We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel ... 2.5 star more appropriate”
Review of Hotel Dei Consoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Dei Consoli
Ranked #506 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel ... 2.5 star more appropriate”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Hotel Dei Consoli in Rome is well located and quiet. The staff, Antonio and the manager who runs the restaurant were excellent. The terrazza is superb for breakfast with wonderful atmosphere. The room was very small but the shower wasn't very good. There was no room for a table so we felt cooped in. The bed was comfy. We feel that 3 stars is too high by American & Canadian standards. Perhaps in Europe, tiny rooms are the norm and lounging areas are unimportant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilbert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    261
    114
    41
    23
See reviews for
108
383
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
marlow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in Feb 2014 we were in Rome on our honeymoon and booked through secret escapes. The room was a good size for European rooms the staff very friendly and helpful. the breakfasts were good unless you slept in as it got a bit sparse later on.

great location and good clean venue. Its a venue that 'did what it said on the tin ........'

would return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Dei Consoli and I am sorry to say that this is not a good hotel. We booked through Secret Escapes and the reviews were ok and it was rated as a 4 star hotel. I should have known better as the price was very reasonable, however this is closer to a 2 star than anything like a 4 star hotel. There is no lobby to speak of and the bar was only open for a few hours each day. You could not swing a cat in the tiny room and the decor was in total need of a revamp. Not dirty, but so old fashioned and in need of a lot of money thrown at it. Service was also pretty rubbish - they forgot one of our wake up calls and so we missed an arranged tour and they also didn't help take our heavy bags up to the 3rd floor. Anyway, bad experience... Do not stay here. Spend some more money and stay somewhere better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A small and very pleasant hotel. We had two rooms, and both were well equipped and tidy with very effective (and much needed) air conditioning. The staff were all helpful and made us all feel comfortable.

The keynote feature of the hotel is the dining room on the roof, which is used for breakfast and evening meals. There are some tables outside, and having breakfast there in the sunshine was a great way to start the day.

The location was very good - about ten minutes' walk (or less) from the Vatican, the open top buses on Via Della Conciliazione, the Tiber, and eating places around Via Borgo Pio.

A tip - from Fiumicino Airport catch the SIT Bus Shuttle, as it runs direct to "Vaticano". The bus stop there is on Via Crescenzio, which is just a few minutes' level walk from the hotel.

We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have just recommened this hotel again to some friends.Myself and husband stayed here while we had a weekend in Rome the hotel is well positioned for sightseeing it is only about 10 minutes from St Peter's and The Vatican there are some lovely restaurants around at good prices with wonderful Italian food. The hotel has a lovely Breakfast restaurant on the roof which is excellent on a lovely sunny morning after eating you can pass a while watching everyone going about their buisness while you finish your expresso.The staff at the hotel are only too willing to help you so you get the best out of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenmg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room was basic, but comfortable. Staff gave us a lot of help with our dinner dining location choices, and each served delightful Roman cosine at very affordable prices. Breakfast at the hotel also included many of the local pastries. Walking distance from the Vatican and one bus ride from the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and Forum made seeing the sights easy. Two drawbacks were no English channels on the tv and we could have used more pillows.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTanyaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The bed was comfortable - which is my number one priority. And the location was nice and the windows kept out any sound. But the shower was broken, the curtains were broken and there was no blanket except that DNA-covered plasticky bedspread-thing hotels always have...which is the first thing I take off. The staff was moderately friendly. Definitely could have found a better deal but it wasn't necessarily a bad experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekNicoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Orange Hotel
Orange Hotel
#662 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#378 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Grand Olympic - Aurum Hotel
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#277 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#231 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Consoli

Property: Hotel Dei Consoli
Address: Via Varrone 2D | Angolo Via Cola di Rienzo, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#304 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Consoli 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel, Hotel dei Consoli opened in 2000 is a luxury hotel in rome, and offers guests excellent hospitality in an atmosphere of elegance and imperial splendor.Hotel dei Consoli is located in via Varrone, near the Vatican with its majestic piazza and church, in a sumptuous building fully refurbished in the Empire style. The interior stucco work is by the Neopolitan master craftsmen who were responsible for the decoration of the famous Reggia di Caserta near Naples. The Hotel occupies three storeys, respectively designated the storeys of the Mappamondi (maps of the world), Fiori (flowers) and Battaglie (battles). On the roof garden and terrace you can enjoy breakfast while admiring the famous dome of St Peter's. The peaceful atmosphere is especially welcomed by single guests looking for rest and comfort in total seclusion. Furnishings in warm colours and careful soundproofing make the hotel an oasis of refinement and peace right in the heart of the Eternal City. With its elegant atmosphere, fully-qualified staff and all the very latest technology, Hotel dei Consoli is sure to make your visit to Rome an unforgettable experience."Since 2006 the Hotel dei Consoli has the best customer reviews on Trip Advisor: friendliest and best staff, great location, very clean, home away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Consoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Rome
Dei Consoli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing