We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Break”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #43 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Break”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

we have just spent 4 nights at this hotel, a delightful experience!
Ideally located in the centre of Rome with all the major tourist attractions within a short walk, good restaurants close by> The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The room was very clean and had a great view over the Piazza Montecitorio, only disappointment was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The continental breakfast was plentiful and certainly sets you up for the day walking around Rome. Everyone from the bellboy to the managers made you feel welcome with a friendly good morning or hello and the barman Valerio second to none with his informative introduction to Grappa!! We had a great time and would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msb3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    447
    61
    17
    12
See reviews for
326
773
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights pre-cruise. The location is in the middle of everything, yet quiet. We had a nice view of the Piazza Montecitorio and Parliament. Very roomy accommodations, including the bathroom. We are a family of 3 (5 year old). Included continental breakfast was fine (pastries, bread, fruits, cereals, cold cuts, juicer, and an egg boiler)...and the best part of it is the coffee machine (I'm very, very picky about my morning coffee)! We arrived several hours before check-in and they had a room ready for us in 45 minutes. We left several hours after check-out, and keeping our luggage in storage was not a problem either. The hotel staff was very helpful. Complimentary Internet was limited to certain amount of megabytes per day. Between my husband and I we were able to check our emails and do a few google searches. Honestly, we weren't in the room so much to use more than that. Gioletti gelateria right around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rolaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just came back from a too short break in Rome, where we stayed in Nazionale hotel. My husband organised it as a surprise, and he couldn't have done a better job if he tried. Rome, of course, is everything they say it is, and then some more, a magical and an unforgettable place. Quite often such popular tourist destinations take advantage by offering mediocre accommodation at inflated prices. This certainly wasn't the case with Nazionale hotel. It is a fabulous and hospitable place, located just off Via del Corso, very close to some of the landmarks, shops, public transport and tour bus stops. The staff are so friendly, helpful and efficient. Any request or query was promptly dealt with with the most sincere and genuine "you are welcome". From the reception staff, to restaurant service, to cleaning staff, everybody was smiley, friendly and made us feel very welcome.
Our room was spacious, bright, spotless, with high ceilings, comfortable and beautiful furniture, and big windows, overlooking the Parliament. All the amenities were there, including a flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a safe.
Breakfast was very fancy and offered a variety of tasty items, including fresh fruit, cereal, ham, cheese, different types of bread, and of course gorgeous pastries and cakes. The fruit juicer with a bowl of carrots near by, was a thoughtful and unusual gesture, and we appreciated healthy, freshly made juice. The egg cooker allowed us to have our eggs the way we liked them, and of course, the proper coffee machines offered the nicest aromatic coffees. It made it easy to see why Italy is famous for its coffee. We didn't miss hot dishes at all, though they could be ordered at an extra cost.
We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but if breakfast is anything to go by, dinner is probably a very nice affair too.
All in all, i have no doubt I will return to Rome, hopefully soon, and in that case I won't need to check out any other accommodation. Nazionale hotel will definitely be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Parliament. Superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natasha0358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For the tird time, this hotel is excellent. Chambers always in order, chamber maidens make aal the things shing. The personal can't be bether. The breakfast is more than you normally can eat.
You are near to all monuments of historic centre. just a9,5/10

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobDRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed at the "Buganvilles" suite of Hotel Nazionale Rome with my wife and daughter in mid August 2013.
This suite room was awesome - everything were perfect, it's far beyond I could have hoped for. Hotel services were also very comfortable and all staff were gentle and friendly.
I give "top" rating to this suite as well as this hotel.

Buganviilles Suite

- perfect setting with panorama view of rome city from its roof-top terrace. Terrace is clean and charming, it has enough space to relax or to enjoy evening cocktail and meals.
- quiet surrounding environment : like a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Rome city.
- well appointed facilities : air-conditioners are individually controlled at each room (master bed room, second bed room and living room), very practical bath and shower room with enough space, very comfortable bedding even in the second bed room, very appropriate lighting etc. etc. - hotel is a historical building but everything are perfect.
- cleanliness : absolutely clean and comfortable.

Service

- The room is always kept clean before the noon.
- Enough towels are provided. Turndown service is performed at very appropriate timing.
- Mini-bar is fully stocked everyday.
- Room service, laundry service and all other arrangements are quick and reliable.

Needless to say, location, security, atmosphere etc. are also over perfect.
I definitely come back to this hotel in near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TYH20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a charming hotel in a beautiful historic building that is at least a couple of hundred years old. The furniture is a classic style that seems to match the historic era, which adds to the charm of the place. My room was huge, with high ceiling and windows that open to the square... very interesting furniture… It felt like a palace room. It was also very clean. I could see the parliament building (which is right next to the hotel in the same square) and a real ancient Egyptian obelisk right from the window. My first night at the hotel there was a demonstration in front of the parliament building. It was a little loud, but it dispersed shortly after dark. The bathroom was old style with the toilet tank hanging high on the wall…. The flushing mechanism is interesting (I can’t remember exactly how it worked, but it was different than what we are used to in modern bathrooms)… it worked though. The location couldn't have been better... walking distance to many attractions in the old city and to many good restaurants and shops. Breakfast was delicious with many options. I loved this place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socalgal910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a lovely hotel,location was excellent walking distance to all major lardmarks. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. We are a family of 5 with 3 daughters and requested rooms next to each other and that's what we got.Breakfast was excellent more than you could possibily eat !! Staff very kind and helpful exspecially Natasha in the breakfast room what a lovely lady " made the best coffee's"
You are in the haert of Rome with the parliament building outside your door safest place to be.
The famous gelato shop" Gioletti"is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms with a view worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosannaP744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#40 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#32 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing