We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and accommodating place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #56 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wolgast
1 review
“Wonderful and accommodating place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We've stayed in Splendide Royal for 7 nights. It's a very sophisticated and luxury place.
We found the environment exquisite, extremely comfortable, and the staff were perfection. Whatever we needed - it was never a problem and was efficiently attended to. So do not hesitate to ask the staff to recommend restaurants and make reservations on your behalf.
lWe found the location to be perfect - a short walk to a bus stop which is fun and gets you around easily - to every area you would wish. We also very much enjoyed the superb food and drink in the restaurant. A Hotel of true charm!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neversummer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    261
    79
    40
    32
See reviews for
190
730
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

very elegant hotel , perfect staff, excellent breakfast , excellent restaurant for dinner with the amazing panoramic view of the city , peaceful and quite. Located in a 5-10 minute walk from the Spanish Steps.
The staff was the favorite part of our stay. So willing to communicate, warm and accommodating. Loved the little details such as mailing our postcards as well as the spa items in the luxurious bath. Our garden view was gorgeous.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krivenkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Could not have picked a better hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, always available for information and assistance.
Lovely suprise putting champagne, birthday cake and flowers in our room for wifes birthday.
Had magnificient dinner in Mirabelle restaurant and again staff sang happy birthday.Stayed four nights.
A most wonderful and SPLENDID(E) occasion, one to be treasured.
Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed in this hotel in January, what should i say we enjoyed this hotel very much. We arrived early in the morning and was expected to wait for our room for minimum 2 hours, however the reception staff gave us a room just in 20 minutes from the arrival and has offered to us also a very good, really italian espresso. The room that we had was very nice and as a size was a bit bigger respect of the room in which we stayed last year in another hotel in Rome. The housekeeping was excellent and cleaned our room in any time we was need it. I should not tell anything about the restaurant as no word could explain the breathtaking view from it's terrace. So in few wards, thank you very much Splendide for this beautiful holidays in rome for me and my husband .

P.S. Anastasia and Jonathan thank you again a lot for all your assistance during our stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventureMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Given the array of 4 & 5 star hotels in Rome you could spend days reading reviews and looking at websites . However we eventually plumped for the Splendide Royal. This seemed perfect for us as my wife had stayed in the nearby Sofitel a couple of years ago and liked the location in the Via Veneto area. A quieter ,elevated part of town Only 10 minutes walk to The Spanish Steps and a little longer to the Piazza Del Popolo, close to the pretty Villa Borghese Gardens. We had booked four weekday nights a superior room with breakfast included for a competitive price. The hotel is not large, having a couple of communal rooms near to the lobby and a small IT area close to reception.Our 2nd floor room itself was good and as you'd expect for this type of hotel . One or two signs of wear in the bathroom , hall light switches and a lack of extra sockets for phone charging etc. would be my only gripes here. We knew we would not have a view given the room choice we made and this was so. Otherwise we were happy and I have to say the housekeeping was excellent. Breakfasts were buffet style on the on the 6th floor with a bewildering chioce .As the hotel was quiet we had a magnificent window seat every morning with stunning views toward St. Peters and Villa Medici. I did ask if there was a bar and took myself upto the 7th floor one afternoon only to find a small seated area adjacent to the rather stunning restaurant , not quite what I expected but nevertheless very pleasant. Overall a very good hotel & no hotel is perfect ,so if you wanted to know if you should book this or not, I would say yes, but if you can push your budget to one ...Get a room with a view.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theskellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We went to Rome to visit our son who was there for a semester abroad. This was a very special family vacation so I wanted our hotel to be extraordinary. Hotel Splendide Royal exceeded my expectations in every way. The service was impeccable. Everyone at the hotel was professional, friendly, helpful and they made you feel that you were at home in a foreign country. We had a junior suite that was outstanding. I am an interior designer and am not easily pleased with hotel decor. This suite was tasteful, beautiful, spacious with luxurious linens, a fabulous terrace and lovely views of the Borghese Gardens. The lobby and public rooms were gorgeous as well. Even the elevators were stunning! The location was superb. Lovely neighborhood shops. Close to Via Veneto and Spanish Steps. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked absolutely gorgeous. I loved every single thing about this hotel but my favorite thing about Hotel Splendide was the splendide people who work at the front desk. I was very sad to say goodbye to them. I hope I get another opportunity to return to Rome and the Hotel Splendide. Thanks to them, our family had the vacation of a lifetime. Perfecto!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdunphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Defintaly got my money's worth on a 5-day stay in Splendide Royal. I was very surprised of how quiet the room was, slept extremely well. The hotel was 5-star quality.

The staff made an excellent impression by being helpful, polite but relaxed (in the good sense of the work). The restaurant is worth visiting, if only for a bottle of spumante!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lux-Hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#174 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#112 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#68 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing