We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #53 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We went to Rome to visit our son who was there for a semester abroad. This was a very special family vacation so I wanted our hotel to be extraordinary. Hotel Splendide Royal exceeded my expectations in every way. The service was impeccable. Everyone at the hotel was professional, friendly, helpful and they made you feel that you were at home in a foreign country. We had a junior suite that was outstanding. I am an interior designer and am not easily pleased with hotel decor. This suite was tasteful, beautiful, spacious with luxurious linens, a fabulous terrace and lovely views of the Borghese Gardens. The lobby and public rooms were gorgeous as well. Even the elevators were stunning! The location was superb. Lovely neighborhood shops. Close to Via Veneto and Spanish Steps. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked absolutely gorgeous. I loved every single thing about this hotel but my favorite thing about Hotel Splendide was the splendide people who work at the front desk. I was very sad to say goodbye to them. I hope I get another opportunity to return to Rome and the Hotel Splendide. Thanks to them, our family had the vacation of a lifetime. Perfecto!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdunphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

Defintaly got my money's worth on a 5-day stay in Splendide Royal. I was very surprised of how quiet the room was, slept extremely well. The hotel was 5-star quality.

The staff made an excellent impression by being helpful, polite but relaxed (in the good sense of the work). The restaurant is worth visiting, if only for a bottle of spumante!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lux-Hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

small room with a great bathroom, excellent breakfast, good staff the location is not to good is better in via veneto.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totti5, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and for your appreciations in some aspects of your stay with us. Concerning the room size you have been probably assigned in a superior room which is our basic category and have size that start from 25 sqm (approx. 270 square feet), however our deluxe double room start from 32 sqm (345 square feet) which are generous sizes for Rome.
Regarding the location describing Via Veneto as a better location let us disagree, for the customer not familiar with Rome the Splendide is located within the same area (we are at less than 5 minutes walking distance from Via Veneto) with the plus to be in front of the Villa Borghese Gardens which give us the view of the green of the park (not available from most of the buildings of Via Veneto) especially from the deluxe double rooms and from the terrace of our junior suites, with also less traffic and confusion created by the larger street as Via Veneto is. Thank you for your attention and best regards.
The Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

One expects certain levels of service at a 5 star hotel but the Hotel Splendide Royal exceeded all our expectations and hopes. The hotel itself was beautiful, and the Christmas decorations were wonderful. But the service from the hotel staff and particularly the Concierge was personal, professional and caring. For example, when my wife needed dental care, the concierge personally escorted my wife and I to a wonderful dentist. All the hotel staff were professional and courteousness and helpful. Restaurant recommendations and reservations were also made and confirmed with a printed map and directions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to experience service at its best and little found in most hotels today.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMuirhead-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

First timers to Rome should consider this hotel. Walking distance to the spanish steps and other attractions. Great view and atmosphere from their dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradspanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We found the service at this hotel to be above and beyond! Excellent restaurant!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2traveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We found the Splendide Royale through the recommendation of a colleague. We were seeking a venue that was accessible, luxurious yet suitable for a business meeting of about 15 people. All of our expectations were surpassed. The food was amazing and teh service can not be beat. Sure, stuff came up but they attended to it immediately. Also, its location right near the Spanish Steps and is readily accessible to the many key sites to see in Rome. While the entire staff was excellent, there is a young woman named Fabiola that really held it all togther to make it an excellent experience.

We would definitely use this facility again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gojushiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#99 of 1,273 in Rome
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#45 of 1,273 in Rome
680 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#122 of 1,273 in Rome
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £190 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing