We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Bad”
Review of Summit Roma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Roma Hotel
Ranked #1,122 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We have just returned from there,it's a shame what could be a great hotel to be such a
bad experience.service not good at all,staff,the rooms,and the worst the restaurant staff.
we were siiting for one hour and forty minutes and we left without eating.I will not recommended at all.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heribertopedroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 94 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Oslo, Norway
19
Reviewed 31 October 2005

There are several reasons for not staying in this hotel. I want to tell some of the problems we faced in there. The room we booked was terrible; it was old dusty and terribly hot with a broken AC and an antic refrigerator which wasn't working either. We immidiately asked the hotel stuff to change our room. After 1,5 hours of waiting we moved to a new room which at least had basic needs such as clean floors and a working AC. Needless to say we had expected a bit more from a 4 star hotel. Another problem we faced was really very rude of the hotel stuff. They told us that they were shuttling to the nearest subway station from the hotel in the morning and back to the hotel in evenings. Although we went to the subway with this shuttle bus, the bus never came to pick us back in evening. We waited there for 2 hours and then took an ordinary bus and then walked about 1 km to the hotel. Later we learned that the hotel bus never came because it was broken, however the hotel made us no apology for this. Another thing that made us feel terrible in this hotel was the hotel restaurant, we payed 4 euros for a salad made of only one tomato and a couple of green leafs. The location of the hotel is also not good for a Rome visit as it is not close to the city center at all and the transportation is terrible. Even if you have a car you woulnd't like to get in to the Rome city traffic anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Phila, PA
14
Reviewed 26 September 2005

This hotel should be shut down until they renovate the rooms. The smell of mildew and mold in the hallways and rooms is unbelievable. I was stuck there due to a tour, and it took 3 rooms until I found one that did not smell. The pool and restaurant were lovely, unfortunately, one cannot sleep and bathe there. If you can choose, choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Colchester, Essex
19
Reviewed 20 August 2005

I have just returned from 5 great days in Rome staying at the Summit Roma Hotel. Upon arrival at the airport we called the Hotel to collect us, they were there within 20 minutes, the shuttle service only runs at certain times so you must check before you go that your flight coincides with these times. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff and were given an adequately large enough room for the four of us, which in turn was comfortable and clean. The restaurant by the pool was good, the staff were friendly and the service was quick, the food was nice, priced at what you would expect for a Hotel. After hard mornings of sightseeing it was a joy to come back and laze by the pool whilst the children played. The hotel is a trip outisde of Rome, but so accessible, there is the shuttle service which takes you directly to the Metro, limited places though. Alternatively, there are two regular buses, we found the train station at the bottom of the hill great, it takes you directly in and out of Rome, it also runs to Saint Marinello which is a beautiful beach resort, ask at Reception for the times, they were very helpful. We had a great few days staying at this hotel, the pool is a real treat in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, Scotland
18
Reviewed 4 August 2005

We should have known with a name like the "Summit Roma Hotel" that it would be at the top of hill! We used the train service to arrive given that the map showed the Stazione Aurelia to be close to the hotel. It is. But to get to the hotel involves a hike up a hill. No fun with two large suitcases and two kids!

On the plus side, the free minibus to Cornelia metro station was as advertised (just not frequent enough but there are buses to and from Cornelia about a 10 minute walk from the hotel). The room was spotless, cleaned every day, fresh towels. The reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is certainly not 4 miles from the nearest Metro station. We should know we had to walk from the Metro station back to the hotel when the buses and the Metro went on strike! It is probably 1.5 miles or 2 miles at the most.

On the negative side, evening meals are available from the outdoor pizzeria. The food is good but the portions are small. As for the service ... I've seen a tortoise go faster. 45 minutes to bring the main course, on one occasion, 2 of which were cold. One hour to bring the dessert including ice-cream. Best to eat in Rome - try the La Sorbetteria di Ranieri on the Borgo Pio near the Vatican for a fantastic value for money meal!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hampshire, England
17
Reviewed 10 June 2005

This hotel advises that it is near city centre. Don't believe it!! The shuttle bus didn't appear, it is not easy to find and the staff at reception were most unhelpful. The hotel itself is at the top of a hill and the railway station nearest doesn't have many trains. Underground is probably about 4 mils away although there is a bus (985) from Cornelia Metro station.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2005

Hotel staff was very unfriendly. Had to wait 3 hours at airport for their shuttle service. They would only come at certain times. Morning and late afternoon. We called them at 1:30 pm and they came at 4:30. After checking in, we were hungry but restaurant didn't open till 8:00 pm. They wern't ready at 8 and didn't let us in till 8:30.
Lobby was beautiful, but rooms looked like they were never renovated. The beds were like sleeping on a board. The pillow didn't even help. Wallpaper was peeling off walls in our room. It was, however clean. Just really dreary.

Stayed: May 2005
5  Thank angandsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.8 mi away
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#53 of 1,269 in Rome
3,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Midas
Hotel Midas
#571 of 1,269 in Rome
104 reviews
9.3 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#505 of 1,269 in Rome
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia
Holiday Inn Rome - Aurelia
#618 of 1,269 in Rome
710 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#263 of 1,269 in Rome
971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica
Hotel Roma Aurelia Antica
#1,053 of 1,269 in Rome
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Roma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Roma Hotel

Address: Via della Stazione Aurelia 99, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#369 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £100 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Roma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summit Roma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Summit Roma
Summit Roma Rome
Summit Rome
Rome Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing