We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated and inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #612 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Bay Area California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Isolated and inconvenient location”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I was trying to save money on my trip to Rome getting a rate for $75 per night but ending up paying more on trains, taxi and airport shuttles. The Hotel rooms is nice, front desk have a snappy rude attitude. There are no outside restaurants only the hotel. Food delivery is against hotel. Transportation a 15 min walk to train station and watch out for cars you will be walking by the road not a sidewalk. Taxi will charge you 10 euros = $13 usd for a ride to train station. I suggest if you are planning to see the sites in Rome to stay in the city and pay a little more for the convenience. You will walk a lot in Rome and walking back from the train station to Sheraton is the last thing you want to do.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caddydog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Roma, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Caddydog08,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the comfort of your room, at the same time we are disappointed to hear that you did not receive the warm welcoming experience the Sheraton brand is known for. Please accept our apologies for the inattentive service you received during your stay. As regards the transportation costs you mentioned, hotels located in the city center do not usually provide airport shuttle service. For cost conscious travelers, our airport bus service at EUR 7,00 per person each way would be far less expensive than a taxi ride of EUR 48,00 to reach any central Rome hotel. For connections to the city center, besides the metro station at 10/15 minutes walking distance, there is also a public bus stop just at the hotel entrance for trips to Piazza Venezia in the city center and St. Peter’s Basilica, at the cost of EUR 1,50 per bus ride.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    587
    459
    233
    138
See reviews for
282
383
57
743
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights for business in July. This hotel was super busy with busloads of tourists coming and going daily. This is a family hotel and there were millions of kids....good for the families but trying if you are on business. Breakfast was frequently chaotic with tables dirty, chafing dishes on the buffet empty and cappuccino machine frequently not working. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel runs a bus service to Rome city center for a charge. Nothing within walking distance of this Sheraton but a freeway. Rome is HOT and CROWDED in late July. On business I had no choice.....would never go for holiday during that time. All things considered the Sheraton is acceptable but would stay elsewhere given a choice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WheelzUpGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Roma, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear 1OutIntheWorld,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write review. We welcome guests from all over the world travelling for business and also for leisure - especially in the summer, so the hotel can become quite busy at times. Rome is indeed hot in July and our outdoor pool is a peaceful oasis to escape from the crowd and heat of the city center.

We hope you will consider staying with us again at a different time of the year so you may enjoy the beauties of Rome at a more relaxing pace.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Far from city centre but rates are good. Transportation from and to the hotel is a bit difficult only few buses the nearest metro station is 15 min walking but not safe. Breakfast was Ok. Staff were friendly

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Roma, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ahmed S,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and were satisfied with our breakfast offering. In regard to the transportation options to the city center, we would like to mention that the hotel provides its own bus service, while a public bus stop is located at the hotel entrance, with connections to Piazza Venezia (the very heart of the city center) and St. Peter’s Basilica. A taxi stand is also located next to the hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again at the Sheraton Roma.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The reason for staying at this hotel was because it was the site of a convention that I was attending. Otherwise, it would not have been my choice. The hotel was close to the freeway but not convenient to public transportation (e.g., the metro). Costs by taxi to the center of Rome was 25-35 euros. The room was nice, but not memorable, and the staff was inefficient. We had a brush with a very rude doorman as we drove in who berated us for not following the signage to the entrance (there was none). No one helped with the luggage, but parking was free on the surface of the hotel which was a plus. The manager did send us a basket of wine and fruit to the room as an apology. But whenever we wanted to obtain information, there did not appear to be an assigned concierge and the staff was unhelpful and curt in their responses. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices but ordinary otherwise. Taking the metro to the city was easy, but the hotel offered no shuttle to and from the nearest station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Roma, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear KUFBH,


We are sorry to learn that your stay with us last May was not the warm and welcoming Sheraton experience we aim to provide and sincerely apologize for having failed to meet your expectations. Please know that the issues you had are not reflective of our true level of service and we hope to have you back at the Sheraton Roma allowing us the chance to regain your confidence in the future.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is very beautiful and has excellent service. We had an initial unfriendly encounter with the front desk clerk who checked us in. We requested a room without a bathtub, since my mom at the time had problems lifting her legs. They checked us into a handicapped room which was in no way suitable for two persons. We called the front desk and they insisted no other room was available. After a few hours had passed we went down to the lobby and explained the situation to a different front desk clerk who was very understanding and checked us into an Executive Suite complete with both shower and bathtub. It just shows that one unhelpful staff member could give a bad reputation to your hotel. The room service and restaurant at the pool was great with really tasty authentic Italian Food. The concierge was very helpful and organized all of our tours to the Vatican, Colosseum as well as night and day tours. Most of the tours had pick-up at the hotel and there was also a paid shuttle service that took you to downtown. The experience was one to remember so I would definitely recommend this hotel especially if it is your first trip to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Roma, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valisha,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us last year. After a not so welcoming check-in experience that could have left a negative lasting impression overshadowing the rest of any trip, we are glad to hear that our staff looked after you and your mother so well and provided the friendly and attentive service that we strive to extend in the Sheraton community. It is great to hear that our team contributed to the making your first visit to Rome a memorable experience and we truly look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

American standardization and a short shuttle ride away from all the attractions. If you get the chance upgrade to the club level and the free food and happy hours and rooftop views will more than compensate for the nominal charge. Good value from a name brand. Me and my family felt safe and happy there. We will return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Roma, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear FMKHA,

Thank you for your positive comments, glad to hear that you took advantage of the club level upgrade and thoroughly enjoyed the amenities provided. The Sheraton Club is a symbol of our brand that we are proud of and has become very popular among our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My Aunt and I stayed at the Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center from July 21st to the 27th. Our check-in was seamless and the staff we encountered were courteous and friendly. They really took the time to help us when we asked for information. The location is fantastic and the rooms are clean and well equipped with air conditioning. The EUR Magliana Metro Station, which is on the B line is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. With no sidewalks I caution pedestrian’s to be very careful walking after dark…Room service was great and they had an on-site restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Free Wi-Fi and computer use is also available in the lobby. The only gripe I had was that someone at the front desk made a mistake on my reservation hence they were charging my credit card on a daily basis. I purchased my hotel through Price-line therefore, I was only supposed to pay city tax which was not due until check-out. I reported the error to the front desk and they apologized for their mistake and promise to reimburse my card . They have since reimbursed my account but the whole incident really put a damper on my vacation. We enjoyed our overall stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Roma, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Merva S,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a great time with us and would gladly recommend our hotel to others, thank you indeed. We do apologize for the billing error on our side and although it was quickly fixed, we regret that it affected the enjoyment of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Roma and providing you with a seamless experience next time.

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
4.9 mi away
Bellambriana Hotel
Bellambriana Hotel
#958 of 1,261 in Rome
340 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#370 of 1,261 in Rome
1,977 reviews
3.8 mi away
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
#305 of 1,261 in Rome
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Roma Citta
H10 Roma Citta
#129 of 1,261 in Rome
2,137 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rome - Eur Parco Dei Medici
3.1 mi away
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#48 of 1,261 in Rome
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center
Address: Viale del Pattinaggio 100, 00144 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic and charismatic, Sheraton Roma is a landmark of the EUR district since 1983: a urban resort combining high quality service and modern facilities.Sink into the cozy comfort and get a good night sleep at one of 640 rooms and suites ranging from Classic to Superior, Club and Suites, equipped with the celebrated Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed ™ - featuring luxurious sheets, deluxe duvet, and a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows and a custom mattress.Upgrade your holiday and stay at a spacious and renovated Club Room with access the Club Lounge, a sophisticated meeting place. Whether you prefer the comfort of its homely living area or the astonishing views and the green scenery from its outdoor solarium, experience its unique Signature Moments throughout the day. From breakfast to Spritz, Prosecco Time or Afternoon Snacks, feel pampered and cared for with private check-in, personalized service, free WiFi, international newspapers and a select ambiance. Enjoy the sun by the poolside with family and friend and taste the very best of Italian Cuisine at AQVI restaurant and bar, a gourmet experience with local products and specialties from Lazio Region and taste and compare world renowned wines at the Social Hour in the afternoons, or find your favorite one in our Wines of The World menu. Delight in a exquisite cocktail and listen to the live entertainment every night.For the health conscious, pick your daily meals from a varied selection of dishes Color Your Plate™ and exercise at the tennis court, green jogging path or the CORE Performance Fitness Center – opened 24/7 for your comfort.Visit the city center by metro – a 10 minute walk to the EUR Magliana Metro Station, by our own bus service, by taxi or by car – the hotel is located 5 km from the GRA Orbital Road. Arrive and depart Rome within 20 minutes from both Fiumicino and Ciampino Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Roma Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roma Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Roma Hotel Rome
Sheraton Rome
Rome Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing