We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, quality and service....perfection plus”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #45 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, quality and service....perfection plus”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a great stay stay at this hotel & will definitely return next time we visit Rome. Our room was fantastic, so large, comfortable and clean,we were thrilled by the quality of the accommodation Location was brilliant perfect as a base for seeing the sights in this wonderful city there is no better location. Only a two minute stroll to the Pantheon and its utter splendor, less than five minutes to Piazza Navona and only short strolls to all the other major historical sites. Breakfast buffet was excellent with constant replenishment and the options to order additional items if you wanted to. Staff were very friendly, highly attentive and at all time professional. They simply could not do enough for you. We'd return to this hotel in heartbeat and would have no problem recommending it to friends and family for their future trips to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimba1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    468
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
349
801
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A hotel set in Rome's Centro Storico and as a base for seeing the sights in this wonderful city there is no better location.
Only a two minute stroll to the Pantheon and its utter splendour, less than five minutes to Piazza Navona and only short strolls to all the other major historical sites.
We booked and stayed the hotels Bugenvillea Suite and we were thrilled by the quality of the accommodation, which boasts a terrace and a series of large windows overlooking the Rome skyline, the views were magical. Sitting on the private terrace enjoying the sunshe. a glass wine and the views across the city was entirely memorable.
The complimentary bottle of champagne and fruit basket on arrival was a real nice touch.
Breakfast buffet was excellent with constant replenishments and the options to order additional items if you wanted to.
Staff were very friendly, highly attentive and at all time professional. They simply could not do enough for you.
We'd return to this hotel in heartbeat and would have no problem recommending it to friends and family for their future trips to the eternal city.

Room Tip: The two bedroom, two bathroom suite is relatively expensive but if two couples were travelling toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in June as part of our 10th anniversary trip to Italy. The room we stayed in was spacious and overlooked parliament square. Very clean, sizable bathroom and great location as well. The staff was very helpful and as an added bonus there is a great place to get excellent gelato right around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are looking for 4* standard right on the Italian Parliament Square, the Nazionale is the one to go for.
As you walk in, you can see that the premises standard is very good, the greeting done in a professional manner and the room is well appointed to a classic standard.
Only downside I found in the room was that shower water pressure is rather poor - so not ideal if you like morning energetic showers.
But what you really appreciate most is service - staff always greet you with a smile and are genuinly ready to help. And that's not necessarily the standard in the city.
I also found breakfast of decent quality (though I saw that you have to pay extra for your fried eggs).
As an alternative you also may want to try a granita con brioche at the sicilian pasticceria Nonna Vincenza, just round the corner (tey open at 10am though), where they also serve ricotta cannoli and paste di mandorla.
The area is very safe (being all politicians walking by) and you could find the hotel area surrounded by tv crews if something dramatic is happening on the Italian political scene (that's pretty much every other week...)
Plus just down the road you have Giolitti, allegedly the best ice cream in Rome - although I would also suggest to go down the same road and reach Grom, up and coming ice cream makers using only natural and seasonal products (they are from Milan though, so not that popular in Rome...)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilfDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in October. We found this location to be within walking distance of many of the sights. I can't think of anything to criticise this hotel - the breakfast did not have any hot food but they had a huge array of cold foods to please the fussiest eater and you could boil your own eggs. However, you could order hot dishes at a cost. The area in which it is located is quaint with cobblestone streets and many trattoria to chose from. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Really enjoyed this gem for 6 days recently--it shares a piazza with the Italian Parliament, and next door to that, the office of the Prime Minister--hence superb security courtesy of Carabinieri, and entertainment, when Berlusconi threatened a no confidence vote.
The area is blessedly quiet, after along days roaming throughout the city.
The front desk staff were quite helpful in checking on trains, arranging for help and discussing helping with directions; all spoke English well.
I disagree with one reviewer on breakfast--it was sumptuous, a great start to the day with fruit, meats, cheeses, pastries, coffee, cereal, etc.
The Pantheon is close by, as is Trevi, the Piazza Navona, and many stunning churches, as well as the Corso, two blocks away. My only criticism is the 1 hour daily limit on free wife--but then why would one want to be in a hotel room when Berninis, Carvaggios, Michelangelos, fabulous food and 2,500 years of history await?

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the piazza may be noisy if protesters are in full force. Make sure the room is a no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of an Italian holiday in September. The location of this hotel is excellent for sightseeing Rome. It is situated on the Italian parliament building square, which is a relatively quiet spot for Rome, and also has the benefit of a constant police prescence. It is within very easy reach of The Parthenon, Trevi Fountain, and Piazza Navona, about 20 mins walk to The Colosseum and with shops and lots of restaurants just around the corner.
The staff are friendly and helpful and service was good. Our room was quite a good size and was kept spotlessly clean. Impressively all the linen was changed every day! The bed was kingsize but rather hard for our old bodies!
Breakfast was a plentiful buffet and although cake isn't my taste for breakfast, there were plenty of cereals, fruit, breads, croissants, ham, cheese and a boil your own egg section. One of the fruit juices here was the nicest I've ever had, being a blend of orange, lemon and carrot.
A nice thing was the food served with any drinks you might have from the bar. We got biscuits with morning coffee, cakes with afternoon coffee and with a beer and Martini one evening there were mini pizzas, slices of Parmiagano cheese, pistachios and crisps - we hardly needed dinner!
We were very satisfied with our stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#52 of 1,264 in Rome
981 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,264 in Rome
776 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,264 in Rome
725 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#44 of 1,264 in Rome
439 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,264 in Rome
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing