We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, service below par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Globus Hotel
Ranked #245 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here recently for several nights for a business trip. It is a much nicer hotel than appears from the photos, and the location is very good for proximity to the metro and the centre. The room was very clean, comfortable and had a lovely modern bathroom with a rain shower. The breakfast was good and the coffee from their coffee machine was excellent. It is quite noisy both inside and outside the hotel though. The beds are indeed hard (I like that) but the pillows were unbearably so. My main issue was staff friendliness and helpfulness, although I have to say the standard of the housekeeping staff was excellent. I had the rudest check-in experience of my life, which was a disappointment to say the least after ten hours of travelling. Other staff I dealt with did not dispel this impression, apart from the front desk manager who was lovely on my last day. Also I arrived tired and hungry on a Saturday afternoon and there was no lunch or dinner in the restaurant on a Saturday, the bar wasn't even open. There are very few restaurants in the immediate area (university area, dead at weekends) so this was also very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamsterfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with husband during October. By far the biggest room we stayed in during out trip in Italy. Rooms are very spacious and very clean. The breakfast is very good with many choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone. Only complaint- a little far from main area in Rome but I hear subway station is near hotel. We took taxis everywhere though, so it did add up.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The lowest grade of Best Western: Beds too hard; many rooms with adjoining doors so that one can hear everything going on in the next room; hotel floors all marble and / or fake parquet so generally very noisy; poorly designed toilets with inefficient flushes.; showers that fall off catches when turned on; musty smelling bathroom linen and cheaply decorated rooms. In addition, we could only get Italian channels on the TV and the free internet in the rooms – Wi-Fi and cable - is painfully slow and weak signalled so that it falls out constantly. This was one of the main reasons we chose the Globus over our usual hotels so we were extremely unhappy about this. Equally, the free breakfast was mean poor quality, from the juice to coffee (in Italy!!). Good things about the hotel? The location is good for the main medical school and university and the staff did their best in a friendly fashion. Strictly for visiting lecturers and businessmen on expense with their own mobile Wi-Fi who only want a clean bed…

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamhalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I really loved this hotel, nice rooms and a nice staff. The hotel is close to the University, we traveled in August so there was nobody on the Campus at this time so it was very quiet. On the downside all the restaurants and shops were closed when it was Campus off season.
But the hotel itself was very nice; I have nothing to complain about. It was a perfect holiday. 

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catz_080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is right by the university so lots of students out at night.
The room was attractive but the beds were hard as rocks. Got an extra comforter and slept on top of it. Not real well located to attractions but just 3 blocks to metro subway. Subways are packed but prepared to stand. Took a cab $10 to Vatican. Included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The first time you trip to the globus it feels far away, yet once you get to know the area it's not actually too far out (Around 10 min walk to metro, or a bus from central station).

The rooms were surprisingly huge, ours even had a balcony with sitting area, though we just got lucky with a corner room. Air-con was good. They don't stock the mini-bar, which is preferred for us because we never use it anyway, it gave us more space to store our own store bought drinks.

There is free wifi in the lobby, which extends somewhat to the upper floors but depending on your room placement the connection may be spotty.

Breakfast was reasonable, nothing overly fancy, but good enough.

Downsides are that there isnt masses to see or do around the hotel itself, though there is a pizza place nearby, and if you walk down the road (opposite direction from university) you'll find a gelato shop on the left which is always packed and is cheap and awesome.
My room on the 2nd floor was also a little bit noisy at night time, apparently the romans deem midnight an appropriate time for road sweepers to come out..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mengplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our first impression was that this hotel was going to be a dump just from the location and the first view impression. Well needless to say I was dead wrong.

The room was very spacious, the hospitality was first class, they took care of all your needs, food, directions you name it they can solve it.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone that is visiting Rome, you will never regret it.

Room Tip: Quadruple Rooms are very spacious can fit 4 comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#190 of 1,269 in Rome
711 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#246 of 1,269 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Globus Hotel

Address: Viale Ippocrate 119, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Business Hotel in Rome
#196 Family Hotel in Rome
#283 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £45 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Globus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel is in the immediate vicinity of the Policlinico Umberto Primo hospital and "La Sapienza" University of Rome.Well connected by underground and public transport to Rome Termini central railway station, and therefore with the city's airports and other areas, the hotel is close to the city centre. Many of the city's tourist attractions, including the Baths of Diocletian and Piazza della Repubblica are within walking distance of the BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing