We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why?”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #44 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Why?”
Reviewed 13 February 2005

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Nazionale. Having consulting pictures and comments on this sites we were curios to see what room we would get. Although the hotel was far from full, we were given a room with minimal furniture: 2 beds, 2 chairs, a small round table, and that was all! After complaining we were allocated a very nice room with a view on the roofs of Rome, with St Peter's and the Castello St Angelo as a backdrop. The only slight drawback was a slight smell of sewage in the bathroom.
We fail to understand the allocation of the 1st. room. Was it because we were simple tourists instead of businessmen, and do not belong to the VIP category?

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    466
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
349
799
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
netsirk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2005

Absolutely can not beat the location of this hotel. Staying in the heart of things gave us much better memories of Rome than previous trips when we stayed in other areas. We booked and payed for a standard guest room and were checked in to what must have been a small suite. Our living room looked out over the quiet square and the bedroom (and huge bath) looked out over the top of the Pantheon. Throwing open those shutters each morning was priceless. The service at the front desk was adequate and the restaurant was above average. And the best gelato shop is literally right around the corner!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank netsirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simi valley, ca
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2004

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel. We will be staying there again in 3 months.
It is on a traffic free piazza, just around the corner from the pantheon.
The hotel is mainly geared to business people, the staff very professional and helpful and the public rooms immaculate and roomy with comfortable chairs and a bar open most all the time.
The rooms range in size from standard european double to very large, the bathrooms have been recently renovated and supplied with fluffy towels and fresh bathrobes.
the breakfast is one of the best we have had at any hotel in Italy. Nothing hot included but can be made to order. Good selection of breads, rolls, meats, cheeses, juices, fresh fruits etc etc.
Although we were simply tourists we found the staff quite friendly and relaxed with us, discussing everything from soccer to the resident one-eyed cat that will be in the piazza around the entrance when you arrive.
Got a great deal with go-today on this hotel with an air included package.
They also offer stay 2 nights, get 1 free in off season.

Helpful?
10 Thank iluvitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2004

This Hotel is in the perfect location. You can easily walk to all the attractions and the square is peaceful. No traffic noise and uncrowded.
I have no complaints at all. Staff were polite and friendly and the room was clean and well kept.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
7 Thank Barbie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2004

I stayed here for 1 night in June 2004. The wonderful location of this hotel - on a quiet square in the epicentre of Romes many attractions - is not enough to compensate for the dirt and tattiness of the bedroom I stayed in. Whilst, as usual, such hotels have lovely entrance hall, bar and lounge, I don't expect they have spent more than a Euro on the accomodation since 1970. The efficient, but formal, staff were adequate. The breakfast less than adequate. All in all, at the price of this 4 star hotel, a total let down. I'd never stay here again, not even if they adjusted the price to a more appropriate one-star rating. I moved to the Colonna Palace, just across the square, and although I was not entirely satisfied, it was far preferable and less expensive.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sarah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 October 2004

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in first week September, hotel room and bathroom was large and very clean. We had a room overlooking the quite square yet only a very short walk to most of the sights. and Via Corso. Highly recommended

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARROYO GRANDE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2004

Wonderful room and bath. Large,very clean. GREAT location, (once you get there) next to the Italian Government Buildings. Walk about at night to other plazas,no worry. Lots of sidewalk cafe diners.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank injected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#51 of 1,261 in Rome
980 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,261 in Rome
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#24 of 1,261 in Rome
718 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#46 of 1,261 in Rome
438 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale a Montecitorio Rome
Hotel Nazionale a Montecitorio
Rome Hotel Nazionale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing