We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #45 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hotel Nazionale has a great location for an extended week end in Rome - the Pantheon is just around the corner and sights such as the Spanish Steps, Forum Romanum, the Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum is within easy walking distance. The hotel has a charming feel of old fashioned elegance that gives it a pleasant, tranquil atmosphere.

The room I stayed in was large (although I have understood that the rooms vary greatly in size)and decorated much like the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was a bit dated, but impeccably clean.

Breakfast at the hotel is great. The food is fresh and tasty, and the breakfast buffet has a good variety of foods. If you insist on having your arteries clogged with bacon and fried eggs, there is an extra charge. There is staff present in the breakfast room, and they will make you an espresso if you ask for it, but like most Italians in my experience they do not go out of their way to provide good service.

All in all Hotel Nazionale is a nice hotel with a great location, but it is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    462
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
342
788
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you want somewhere quiet but in the centre of things, then this a great place to stay.
Located next to the Parliament building yet on a large pedestrian precinct, with the nearest traffic at least a hundred yards away, it is a peaceful retreat for a quiet nights sleep in the centre of a very busy town.
That is just the start.
We are in our mid seventies and we wanted to be within walking distance of good restaurants, shopping as well as some of the prominent sites to see; it was perfect for us. The Trevi fountain,
Pantheon, Piazza Colonna, Spanish steps, Castel Sant Angelo and Piazza Navona were all close and we covered most of the rest of the main tourist sites by going on two tours, one the Ancient Rome Tour and the other being the Vatican tour. Reasonabl priced restautants were within close range.
The Nazionale was so comfortable and the staff so friendly; we were in a deluxe room which had everything you could ask for as well as a super view out of the window across the Piazza di Montecitorio to the Piazza Colona. Breakfast was comprehensive with a really fresh buffet of boiled eggs, fresh fruit, lovely breads and an excellent selection of meats, cheese and drinks.
The staff through out the hotel went out of their way to be helpful, not only responding to requests but also being pro-active in trying to anticipate where they could help. Everything being done in a friendly yet non-intrusive way and without pomposity.
Altogether an excellent stay of four nights in this wonderful City.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent three nights at the Nazionale in an Executive Room and enjoyed it very much. The staff were very welcoming and professional and always ready to answer questions and help with directions. The room was spacious and well decorated with a very comfortable bed and lovely marble bathroom. The room was equipped with a desk, separate sitting area, frig, and great blackout drapes. The pedestrian piazza location made it very quiet at night insuring a good night's rest. The cozy little bar on the ground level is very charming as well and the breakfast was very enjoyable with lovely service. The staff can also call a taxi in 3-4 min. time and arrange car service to and from the airport if needed. On previous trips to Rome, we have made the Regina Baglioni (another wonderful hotel) our home, but have to say that we enjoyed our stay at the Nazionale just as much at a more reasonable cost. And just like everyone says, the location is unquestionably one of the best in Rome. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. If you can, splurge to one of the Executive Rooms---you won't be sorry. Can't wait to return. Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skygoddess46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is so awesome, albeit a little pricey! But as so often in life, you get what you pay for & later realize THE BEST is worth a few extra $$. We could literally step out into the Italian Parliamentary Square, walk less than 5 minutes to Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Trevi Foutnain, Spanish Steps and Barberini Metro station. Via del Corso is right there for easy navigation anywhere, jump on buses, etc. The rooms were very nice, comfortable, well equipped, with very comfy bed & I'm a picky sleeper, quiet too! I loved the historical ambiance of the whole thing!!

Room Tip: Some rooms had in room coffee which is normally a BIG deal for us.. Our room here did not but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our group of 5 Australian couples stayed at the hotel prior to our Greek Island cruise - in our case 7 days. Its location next to the Italian Parliament was excellent and within walking distance of all the main attractions and a plethora of good quality restaurants. It was like living in an old palace (which it was at one stage) with a quality décor to match. We had a large room with high ceilngs which gave it a great spatial feeling along with a huge bed that you can get lost in! The breakfast was good with cereals, fruit and pastries and you can cook your own boiled eggs - other cooked elements can be ordered at a cost. The staff were very friendly and professional with good command of English. Highly recommended ......

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nazionale many years ago and have recommended it to friends over the years. We returned in April, 2013, and I still highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are large compared to a lot of European hotels and we had a very nice bathroom. We had a kingsize bed which was most comfortable and the room was decorated very nice as well. In addition to the bed, there was a sofa for relaxing as well as a desk and chair. The location is very quiet since the hotel is located on a plaza away from a main road. It is very close to the Pantheon and one of the best gelato shops in Rome. The staff is very helpful. They arranged for our pickup from the airport and transportation to the cruise terminal with a fantastic car service. We did not have an adapter for our cell phone charger and they assisted with that as well. This hotel has everything you would want in a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just had the most amazing time in Italy starting at The Nazional Hotel in Rome. The location was ideal, close to the Trevvi Fountain, a stones throw from The Pantheon (breath taking) and pretty central to loads of amazing sights. We were able to walk to most places from there but would definitely advise flat shoes or definitely trainers as there are small uneven cobble stones everywhere.
The Hotel was very welcoming and greeted us in Italian and English. They were very helpful in advising us what we 'must see' while in Rome and provided us with the most useful map we found.
We stayed on the top floor with the most amazing view from our window. It was breath taking! Overlooking a typical Roman city, with orangey red roof tiles, a mish mash of homes and restaurants, beautiful tiled and floral terraces and a fantastic view of the Basilica in the Vatican City!. This was within walking distance too and we just followed the river along beautiful tree lined avenues.
The room had a super king sized bed, and plenty of space in the room. The bathroom was well equipped and toiletries were provided. There was a Jacuzzi bath with water jets - perfect after a long day sight seeing. The breakfast room was lovely and the food was gorgeous. Huge selection and choice of food. There was definitely something for everyone's taste.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially as its so handy.
Do some of the 'walking' trips organised too because they take you to some of the most secret of places and you end up at an amazing bar or restaurant.

Room Tip: we had the top floor (but it was our wedding anniversary) so that might be a special room i'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahxxsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#55 of 1,258 in Rome
971 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,258 in Rome
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#39 of 1,258 in Rome
435 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,258 in Rome
182 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#26 of 1,258 in Rome
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing