We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Up to Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #57 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not Up to Expectations”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Rome is our favorite city, and this hotel is located in the upscale hotel section of Rome. Quite walkable to most places. We got a suite and paid north of $700 per night (off season)). The bedroom was small, the sitting area was tiny, the bathroom was decent sized but had a tub that made it hard to take a shower, and the closets and drawer space were not that great. The bathroom was quite a distance from the bedroom. We had an interior facing room/suite so it was quiet, except for hearing the door banging from the hallway. The hotel is nicely decorated--the lobby more than the rooms. Service was not what one would expect from a hotel in this price and quality range. The in-hotel restaurant defines "pretense"--$33 Euros for two drinks (and dinners would be $200 a person). All in all, I didn't see the value for the money, even given that Rome is expensive (and crowded, even in November).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    267
    82
    40
    33
See reviews for
197
755
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel cellebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. Its staff allowed us to feel special in this happy occasion and enjoy five days of royal leisure. We've been to many hotels in Italy, mostly small luxury hotels ( I feel it takes a special hotel for a special country) but this one was simply unique.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtemaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Stayed 4 nights. The Hotel restaurant has a Michelin star and is very expensive. Surprisingly, considering their Michelin star, we were a little disappointed with the food. We only ate in the restaurant once and after that went to other local restaurants which were generally very good. The restaurant is at the top of the hotel and has a wonderful view of the Rome skyline. Also the breakfast room is equally well sited and has good views. About a ten minute walk to the Spanish Steps and five minutes from Via Veneto.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassandraBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Having just returned from a 4 night trip booked for my wife's 40th, we were hoping for some special treatment (having mentioned the special occasion on the booking form). We arrived, were greeted by friendly, front of house staff, and we were given our room ( our porter told us, it was a really nice room, on the way there ). Well the view was of the wall around the Borghese gardens, the room was clean, but its overall appearance was of fake antique finish, average size, and with little or no extras to distinguish it from a great 3* or an average 4*. Front of house staff, said they had left a bottle of complimentary champagne, in our room, This never materialised over the 4 days ( we bought our own ). While these all might seem like petty jibes, I have to say that I paid a fortune for this "memorable trip" and I said nothing to my wife, but on the last night, she made the same observations to me. The Hotel is not far away from the Via Veneto, and my advice if you are spending a lot of money, check out the Majestic, the Westin Excelsior, or one of the other 5* on the Via Veneto. And finally, the disappointment of the hotel didn't take away from our fantastic trip to Rome,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevielatphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The last time we were told by an hotel staff while being shown to our room that we were fortunate to have been given a "very nice room", we found ourselves in a cramped and austere cell in the Orient-Express Monasterio Hotel in Cusco. So, when we heard the same thing while being shown to our room in the Hotel Splendide Royal, I couldn't help feeling a pang of apprehension.

My suspicions were unfounded. Our fourth floor corner room is spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed flanked by twin night tables, two chairs, a sidetable, a wingchair, a writing table, a minibar fridge on which perched the (smaller than expected) flat panel TV with cable access and various wall hangings. A full-sized window opens into a courtyard. The large ensuite bathroom has a bathtub, bidet, toilet and a broad vanity counter with twin washbasins; there are clotheshooks, a heated towel rack, amenities by Etro and a wall-mounted hairdryer.

The walk-in closet is oddly triangular-shaped but boasts natural light from a half-sized window. A low chest of drawers upon which the electronic safe sits occupies a good part of the floorspace, forcing us into dexterous poses when hanging clothes.

Our booking thorugh Venere.com included tax but not free WiFi and breakfast.

The Front Desk staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Ian C was especially welcoming during our stay. The bellmen are also efficient and thoughtful.

Overall, we were very pleased with our two-night stay at the hotel and rate it highly versus previous stays at the St Regis Grand Hotel and Hotel d'Inghilterra. The latter is perfect for shopping excursions to Via Condotti, etc, but we like the Splendide Royal's proximity (about 7 minutes' walk) to delightful Villa Borghese and did not mind the easy 10-15 minutes stroll to Piazza di Spagna and Via Condotti.

Unexpected negatives are few: bedroom slippers are not provided and on two occasions (around 2230hrs and in the morning) loud pounding interrupted the peace. It sounded like someone trying to demolish a wall in the building; each occasion probably lasted 10 minutes. These aside, it was splendid indeed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The "Wow" factor is high here; This beautiful and immaculately clean hotel, which is situated in the absolute best location in Rome, near the Spanish Steps, was perfect in every way. The rooms are luxurious, with the most comfortable beds; and quiet, considering Rome is a busy city. We loved the staff, which were so friendly and helpful. The view at the top of hotel, where the restaurants and bar are, are spectacular; you can see the Vatican! We can't wait to stay at the Hotel Splendide Royal again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenuvdaroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginian Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The smiles, attentiveness, and friendliness of the staff from the front door, the front desk(Ciao Malik), houskeeping, the breakfast room "Limonaia"(Ciao Alessandra) and behind the scenes(Ciao Pasquale), and management (Ciao Silvio) is what made our stay magnifico! The views from the sixth floor balconies, Limonaia and the Mirabella are spectacular! The jacuzzi in room 606 is worth it after a day on your feet sightseeing, although the view as pictured on the web sight is not exactly what you really see. Close enough to the Spanish steps and Galleria Bourghese for walkers and there are a number of good restuarants in and around the Via Veneto just a few blocks from the hotel. Taxi fares to and from the hotel to the major attractions were reasonable and varied depending on time of day and night (5-10 euro). Thank you for making our first trip to Rome an unforgettable experience. AM/USA

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andystassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#126 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#113 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing