We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Rome”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #44 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Loved this hotel. The location was perfect -- within walking distance of all the must-see attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful; the included breakfast was much more than expected; the lobby (with free internet) and small bar area were pretty and fit in well with this historical building. Our room was spacious, even by U.S. standards, with an entryway, sitting area with two tables and a sofa and several chairs, a large bathroom, plenty of storage space, and a handy mini fridge. And we had three windows overlooking Piazza Montecitorio, from which we could often hear church bells ringing. What a wonderful place to spend several days in Rome!

Room Tip: From what I heard from other guests, some rooms on the street were not as quiet as our room on the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandercatMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very central location, it is literally next to the Pantheon, and doesn't really have the touristy feel of the Trevi Fountain area. Generally the staff were very helpful, however we did have an issue checking in initially where we needed to wait an hour or so. The aircon in our room was ok but could have been better but other than that it's a great hotel. The breakfast was extensive and well presented. Something to be aware of is that there is construction going currently on the 2nd floor and our room was close to this, and although it didn't affect us as they started at 9:30 in the morning it might bother people who want a lie in (the staff offered to move us if we wanted but declined)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Nazionale and had a wonderful visit.

I would like to rave about one of the hotel's stellar employees, Patrick Almeida. He treated me and everyone entering the hotel as if he were welcoming them into his own home. While traveling away from the comfort of my own home, I was so fortunate to be greeted by such a warm and helpful person at the reception desk.

Arriving in Rome was a bit daunting to me, as I had never visited Italy before and did not know exactly how to spend my limited time in the city. Patrick put my mind at ease by arranging my tour bus, suggesting restaurants, and recommending places to buy water and exchange money. His concern for me and my welfare, combined with pointing me in the right directions, made all the difference in my trip.

Employees like Patrick are extremely rare. As an owner of my own business, I greatly appreciate an employee who is completely committed to the service he provides and who demonstrates personal investment in the outcome. He was completely in-tune with my needs as a customer, and I trusted his advice implicitly.

Upon returning to the States, I have raved to my family and friends about the Hotel Nazionale and, especially, its lifesaver employee Patrick. I can't think of a better form of publicity than personal recommendations (and online reviews!) for any hotel to project its image to the world. Patrick was an excellent asset, ambassador, and advertisement for the hotel, especially in an age when customer service is very difficult to find. A contribution like his is a valuable and rare commodity in any business.

I know that if I return to Rome it will be to the Nazionale and, hopefully, to his wonderful and warm smile.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location for seeing Rome. It is very central and safe and our room had a nice view of the piazza. The breakfast room was large with many choices though hot meat and eggs were 8 to 12 euros more. The staff were all friendly and pleasant. Other than that you could not consider this a four star hotel. Our room was very run-down and shabby. There were huge water stains on the ceilings and a vast amount of damage to all of the walls. It is in desperate need of refurbishment. Plus there are none of the niceties one expects with a four star: only one soap to transport yourself from sink to bath, no English channels other than news, not a single drawer in the entire room. Plus, between the lack of blackout drapes (bring an eye mask!!!), the constant stomping from the room above, and the banging noises all day long, it was a very unrestful and uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

this hotel was recommended to us by a friend and it was just lovely. The hotel is within walking distance of most of the sights. the room was beautiful and overlooked the piazza. The whole place was immaculately clean and oozed character. The staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly and could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast choice was vast and of excellent quality. We will definitely go back and will recommend to friends as THE place to stay in Roma

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle_church156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very nice hotel on an historic place, with an helpful and friendly staff. Very good and ample breakfast. The room was very nice, right size when you stay for a little week , very clean and with a great view. Perfect location i in the heart of Rome, walking distance to the many of Rome's attractions. Perfect place to stay :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I booked this hotel on Expedia. When I checked out, the hotel insisted that I hadn't prepaid and required me to pay again. My credit card company straightened this out subsequently but it was annoying to be doubly charged.

Breakfast was nice and ample.

The room while reasonably nice was very noisy - from the foot traffic near the restaurants/bars etc nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#47 of 1,270 in Rome
1,036 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#32 of 1,270 in Rome
761 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,270 in Rome
838 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £99 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing