We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Splendide Royal
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$937
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,485)
Filter reviews
1,485 results
Traveller rating
1,026
290
92
44
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,026
290
92
44
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmirabelle restaurantvia venetoborghese gardensspanish stepsbeautiful hoteljunior suitebreakfast roomharry's bartop floorsister hotelmarble bathroomfive star hotelhighly recommend this hotelst peterstrevi fountainquiet locationaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,485 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I booked this hotel for our stay in Rome to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. I had spent hours researching hotels and facilities as I wanted a balcony and luxury for our extra special stay. Therefore I chose this hotel based on the reviews and paid a lot extra for a five star experience and a better room than the standard. I was sorely disappointed. The room was old and tired. The carpeted floor looked almost thread bare. We had no balcony and our window looked onto a narrow street. When I enquired at reception as to why we did not have a balcony, it initially looked as if we were going to be moved until the receptionist checked my booking and frowned saying, you booked through Expedia, which means you get a lower floor and no terrace! To top the experience off our bed was big but hard and the pillows were uncomfortably solid. Save your money and stay somewhere cheaper. Rome is amazing and quite small, you spend very little time in your hotel any way. I didn't let this experience ruin my stay in Rome but this hotel definitely didn't add anything to what was a very special holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FiverIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Splendide Royal is the perfect place to stay in Rome. It's a short walk to the Spanish Steps and several excellent restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was comparatively spacious (for a European hotel), with a beautiful and luxurious bathroom. On the drive in from the airport, our taxi driver told us that our hotel has the most beautiful rooftop bar in Rome. It has an incredible view of the Borghese gardens and the Vatican off in the distance. The only flaw was that the bed (like every bed we slept on in Italy) was incredibly hard, and the pillows were on the skinny side.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMK129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The Splendide Royal is a fabulous hotel that exudes luxury, refinement and taste. My wife and I discovered it several years ago while walking and resolved to book it on our next trip to Rome. We've stayed here four times in the past few years, and we can't wait to go back. The rooms are gorgeous--beautifully decorated and superbly furnished, with lighting of a quality and dimension that make the rooms in top U.S. hotels seem dim and dull by comparison. The predominant color in our room was red, which we love, and we were especially taken by drapes in vertical stripes of red, gold and blue. A sense of zest and imagination abound in the decor. The dark wood in the ample closet and shelving space lent the kind of old-world accent one would expect in a city that bills itself as eternal, and the patterned red carpet was soft and plush. The marbled bathroom was a pleasure. Perhaps the most striking feature of the room was the recessed lighting treatment in the ceiling, which gives off a soft, romantic peach glow when the other lights are turned off. The lobby area, divided into two rooms equal in elegance, is stunning. The members of the staff are friendly, gracious and extremely helpful. The lovely breakfast room on the sixth floor offers excellent fare complemented by a commanding view of the dome of St. Peter's Basilica in the distance. The location is prime--about a block around the corner from the top of Via Veneto and 10 minutes or less on foot from the top of the Spanish Steps. A reasonably priced public parking garage for those of sufficient fortitude to drive in Rome is two blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Palatial room with lovely view of Borghese gardens. Double sinks in bathroom. Shower a bit snug, but okay. Nice breakfast buffet served in 6th floor dining room with lovely view of Rome. Excellent, attentive service. Rooftop ristorante "Mirabelle" has excellent food and service, and a beautiful view, but be aware, it is extremely expensive. Overall a lovely, friendly hotel close to Via Veneto, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Borghese Gallery. Advise you use a travel agent to get a discount on the room. Our room listed for 1100 Euros per night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeFormaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Wed have just returned from a 4 night break in Rome & I was little worried as recently there have been a few "mixed reviews" about this hotel. Well, really if you are thinking of staying here there is nothing to worry about - and if you are coming from the UK, the hotels back home could learn a lot from these guys.
First of all, the doormen, reception staf, porters etc are all friendly & helpful. I can only guess that the few people who have found them "rude or unhelpful" forget that English is not their 1st language & translation can be mis-understood. ( A little basic knowledge of Italian goes a long way & the odd "grazie" is much appreciated. ).
Our room was very large & comfortable, traffic noise level good. Warning though, check the price before taking anything from the mini-bar, or you will be in for a shock!!.
The Hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps - turn left out of the hotel, right at the bottom of the road & they are about 200 yards on the left hand side - and about 20 minutes from the other main attractions. Turn right out of the Hotel & you quickly hit Villa Borghese Park & Via Veneto with its cafes & shops.
There is a VERY small fitness room - it's looks massive, until you realise that all of the walls are mirrored & it's only about 6 foot x 6 foot!!!!
We stayed on a "Room only" basis, so can't comment on breakfast or restaurant quality - did have a peek in there though & it looked gorgeous, prices were a bit too steep for us. ( € 42 each for main course )
Thoroughly enjoyed every minute here, and Rome is truly amazing. If we are ever lucky enough to return we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Grazie Hotel Splendide.
Ciao

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianandLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews