We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome”
Review of Barberini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barberini Hotel
Ranked #306 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cpenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rome”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Lovely Hotel in an excellent neighborhood. Wonderful Breakfast Restaurant on the top floor, overlooking the city. FIne restaurants in the surrounding area, and the Palazzo Barberini across the street, is a Must-See museum.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADJCityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Assistant at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you spent a lovely time in our hotel.

Looking to have you as one of our guests for your next trip to Rome
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    263
    81
    32
    21
See reviews for
126
333
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is rated 4 star, which it is for location, amenities, and front office clerk, Luca. It has a beautiful rooftop restaurant, and is conveniently located near Plaza Barberini and the Metro.


The rooms are the smallest I have ever seen. Our first room was so small we could hardly move. We told Luca, the front office clerk, who worked very hard to give us a larger room the second day. He even showed us the second room before we made the change, which we really appreciated. Even though the rooms are small, the bathrooms are a good size, the air conditioning was good, and we had a refrigerator.

Room Tip: Ask for the square footage of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieK1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barberiniRome, Sales Assistant at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and we thank you to have chosen our hotel for your stay in Rome.

We are a small hotel located in a XIXth century building and we are forced to respect historical and architectural restrictions… no easy way out in case of property's restyling!

We are also glad to know that one of our staff, Luca, has represented for you the added value to your trip in Rome.

Looking to have you as one of our guest soon,
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

just spent four nights here, it was very clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and helpful .
best bit was rooftop breakfast with views over Rome. my wife and i are not great walkers but managed to walk to all the sights from the hotel without to much trouble or getting lost.
Our tip for Rome is research first because there are very few signs or directions anywhere and Rome isn't as big as it looks on the map.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barberiniRome, Sales Assistant at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for your review and we are glad to know that you spent a lovely time in Rome and in our property.

We are looking for your next stay in our hotel and we will help you to discover further highlights of Rome.

Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Perfect location, friendly staff, very nice breakfast room in top floor. Quite nice rooms (we got an upgrade to Junior Suite - no extra charge).
Eight years ago we stayed at Barberini Hotel. We were very satisfied then, we have been in Rome after that, but this time we wanted to get back "in old tracks". And the hotel was even better than last time.
We ordered a pick-up from the airport to the hotel in advance, and this did not cost more than a ordinary taxi. A very nice trip!
The hotel also arranged a car to Civitaveccia port (we were going on a cruise).

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stigje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barberiniRome, Sales Assistant at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are proud to know that you found our hotel better than the last time, so it means that we have been paid back for all our daily hard work.

That being stated, we are looking for your next trip to Rome and we will try our best to surprise you once again.

Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I'm not reinventing the wheel with this review, but I thought it helpful to share my experience.

UPSIDES:

Central location, access to Metro, lots of eateries nearby (some are hit or miss)

Excellent rooftop buffet breakfast, great views of the city (with St Paul’s in the distance), and exceptionally attentive staff at breakfast.

You can also request a rooftop dinner which is of solid quality, with chef on call, cooking with local and fresh ingredients. Reservations in advance a must however.

Roberto (general staff, including restaurant, service, etc) is a gem, helpful to the highest limits.

DOWNSIDES:

Overall poor front desk customer service, inattentive staff, lack of enthusiasm.

Although the rooms come with all standard amenities (TV, mini bar, safe, toiletries, hair dryer, iron), they are TINY, even by European standards, and overpriced. My room faced a back alley, was dimly lit, with the smell of greasy kitchen cooking (not the pleasant variety) from a neighboring restaurant. And my room was apparently the “superior” room. Since quality of staff and room comfort are the most important attributes in a hotel, these downsides (for me) outweigh all other positives.

While location is central, it is noisy and busy.

Overall, despite the positives, I think there are better options for staying in Rome. I would hesitate recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face a back alley - ask in advance. Also, be sure to try the rooftop restaurant for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GulliverToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barberiniRome, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your dinner on our roof-top.
Since 4 months, we have been started with this service of “chef on call” and we believe that this is the best solution to taste the daily high quality of local food.
We are also pleased to know that you feel comfortable with our breakfast room and service staff and especially with Roberto.
We keep in mind all your advices concerning the staff at the reception desk and we are looking to have you once again in our hotel.
Kind regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

had the pleasure to stay at this hotel for 5 days during May.

--The GOOD

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, The Coloseum and Palantine Hill/Form.

- The Rooms are average size for Europe(Small)...The elevators are tiny

- Breakfast buffet is good

--The bad

Our room was on the first floor and faced Via delle Quattro Fontane which is a very active street so sleeping with the windows open was a bit of a challenge. Since the room was on the first floor we had the shutters closed and the room was pretty dark.

In my experience the Concierge at the hotel was not very helpful at one point telling me that I can call the restaurant from my room and make a reservation. Any restaurant that we asked about the concierge didn't know.

--Results

I would stay at this hotel again, but not on the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barberiniRome, Sales Assistant at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for all the advices mentioned in your review and we regret to know that one of our staff was not able to face all you requests.

Our policy provides for a dedicated customer care service because our mission consists in giving a life experience, not only an accommodation, so the event occurred left astonished.


We are glad, in any case, that would stay with us in future and we can assure that you will find concierges at your disposal, ready to meet all your needs.

Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Everything about this place was perfect. We were able to liesurely walk to beautiful sights. Took 5 minutes to walk to trevi fountain in pne direction or Spamish steps on an other. forum was about a 20 minute walk. barberini Palace is directly across street and nice for a relaxing visit. Hotel was quiet and breakfast on roof very nice. The barberini restaurant served very good food at reasonable prices. The room was small but very nicely decorated and clean. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barberiniRome, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel and we really hope that Hotel Barberini will be your first choice for your next trip to Rome.

Kind regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#404 of 1,258 in Rome
455 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#135 of 1,258 in Rome
887 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#239 of 1,258 in Rome
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#150 of 1,258 in Rome
985 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#264 of 1,258 in Rome
609 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#77 of 1,258 in Rome
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberini Hotel

Property: Barberini Hotel
Address: Via Rasella 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#181 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#305 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barberini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing