We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Barberini Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barberini Hotel
Ranked #355 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Barberini and we had a very pleasant time. We have to agree with most of the previous positive comments on Tripadvisor. Yes the rooms are small (it's the centre of Rome). The rooms can be noisey if you leave the windows open (once again, it's the centre of Rome), but with the windows closed it was virtually silent apart from some inconsiderate people on the adjacent room who decided to sing in the early hours of the morning on one occassion. Each room is individually airconditioned (if you want it). The curtains proved a very dark room, which with the quiet room made for a good nights sleep.
We stayed on the fifth floor and overlooked the Palazzo Barberini and could view the Vatican from the balcony.
The breakfast buffet was great and the service was great (we have to mention Laura as being a very pleasant and helpful person).
If something is not right or you need help, just ask, the hotel staff provided us with a kettle to make tea and helped us find a shop to buy a new suitcase when one of ours broke the day before we left.
The location was perfect for us and we only used public transport on one occassion, we walked everywhere else. We would certainly use the Barberini again if we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Fifth floor has balconies and 507 is a funny shape but has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Your detailed review is very important for us and we thank you for having focused on all our different sights.

We appreciated your attitude toward the Hotel Staff: “If something is not right or you need help, just ask” represents our call for all the hotel guests in order to avoid any unfortunate event or a bad stay. We are always at guest’s disposal for any kind of help.

It will be our great pleasure to welcoming you one again in our Hotel.
Kind regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 5 wonderful nights at the Barberini at the beginning of May 2014.
Generous sized room with large bath. Excellent soundproofing. Convenient to the Metro and easy walks to many of the attractions. The staff was knowledgeable and gracious and their dining suggestions were excellent. The breakfasts in the roof terrace alone were worth staying here.
We plan to return to Rome next year and will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the Barberini Museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are looking for your next trip to Rome and we will try our best to give you another unforgettable experience in our property.

Kind regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a very disappointing experience with this hotel. We made our reservation in the Fall of 2013 for a visit the first week of May 2014. One day before leaving the US for Rome, we were notified that our reservation had been cancelled. We contacted the hotel to find that our room had been booked for the first two days of our seven day visit but the remaining five days were available. We requested that they honor our original reservation price but the Manager refused and said we would have to pay the current rate which was approximately $100 per night higher. Since we were traveling with others, we decided to take the five nights at the higher rate.

The room we were given was extremely small. There was no heating or air conditioning available and the wifi service was marginal at best. Most time we could not access their wifi service. Even though we were on the fifth floor, the room was very noisy, even with the windows closed.

One morning we did not have any hot water to shower and when asking at the front desk about this they were not at all responsive and acted as if they did not speak much English.

Overall a very disappointing and frustrating start to our Italian vacation. Both my wife and I have travelled extensively throughout Europe for Business and Pleasure and this was definitely one of the worst hotel experiences we have encountered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

As stated in our response on Bookin.com, we really regret to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay in our property , even if you were accommodated in one of our best double rooms with balcony and view over the city.

Our Hotel is housed in a 19th century building and it is subjected to historical and artistic restrictions, so we can't freely restyle or enlarge our property.

We had to deal with this restrictions and we work day by day to turn this "lack" into our flagship.
During the spring time, the air-conditioning is set on 0, being usually not so hot, but all our guests can control the system directly in the room.

We wish to remind you that, as provided for our policy and according to international hotellerie practices, 2-3 days prior to guests' arrival , we double-check the credit card details given as booking guarantee before proceeding with guests' rooms allocation.

In case of disclaimed transaction, we are able to send through Booking.com an alert to guest in order to receive new credit card details within 24 hours.

Because no new credit card were provided, we canceled the reservation as "not guaranteed"

We will be pleased, in any case, to have you as one of our guest in the next future.
Kind regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel-location was very good for tourist locations and transfers. Staff helpful and courteous. Leonardo at the reception desk provided excellent assistance to my friend and me printing boarding passes and making our foreign travel plans.
We will certainly return on our next visit to Rome.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank your review and overall for your opinion about Leonardo.

He has been hired since the last October and we have been keeping eye on him…. Now he can rest assured… he is making a good job.

Looking for your next trip to Rome,
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for a week for a spring vacation. The location of the hotel was great for walking to most of the major attractions. It is also near the Barberini Metro station which makes it convenient for riding the Metro. The neighborhood is nice and feels safe. We had room 506 which was a double room with a king bed (actually 2 twins pushed together). The room also had a small balcony which was large enough to stand on, but not for a chair. Our friends in room 507 had a similar room. The rooms were small, but neat and clean. The furnishings were nice, but the beds were very hard. The bathroom was good-sized with a shower/tub, and housekeeping did a good job of tidying up very day. The free wi-fi was nice, but occasionally spotty. When it disappeared, it was usually running again within a few minutes. The front desk staff are competent, but not particularly friendly. They took care of business, but did not go out of their way to be welcoming. A breakfast buffet was provided with our stay. It was on the 6th floor with a beautiful view. It was very well stocked and the staff there was more polite and friendly. It had scrambled eggs, bacon, and a variety of meats, pastries and fruits. Coffee, tea and several juices were provided. We were provided a coupon for a free spa service, but that means either a sauna or jacuzzi experience. There is no staff for massage or facials, etc.
Overall, I would say it was a 3.5-4 star experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopetoseeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Ast at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and we are pleased to know that your party enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.

Bearing in mind your suggestion, we will try our best to turn our customer care from a “ mere business” to a tailor-made service, because our core-business consists in giving a life experience to our guests, instead of an accommodation.

Being a small property, we have a cosy relaxing area and we provide for massage on request (we have a partnership with a Shiatsu centre, which supplies us masseurs).

Looking for your next stay in our hotel,
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I will keep this brief. This hotel is everything you could possibly want from your trip to Rome. The service is excellent, decor stunning, breakfast superb, room ideal (especially the 5th floor) and the spa in the basement just topped it all off perfectly.You will not find a better hotel for these prices and so conveniently located.

Rome has it's own issues that you will find in other reviews but this hotel is a must.

Thank you Barberini staff for making our 40th birthdays a break to remember.

Room Tip: 5th floor has the most stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Assistant at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really pleased to know that we have made your stay in Rome an unforgettable one. We hope that you want to enjoy our property for your next trip to Rome.

Thanking you for your review, we wish you
All the best
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Everything was perfect, from the devoted and very professional staff and up to the plentyful and tasty breakfast on the roof terasse with a view of Rome. Our room, on the top floor, was quiet and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was very large, as was the cupboard, but the room itself was really tiny, and had only one chair (in addition to a desk).This was the only drawback.
The location was superb, Most of Rome's major attractions were within a 10-15 minutes walk. Busses and the metro were also very close. The surrounding area was pleasant, with many small restaurants. Just opposite was Palazzo Barberini (huge art collection), with Piazza Barberini around the corner.
This is a wonderful hotel and all the good points make up for tiny room size.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, the higher the better. There are balconies higher up, but they're not usef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Barberini, Sales Dpt at Barberini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

The heading of your review holds up everything we are working for and we are very glad for having given to you a special stay in Rome.

Thanking you again for having chosen our property,
Kind Regards
Emanuele Ricci
Sales Dpt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#234 of 1,271 in Rome
810 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#102 of 1,271 in Rome
958 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#142 of 1,271 in Rome
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#426 of 1,271 in Rome
480 reviews
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#471 of 1,271 in Rome
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberini Hotel

Address: Via Rasella 3, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#193 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#305 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £75 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barberini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing