We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airconditioning? Not so much”
Review of Hotel Hiberia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hiberia
Ranked #191 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went here in the spring and even though there was only about 19 degrees celcius outside the room (number 216) felt like a hot summerday. Some how we managed to get the worst room possible! Absolutely no view and very bad possibilities to even get it remotely cooler.
The day-portier is very nice and got us a fan which helped a bit (the night portier - who checked us in - not so much)
OK breakfast but still not very friendly staff here either.
Good walking distance to the difference sights yet to poor a hotel to give it a better review in total.

2  Thank lhktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

A good base to explore Rome. Really close to the sights, plenty ofnice restaurants in the area. Do not expect much of the rooms or breakfast.

If you need a hotel that is close to all the action at very good prices, this is a safe choice. if you are in Rome to see the city, stay here. For more luxury or romance, stay somewhere else. We just needed a decent and cheap hotel and this one did the trick.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mannez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

...of staying in the heart of Rome, just a stone's throw away from all the great cultural sights in the urbs aeterna. It's sufficiently well equipped and the prices are more than reasonable, considering the location and the demand!
Breakfast is pretty basic, but does get you sated. All in all, the perfect hotel for a shopping/sightseeing/culinary weekend trip to Rome.
However, those who have a rather longish flight to Rome might consider something more indulging to compensate for the hassle and to really keep you comfy during a longer stay than just 3 days.

Room Tip: All rooms a re pretty quite, bearing in mind that this is a rather loud city. The hotel itself is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuzum1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I travelled in a group of four and we arranged for the hotel to send a car to pick us up from Campiano Airport. The cost was 65 euro which was a little steep but what can you do, it saves the hassle of dealing with a taxi man taking you the scenic route!! or lugging your bags from Termini station after getting the bus.

I only have good things to say about the hotel which is always a plus I suppose. For starters I wasn't expecting much in the way of extra space in my room(after all it is only a 3 star hotel in a major European city) and my expectations were correct. However even though the room was small, it was very clean, the bed was nice and comfy and the en-suite facilities were of a good standard. Also it should be mentioned that the mini bar prices were quite reasonable. My room was on the fourth floor overlooking a courtyard and there was no external noise at anytime. The breakfast had bacon, eggs, sausages and all the usual healthier stuff. It was more than adequate to fill yourself for a busy day of exploring this beautiful city.

In terms of location this hotel was in a decent area, there seems to be some parliament buildings nearby so there was a police presence and the area at no times felt unsafe. All of the main sites are no more than a handy stroll away, maybe 15 minutes in either direction and you'll see the majority of the popular sites. The Vatican is a little further but you can just get the metro which is probably about 10 minutes walk away.

In conclusion this hotel is not the Ritz but for the price it does " average" very well and it would be a good base for anybody travelling to Rome on a 70-90 euro a night accommodation budget. Finally there is a bar 2 minutes away which was nice to drop in for a drink to take a load off and there is also a lovely restaurant that I would recommend directly behind the building Ristorante Santa Cristina al Quirinale.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a fab hotel. Really excellent value and within 15 mins of the Trevi Fountain and ancient Rome!

We mainly picked it because, being Irish, we like warm breakfasts and aren't mad on continental ones. The breakfast has great variety and the eggs taste DELICIOUS (even if they look weird) also loved the peach yogart, sausages are only hot dogs though. I got up in the mornings and plated up breakfast and just brought it to my room to eat which seemed to be fine with the staff.

Comfy beds, English speaking news channel and staff, clean nice rooms and a residents bar which is great! The day staff at reception are particularily wonderful. Also absolutely delicious restaurant at the back down the alley - the steak is sublime.

Only minor complaints is that the street noise can be quite loud (we were on the ground floor) so could be problem for light sleepers and also no free Wifi (actually quite expensive - €10 for 1st device, €5 for 2nd, €3 for 3rd or €18 for up to 4 devices ) and that did really bother me.

Overall though very pleased and would recommend.

Room Tip: If you like having your breakfast in bed room 101 is the most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Hotel's location is amazing: couple of minutes away from the Trevi Fountain, collosseo, pantheon, and the Bus stops. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was okay. The wifi isnt free though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayawakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

- Clean and hygienic rooms with brilliant maid service
- Excellent continental breakfast every morning
- Authentic lift in the lobby - really added to the atmosphere of Italian living!
- Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff throughout our stay
- Very close to the Trevi Fountain and other sites - easily within walking distance

This was our first trip to Rome and we will definitely be going back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#152 of 1,271 in Rome
796 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#240 of 1,271 in Rome
805 reviews
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#300 of 1,271 in Rome
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#210 of 1,271 in Rome
1,071 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#220 of 1,271 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#162 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hiberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hiberia

Address: Via XXIV Maggio, 8, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £59 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hiberia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Rome the splendid rooms of the Hotel Hiberia, a 3 star with restaurant and modern services, capable of accommodating both leisure clientele as well as business clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hiberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiberia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing