We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget this hotel, go elsewhere”
Review of Summit Roma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Roma Hotel
Ranked #1,123 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Forget staying at this hotel. I originally chose it because when I was first planning our trip to Italy, the site I was on showed a shuttle that picked you up at the metro station, and then a shuttle showing to the airport. I wanted to stay close to the airport the night before leaving so I didn't have to worry about getting their on time. While, apparently, the site I was on showing a shuttle from the hotel to the Metro was not their's and doesn't happen unless you contact them prior (no mention of that in the ad I saw, the ad I saw gave a time table). We ended up taking a taxi which cost 20 Euro. The free shuttle to the airport is a joke, our plane left at 12:30 pm so we had to be at the airport at 9:30 am, the shuttle to the airport goes from the hotel at 07:20, 16:45 and ?, which meant we had to catch the 07:20 or get a cab. Breakfast was at 07:00 so needless to say, it was a quick grab something, gulp down your tea/coffee and go. The reception was defensive, the hotel, was old, needing a paint job (dirty walls), but the room itself was clean and comfy. the pizza by the pool was really good. I difinitely will not be reconmending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonnecolebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Summit Roma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2008

Room was adequate - decoration dated, needed a paint job and some minor repairs, but it was clean. No safe. Pool was nice - they could do with more lounge chairs. Breakfast was OK, except for scrambled eggs - bright yellow and runny. More fruit would have been nice.
Did not eat at hotel restaurant - too expensive. We went to the nearby supermarket - down the hill, turn right, across the bridge - 5-10 mins. We bought cooked chicken and a salad and had a picnic by the pool.
If you are reasonably fit (we are in our 60's), the walk down the hill from the hotel is easy. You can turn right at the bottom to the bus stop and catch the bus to Cornelia station, but it is a lot quicker to turn left and walk under the subway to Aurelia station. Trains run every hour (10 mins to the hour when we were there). every 2 hours on Sundays and holidays. Pay on the train. We did not take the hotel shuttle into Rome.
There is a shuttle bus to Fiumicino airport. We paid 35 Euros for a taxi to Ciampino airport. DO NOT let reception order a taxi for you - they will charge you 25% more (at least). If you just go outside the hotel, taxis arrive all the time. Wait for one and ask him to pick you up at the time you need - he will come back.
This is not a 4 star hotel, but we found it OK for our needs.
By the way, airfares back to North America from Rome are expensive. You can go to England on Easyjet or Ryanair for about $50. Spend a few days (or longer!) there and then get a cheap charter back home. That's what we did.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

As stated above really.

It was the perfect place to relax after a hard day of sightseeing.

The outdoor pizza restaurant and bar were fab.

Oh and the beds were so comfy...had the best sleep ever at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

When we arrived they gave us directions to takea bus, then the metro, then another bus, and then a 10 minute walk to get to the hotel! The airport shuttle only is to one airport and we flew from London via Ryan air and it lands at a different airport.
They gave us information when we arrived about train & bus service - an hour after waiting at the train station we learn it is a holiday & no train service. No explanation why the hotel did not tell us it was a holiday they day we arrived and that trains were not running and bus service was limited. Very frustrating first day.
The restaurant service was impossibly slow as they catered to a wedding party and ignored us. Food was tasteless.
The hotel definitely needs TLC, reasonably clean but beds were like rocks.
The destination requires you to work at going into town as they only make 4 trips a day to Cornelia station - 2 in the morning, and 2 at night. Definitely not at request.
They only want you to use their taxi reference, and there are less expensive cabs.
There is a supermarket 10 minutes away and you can get water, pizza, fish, water, beer, ice cream etc there.
The hotel is located a ten minute walk from the bus stop, and the hotel is at the peak of fairly steep driveway which for some might be a problem.
Not negotiable - we asked for some consideration due to the lack of airport shuttle, and other misunderstandings but the staff there do not seem inclined to finding solutions to make tourists happy before they leave. I guess there are enough tourists who don't do research.
The location is not way out of town though, it is only a short bus ride or short taxi ride into old Rome.
This is not a four star hotel for service, or accomodation. We would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scooter58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Summit Roma Hotel is situated on a hill and in a terrible location! It took approximately 10 minutes to walk to the bus stop – not only a hill but a long stretch of road which didn’t have any lighting so it was quite scary walking along the road at night. The bus however, took about 10 minutes to get to Cornelia metro station and from there, you could travel anywhere in Rome.

The staff were friendly and provided information about Rome upon arrival, such as maps, sight-seeing information, best places to shop etc.

I did not use the pool and the restaurant but after strolling around, it seemed decent enough; the staff around there were friendly, greeted us, asked if we were ok and offered us some service in the restaurant.

Although quite small, the room we stayed in was very clean with no sign of dirt; it consisted of a mini bar, television, air conditioning, hairdryer and all the basics required for a 4 star hotel.

Overall, I thought the hotel was clean and consisted of friendly staff, however it was situated in a terrible location and walking up the hill was hard work! I think it is best suited for those with cars or those who plan to travel by taxi!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kimmydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2007

The on-line company I booked this hotel through rated it a 4-star. Either I stayed at the wrong hotel, or they need their eyes tested!!! On my recent experience, I'd say its struggling to maintain a
2-star rating! We found the hotel staff to be courteous, polite and helpful, but it was all downhill after that. The room(s), whilst kept clean, had very dated decor. The en-suite bathroom was minute, with no room to swing a kitten, let alone a cat! The TV in our room was perched on top of the mini-bar, the remote was broken, and was never fixed during our stay, despite repeated requests. There were/are no facilities inside the rooms to make tea or coffee. Breakfast was basically a self-service cold buffet, with runny 'scrambled' eggs and bacon. Evening meals were an 'adventure' because despite ordering from the menu, we often received what the the chef 'thought' we had ordered. The portions sizes were suitable for a 10-year old, unfortunately we couldn't find any 10-year olds to give our meals to!
The hotel is at the top of a hill, if you miss the am or pm shuttle to Cornelia metro station, there is a 10-minute walk to the bus-stop. Not so bad in the morning when going out, but a real chore in the evening when returning after a days sight-seeing. The shuttle was unpredictable as despite having a time-table, one day it would leave later than the scheduled time, the next day it would leave as per the time-table, so you never quite knew where you were. The Hotel has a swimming pool, but it wasn't clean, and we never saw anyone in it, despite some very hot days during our stay.
If you are visiting Rome, its probably worth spending the extra to get a hotel closer to the centre. It makes sight-seeing, and travelling around a lot easier. If you must stay on the outskirts of Rome, we would not recommend staying here!!!
Tourist Tip (i): When purchasing a 'multi-ticket' for combined metro & bus travel, they are available from the metro stations. however, the metro has no booking office staff, only ticket machines. The ticket machines only take the exact money for the required ticket, despite saying they give change, they don't! Also, we found that you can actually just walk through the metro gates to get down to the platform. Whilst there are machines you are supposed to 'swipe' your ticket through on both the metro and buses, after a while we 'did as the Romans do' and just got on the metro and buses without 'swiping' the ticket through the machine.
Tourist Tip (ii): When visiting the Vatican, the early morning queues are long (try and get there by 8am), don't be conned by tour guides offering a fast-track entry, "Within 10-minutes of the doors opening", they say . They will charge €27.00 on top of the standard €13.00 Vatican entry price. Only go with a guided tour if you genuinely want to, and not just to get inside quicker. Once the doors open at 10am, and the queue starts to move, you will be inside pretty quick.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank combusus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2007

Upon arrival at the hotel the reception staff were very helpful but
the service from the bar and restaurant staff was to say the least
appalling they gave the impression that they really did not want to be bothered by quests. The kitchen was in clear view of the restaurant via a glass wall it was interesting to see the chief smoking whilst cooking!! and the quests having to wait whilst the waiters finished on their mobile phones. We found the service to be a little too relaxed. We stood at the bar and waited for 9 mintues whilst the barman made himself a coffee. The hotel was tidy but dirty it needs a spring clean, the windows, mirrors and curtains are dusty. The hotel is a long way from the main drag on top of a hill. We only had to stay 3 nights if our visit had been longer we certainly would have changed hotels. This hotel
is firmly a basic 2 star hotel. Maybe the restaurant/bar staff could
use the training advice of the reception staff. Overall not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.8 mi away
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#49 of 1,267 in Rome
3,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Midas
Hotel Midas
#574 of 1,267 in Rome
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#703 of 1,267 in Rome
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia
Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia
#614 of 1,267 in Rome
705 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#270 of 1,267 in Rome
969 reviews
9.3 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#505 of 1,267 in Rome
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Roma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Roma Hotel

Address: Via della Stazione Aurelia 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#367 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £100 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Roma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summit Roma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Summit Roma
Summit Roma Rome
Summit Rome
Rome Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing