We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great hotel, perfect location....”
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Dei Consoli
Ranked #500 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great hotel, perfect location....”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have returned yesterday from our first trip to Rome. We booked the Dei Consoli through secret escapes and received great communication from the hotel from day one, they also delivered on every promise, including upgrading our room.

I guess your experience of this hotel may differ based on your expectation. We wanted to enjoy Rome at its best and as such we looked for a hotel with character and charm and could not have chosen a better place to stay. I cannot comment on English TV as we would not have expected this in Italy and it did not get switched on with so much to do.

Our room was beautiful with large windows opening on to the streets, lovely shutters, gilt mirrors and a Jacuzzi. Please do not expect sterile, shiny new rooms, the rooms are in keeping with a beautiful old building and only add to the whole experience.

The staff at this hotel are worthy of 5 stars! The reception team are efficient, warm and friendly and go out of their way to meet every need. Daniele in the roof terrace bar is excellent, his service and helpful, friendly manner made our first night. Daniele even drew us a map as a quick guide to help us find all the different places we wanted to visit. We used this route everyday and quickly found our way around. we never used the bus or metro once during our stay and enjoyed the walks to each place taking in the beautiful streets.

Breakfast was more than adequate to start your day a huge selection of pastries, cakes, continental, scrambled eggs, bacon, juices and fresh fruit. We had fresh oranges everyday and found them to be delicious.

If you want to do something different there is an excellent local live music bar round the corner on the next street called Fonclea, we were made to feel very welcome, the bar was very busy, great atmosphere and Marco was excellent and made sure we were looked after at the bar.

Travel
We jumped on to the SIT bus shuttle from the airport which drops you in the Vatican city, a 5 minute walk from the hotel and really easy to find. it was 6 euros each way and drop off and pick up is in the same place. Due to the great location, if you like walking you can reach everywhere on foot. We found we this to be great and helped walk off the great food.

We cannot wait to return to Rome and would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Secret Escape traveler,
I am proud to read you had a very good experience with us and that you would not have hesitation to stay with us again for your next trip to Rome.
I do thank you for the detailed review describing non only the positive things that you enjoyed in the hotel, but also all that you liked around the hotel and your directions to clients on how easy is to get to the hotel also picking the SIT bus.
Looking forward to having you again with us..
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    261
    115
    42
    23
See reviews for
109
384
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Beautiful rooms, rich wood and fine appointments. Roof top bar with a great view of downtown. As with most retrofitted buildings, The elevator has room for one person and a bag. Staff was nice and breakfast was what we came to understand as being normal. If you are an American breakfast person, Rome is not where you want to be. Lunch and dinner, perfecto!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Charles, thank you very much for your review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli.
It is great to see that you are very satisfied with Service, Cleanness, Sleep Quality, Location and Value...Hope you will visit us again in the future...
Kind regards,
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have just returned from a short weekend stay in the most beautiful and amazing city of Rome. We arrived at the Dei Consoli having taken them up on the offer of being collected from the airport. It is a great service, worked fantastic, and considering a taxi ride is €48, train €28+, at €55 it's not to bad,and it's so easy when you don't know a city. We booked through Secret Escapes, and the hotel was quick to confirm details, and very helpful with questions raised.
However we were quite disappointed with the hotel, having used Secret Escapes in the past I think we both expected better. The receptionists are very friendly, and helpful and a great support for recommendations for all sorts. But the hotel itself is tired, worn and the rooms quite boring and bland. It wasn't very clean, with toothpaste marks on the zink and taps, and a dirty toilet. Our room had a jacuzzi style bath, but it did not work. It was impossible to keep the windows open as the hotel is on a main road, and the room got very hot and airless at night, which made it difficult to sleep, we were told the air conditioning was switched of in the winter. There is no tea/coffee making facilities, and a TV without a single English speaking channel. The bed itself is not too bad, but the pillows are like concrete,we asked for softer ones, but we're told there were none.
Breakfast was also a disappointment, and a total waste of time, it is very simple and totally basic, most upsetting was a fruit bowl with old apples and oranges, when there was a market a few hundred meters down the road selling fantastic produce. We are sure the roof top restaurant is lovely in summer, but with wind and rain in the winter it's not nice with plastic walls, it felt damp, cold and not the least bit cosy.
All in all we would love to come back to Rome, but unless the hotel changes quite a few things we would not use again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotteline2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Client,
I have read with a great attention your review and to be honest I am quite surprised and sorry for your notes.
First, let me say that I am thankful for having you put in evidence the great location of the Hotel dei Consoli and the great availability and attention of staff towards all your questions and requests.

Concerning your notes about the dirty in the room, if it was true I apologise with you, Howewer it is my first time in 10 years that I read a negative note about cleaneless in the hotel. Cleaneless, instead it is one of our strengths, along with breakfast, rooms, staff and location.

Concerning your complaint about hot rooms I remember I offfered you 5 different rooms. I was quite sure to have explained to you that it was a wrong expectation to find AC (freezing AC like in summer time) in January and that turning on the heat during the day would have caused the room fell hot .. Concerning this, the Hotel could not do anything different then what did.

I feel sorry you did not find yourself satisfied with your stay and I wish you the best for your next trip to Rome.

Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

On arriving we were greeted by friendly staff on reception who are always willing to help whether its close to resturants or whereabout of monuments.
The rooms were beautiful, clean and a pleasant size. Bed and breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of food. I was very impressed with the scrambled eggs and bacon!!
I have felt very comfortable and welcomed at this hotel

I came here as a 21st birthday gift from my mom and I would definately come here again.

Plently of resturants around. However please be careful as there are signs everywhere saying "bars" please note they are more of a cafe with paninis than a beer and a burger. I would recommend resturant "la soffitta". Gorgeous food and famous people have eaten here.

We visited a resturant 5 min walk from the hotel called "Tattoria pizzeria A.spinosi" on via del mashcherino. We only went in for a drink but then decided to have a pizza. The waiter gave me the plates, knifes and forks to give out as well as not even cutting the pizza. At the end of the meal charging us a 20% tip! When we refused to pay the tip the manager began shouting at us "service! Service!!".
Which I found very rude and unwelcoming. I recommend not to go to this place if you're enjoying your holiday!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alexireneada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Alex,
thank you so much for your "Perfect & Welcoming" review and recommendation of Hotel dei Consoli in the whole.
I am proud you have been recognizing the very friendly staff on reception - always willing to help - the rooms beautiful, clean and a pleasant size, the bed and breakfast lovely with a wide variety of food...
We all at the Hotel dei Consoli are very happy that you have felt very comfortable and welcomed at our hotel, particularly during your birthday celebration during your special trump with your Mom.
I do look forward to having you again at our hotel.
With the kindest regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from a lovely short break to the eternal city......me and my wife stayed at the Hotel dei Consoli,which is placed in a beautiful liberty's stile building right next the Vatican city(literally just a 1 minute walk),5 minutes from the closest metro station(ottaviano San Pietro) and at the corner with Via Cola di Rienzo(a wonderful street full of very good shops).Staff at reception desk are very nice and welcoming,giving you all the right information about sights and directions.Very good breakfast served from lovely bartenders on the amazing roof terrace where you even spot Saint Peter's dome......well if you haven't find a place where to stay in Rome,don't search any longer,you will not be disappointed in any aspect.....Grazie to all of you,we will be back for sure some day

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Direttore at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Samuel,
thank you so much for your kind review and for your recommandation of Hotel dei Consoli to other travelers.
We are proud you and your wife had a wonderful stay with us and that you are fully satisfied for all aspetcts of your stay.
I do look forward to having you again with us.
Kindeest regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3nights leaving on Christmas Eve, having booked the trip as a surprise birthday present for my partner. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond helpful. They arranged everything from the limousine pick up/drop off to champagne and chocolates to a room upgrade to the balcony room on arrival. They even rang our driver to see how far away we were from the hotel so the ice hadn't melted by the time we arrived. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, perfect location and amazing service.

Room Tip: The Balcony room is fab as it overlooks the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 179Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Client,
I am very proud we contibuted to make your first time visit to Rome so pleasant.
I am very thankful to you for having recommended Hotel dei Consoli, particularly for the courtesy of the staff and for having pointed out that the all of us exceeded your expectations in terms of attention and service.
I do hope to have you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Spend a few days in Rome with the wife, we stayed at Hotel dei consoli staff were fantastic, the room had everything you needed and the mini-bar was of an average price.

The rooftop bar/restaurant highlighted the hotels class with a good selection on drinks, food for the complimentary breakfasts and a good selection for the dinner menu.

Situated a stone throw from the Vatican and at stop one of the open bus tour of the city, easy assess and lots of shops and restaurants around the hotel

Really enjoyed our trip and was by far the best city I have ever visited

A must for anyone who hasn't been, we will defiantly be going back in the future

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dei-Consoli, Manager at Hotel Dei Consoli, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Jack,
thank you for having summarised your judgement about Hotel dei Consoli as a "fantastic place to stay". We are proud of our job..
Thank you also for having taken so much time for your very clear and detailed review, describing all positive aspects of a stay at Hotel dei Consoli, from the rooms to the breakfast, from the Terrace to the minibar, from courtesy of staff to great location.
I do hope to have you again with us in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#373 of 1,256 in Rome
983 reviews
Prati
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#648 of 1,256 in Rome
489 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#267 of 1,256 in Rome
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#546 of 1,256 in Rome
227 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#219 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#249 of 1,256 in Rome
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Property: Hotel Dei Consoli
Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#253 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#304 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing