We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Ranked #310 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We came a day early before a Globus tour of Italy and spent 3 nights here in total. Room was dirty and needed major renovation. Carpet dirty with stains and cigarette burn holes. Walls in dire need of paint. Room musty because air conditioning was limited and heavy traffic noise if left open. This hotel is far from most Rome tourist areas. No restaurants nearby other than hotel or pizza. Breakfast buffet was good the first morning because we arrived at 8:45 am since our tour did not begin until the following morning. The next 2 mornings we were there at 7am and food was limited, no coffee cups were available, long lines for limited food, empty buffet pans from scrambled eggs, etc. We asked wait staff about coffee cups and food since our time was limited and they were totally rude. Front desk was useless with help. Our cost for the one night not included in our tour was $350. NOT worth it! All 43 people on our tour were complaining!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Having visited this hotel 3 years ago where we got a superb upgrade to suite and free mini bar for 15 euros per day to a very disappointing room with peeling wallpaper and very dated interior. This we were told this was a superior room for 15 euro per day. I don't think so! We immediately returned to reception and asked for a refund which was duly given. That's there bonus gone! On the plus side the breakfast was good and the pool area clean. Location near the Vatican but about a twenty minute walk or a bus ride. No eating places apart from McDonald's but a local supermarket if you need supplies. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel 3 years ago with some friends and were so impressed we came back. However we won't be returning again.

I booked the hotel 6 months ago and sent a message to say we were returning guests and could we have 2 rooms next to each other and if possible with a good view.

Upon our arrival 3 years ago we were offered an upgrade for an extra €15 per night, the upgrade was for a Superior room with a free mini bar which was refilled daily.

We took the upgrade and were given a huge room with a sofa and large balcony which was great to sit on with our friends and enjoy a drink at the end of a days sightseeing Although the room was a little tired and there was no fantastic view from the balcony the room was large and clean and as promised the mini bar refilled daily.

On this occasion we were offered an upgrade for the same price of €15 but this was just for the Superior room and no longer included the mini bar.We were also told that if we didn't take the upgrade our rooms would be on 2 separate floors.
We agreed to the Upgrade just so we could be near our friends but when we got to our rooms they were tiny, smelly, dingy rooms - certainly not Superior with wallpaper peeling off and stains to the walls.

We went straight back to the reception to say we were not agreeing to pay the €15 per night for something which was clearly not a Superior room. The female receptionist who had upgraded us was busy with another guest but was very sheepish looking when she heard us telling the male receptionist that we felt we had been conned.
When we told him our room numbers he glanced uncomfortably across at the other receptionist, but also tried to tell us that they were their Superior rooms until we told him that we had stayed there 3 years ago in a Superior room & that the cleaner had also told us they were standard rooms. He then agreed to waiver the extra cost.

As with previous reviews this hotel should no way be a 4* until they upgrade the interior.

The hotel is a 20 min walk to The Vatican or a bus ride if you don't mind waiting until a bus turns up! The area around the hotel is a little shabby with no decent places to eat so it's either a bus ride, taxi, walk or eat in the hotel where there is a limited menu and is quite pricey.

Breakfast is good with plenty of variety.

The pool area is clean, the pool is not heated and there are not many sun beds but we went in September so that wasn't a problem for us.

Room Tip: Check the website to see what a Superior room looks like before they try and con you into paying ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was a pretty good hotel, large rooms and good clean bathrooms. It is a bit outside the city center of Rome...about 15 to 20 minutes. There is not much to do around the hotel though as far as restaurants and shops. We stayed here with a large tour so we did not venture about the hotel much.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our recent road trip to Rome. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was lovely including fresh fruit etc. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean. The swimming pool was a blessing after a long day in the city sight seeing, only complaint would be that there were not enough sun beds or towels when it was busy; lying on concrete patio not comfortable the pool attendant was not very helpful more interested in smoking and mobile.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mason-Cruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Firstly, despite the numerous reviews stating that this hotel is dated etc., it is not! The hotel decor is perfectly fine, the rooms and lobby are clean and comfortable with fully functional air conditioning, the tv stations are good, the pool is clean and well staffed, and it has excellent wifi throughout.

The downside to this hotel is obvious - it's location. It's at least a 20 minute walk from the Vatican, which is itself around 20 minutes from the main city centre. If you know this before you book in then you wont be surprised by anything. It's a budget stay that allows you a full breakfast, a lovely pool, and gives you a base from which you can wander into Rome as and when you choose.

The main issue we experienced during our stay were the staff. On arrival we were asked by a shocked a receptionist what had happened to us. We had travelled from Pisa by train, then a metro and finally a bus to reach to hotel. But we didn't think that we looked that rough! When checking out, we realised that the receptionist had booked our taxi to the airport for 4.30pm instead of 4.30am. A panic ensued, meaning that we had to pay over €60 for a taxi to Ciampino airport instead of the €49 price quoted by the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannymagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Before choosing this hotel, you need to weigh up a few pros and cons. It is a few kilometers away from the city centre and Vatican. If you are planning a short trip to Rome with an intensive sightseeing programme, this would probably not be the ideal choice. However, if you wish to spend four days or more with a mix of relaxation and sightseeing (and in summer, some time relaxing by a lovely swimming pool), this is a great choice.

Getting there can be a challenge! The hotel's website directions are hopelessly inadequate. See below for directions! If you rely on the hotel directions you will get lost.

I was perturbed by some of the earlier reviews. Yes, the hotel is past due for refurbishment, but the rooms are clean, with comfortable beds, perfectly adequate bathrooms. The carpets are in need of replacement. However, there was nothing wrong with our standard room.

Breakfast was excellent, with interesting and innovative healthy choices. The pool was great and there is a small but well equipped gym.

Getting there: from Fiumicino airport take one of the buses (about €5 one way; much cheaper than the train) to Termini Station. A number of companies operate from the bus station at Terminal 3. From Termini, take the Metro Line A to Cipro station. Exit the station at Via Cipro, cross the road and the bus stop will be on your right. Take either the number 31 or 33 bus. Tell the driver you wish to get off at Leone XIII (Pio XI) stop. At the stop continue up the hill for about 30 meters, turn right into a small street and you will be at the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#53 of 1,269 in Rome
3,363 reviews
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#256 of 1,269 in Rome
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#687 of 1,269 in Rome
898 reviews
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#162 of 1,269 in Rome
348 reviews
Hotel Poggioverde
#118 of 1,269 in Rome
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Roma Villa Carpegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Address: Via Pio IV, 6 | Gregorio Vii, Villa Doria Pamphilj, Aurelia Antica, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Villa Carpegna)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rome
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Business Hotel in Rome
#272 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#297 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Villa Carpegna 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Roma Villa Carpegna is set in a quiet area, just a few kilometers away from Rome's historical center and within easy reach of the Vatican and St. Peter's Square. NH Roma Villa Carpegna offers an attractive alternative for your stay in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Roma Villa Carpegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villa Carpegna Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Carpegna
Jolly Carpegna Villa
Jolly Hotel Villa Carpegna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing