We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #65 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for two nights. 12-14 december, the hotel is beautiful. feels like being in a castle of kings and queens. excelente service and a lot of good will to help and serve. good value for our money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for the time taken in sharing your thoughts with our fellow trip advisor readers.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    270
    84
    43
    34
See reviews for
200
768
36
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is one of the best hotel that I have been to for many years, very nice rooms and the staff was helpful and kind. Well Worth our recommendation. Very nice view from the breakfast room.
A small and very friendly hotel at a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoA5806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your amazing comment.

I think there is nothing else we can add to your words if not thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Splendide Royal.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was a beautiful hotel and the staff, rooms, service and location were all exceptional. I would definitely recommend! I would also like to thank the lovely man that carried all of our luggage up 5 large flights of stairs when my little sister panicked (she is claustrophobic) and couldn’t get into the lift.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank your for your nice comment and the time taken in writing.

We try to do our best to meet all of our guest requests. I would say that in your case we litterally worked hard to do so, haha.

Thank you again for your review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Eternal city in the new future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

At 7:00 o'clock will wake you up the sound of thousands of birds. Breakfast was included on the 5th floor and every day was the same menu. I used to go by walking to must of interested touristic places. Our rooms were deluxe (big). We had connected rooms and they were able to accommodate an extra twin bed. VERY FRIENDLY STAFF!!! I congratulate to all of them!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrnaGTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review and your perfect description of what we try to achieve with every one of our guest's stay, one relaxing and quiet gateway in the centre of the city. Our staff is flattered and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Rome and the Splendide Royal for your future visits. Thank you so much once again.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We always stay at hotels of this level,so we expected and got an excellent service and atmosphere.But this hotel stands out for its capuccino!! At breakfast I asked the waiter for a capuccino and it arrived instantly.,It landed next to me in seconds!!.I thought it was a coincidence.Then I ordered a second one and it also arrived in a a fraction of time!!AND PERFECT !!by far the best in the whole Rome.Next day the same thing happened. congratulations to everybody that works at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Aikaterini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice comments. We will forward this to the food and beverage department, we are sure they will be glad to read that you enjoyed so much our cappuccino!

Looking forward to welcoming you to the Splendide Royal for a relaxing getaway whenever you want.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Splendide Royale for two nights prior to boarding a Seabourn Cruise. We found the hotel to be in one of the most accessible and quietest areas for a 4- or 5-star hotel.
Just a 2 minute walk, and you are on the Via Veneto. Across the street, The Villa Borghese. 5 minutes down the street, The Spanish Steps. 10 min, Piazza Barberini.
The hotel is very well kept, and is done in a very Baroque style. Lots of gold leaf. Lots.
The terrace upstairs has a great view for the breakfasts.
The rooms were larger than most European hotels, and the amenities are great. Service is pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark-in-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comments on our hotel and your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Splendide Royal in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,063 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,188 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We actually had another hotel in Rome booked and I made a change at the last minute to stay here. I saw a picture of the rooftop restaurant and assumed wrongly, that it will be used for the daily buffet breakfast. Some years back we stayed in the hotel near the Vatican, where we had a wonderful breakfasts and dinners in their rooftop restaurant. We wanted to stay in a different part of town this time, but still looked forward to start the day with a wonderful view of the city. We love to linger over breakfast and plan our day, surrounded hopefully by the best our money can buy. The breakfast buffet was nice, but not in the rooftop restaurant we saw featured, rather on a glassed in "porch" like room with a not so gorgeous view on a lower floor.
Our room was on the low floor with a view of an unkept court yard.The room was at the end of the hall and we soon found out that it served as a "parking" space for the maids supply cart.The room itself was fine, heavy italian feel, good marble bathroom.Thru our three night stay I felt that I should say something, but because we left the hotel in the morning and returned late at night, changing rooms would have cut into our time spent in Rome and therefore not worth it.This is a decision one has to make before unpacking! And it is much harder, when first arriving from the US, after an overnight flight, just getting a room that is ready, feels like a reward itself.
We reserved dinner in the rooftop restaurant for the last night and we were promised a table outside with the view that I would finally get to enjoy- the very reason, why we chose this hotel. It was a special occasion for my birthday, but we were pretty much ignored when we arrived promptly, left waiting and than assigned a table right in the entrance, where the waiters where coming in with huge trays. And no good view! We protested and were offered a table inside in a completely empty dining room, again, no view. Take it or leave it type of thing - very unpleasant confrontation. To my surprise, it was my husband, who never ever complains, who felt that the way we were treated was because we were not regulars, and hotel guests or a birthday did not mean anything to them. So we left. We had dinner in a small restaurant around the corner, not the view I hoped for, but great food and great service. We later found out, that the restaurant is not owned by the hotel, so they did not need to treat hotel guest well. We voiced our grievances, when we were checking out. Too late for anything to be done or for them to care! Despite this we had a great time in Rome. We liked the hotel location. We were moving on, driving on Amalfi coast to Sorrento, for a nice long relaxing stay there. We made this trip in September 2012 and I hope that it is still relevant and will be published...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and remarks. As far as the rooms in our website is definitely explained what kind of rooms offer a view on the park and what offer a view on the courtyard. We do not believe that the courtyard is unkept, it is just the interior of an hystorical building and not a view per se.

We would have definitely shown you other rooms on request, our aim in the end is to have all of our guests happy.

We will forward your remarks on the Mirabelle restaurant to the management of the restaurant and i am sure they will take good note.

Thank you very much for your review again.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#126 of 1,258 in Rome
923 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,258 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#116 of 1,258 in Rome
851 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing