phoned reception the service was immediate - must be the quickest anywhere I have experienced. But the price is high - breakfast, restaurant, bar - all very expensive which can't quite be justified. Even so, we felt very welcome - do ask reception for the soft pillows though as the originals are like those the flintstones would sleep on.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhedleyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I wouver say if you are 50 and over you will like the decor. The room was a suite which is the standard size of a junior suite and poorly laid out. Bathroom was large enough however shower was awkward and leaked onto floor.The pillows were uncomfortable. The closets were roomy and spacious. Overall expensive for what you got in return. we ate at restaurant on top level and view was amazing and service was excellent. The tasting menu was worth the price. Dessert would be the most expensive i have ever had.. not worth it.. it was the chocolate souffle.. excellent but overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank kajah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

After a lot of research on Trip Advisor I chose the Splendide Royal in Rome and was glad I did.
From the welcoming staff on the front desk to the Concierge and Restaurant staff our stay was made very enjoyable. The Hotel is in a handy location about 5-10 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps and in fact you can walk to just about any of Rome's major sights from the Hotel if you are feeling energetic. The accommodation was clean, the breakfast was good with a good selection to choose from and the staff friendly. If you're looking for a place to stay in Rome - the Splendide Royal is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griswalds59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this gorgeous hotel in Rome. Everything about our experience was splendid and underlined the name of this property. We are experienced travelers and spoiled in that we always try to stay at first class hotels. Our package included a dinner at the one star Michelin restaurant and the food was creative and delicious, and as everywhere in the hotel the service exemplary. Our room with terrace was luxurious with sheets that were crisp and a terrific bathroom with double sinks and whirlpool tub. I think what made our visit so special though was the attitude of the staff..great suggestions for dinner, a wonderful private tour guide and no request was refused. This hotel is also in a wonderful location near the Borghese gardens and above the Spanish Steps so it was possible to walk everywhere. I also took advantage of the free use of their sister hotel's new Prince Spa which was spectacular.

Room Tip: Loved the rooms with terrace especially in the warm September weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riki t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After the long flight from Australia, we were happy to arrive at the Splendide Royale, and felt welcome immediately. The full blockout drapes and quiet room were just what we needed to sleep well and get over jet lag quickly, so we could enjoy our holiday sooner. Great location, great staff, our room (601) was perfect and beautiful. The restaurant on the top floor, the Mirabelle, offers magnificent views over Rome, and, while expensive, was truly memorable and probably had the very best food that we had during our 4 weeks tour around Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorpioprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was a wonderful Hotel-- very close to the Spanish Step and with a woonderful view-- the service was great and the rooms were delightful--

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhalter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#35 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#128 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#114 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing