We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel in quiet neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Roma Villa Carpegna
Ranked #306 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. A modern hotel in a quiet neighbourhood located approximately 2km from the Vatican City. Check-in was smooth and easy with no problems. Indeed the service throughout our stay was always prompt and professional. The hotel restaurant is decent enough (if a bit limited) for an evening meal if you happen to arrive late. The breakfasts are also worth mentioning offering a good selection to fortify you for the long day's sightseeing. The rooms themselves are a decent size, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. The only significant issue with this hotel is its location, located as it is approximately 2km from St. Peter's square and 4km from the Colosseum and Roman Forum. The most direct route to the Vatican City (25 minutes, leisurely pace) takes you down a busy road lined with local shops, market, florists and numerous local coffee bars. On the days when the walk didn’t appeal a local taxi cost us in the region of 10 euros (St. Peter's) to 20 euros (Colosseum & Roman Forum). Just make sure you stick with the registered city taxi, these are always white with a clear 'Taxi' sign on the roof and door. Would happily stay here again when next in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We staid 3 days in this hotel last May. The breakfast was very good. The personal at the hotel very amiable.
In our last day we forgot a brand new suit and a jacket.
We contact Miss. Laura Sansone and she recommend us with Mr.Luigi Mascolo, inmediatly they communicate us that they have our bag with the suit and jacket.
Their amiability was extraordinary.
We are very glad that we choose the Hotel for our stay in Rome. Miss. Laura Sansone and Mr. Luigi Mascolo are very valuable persons for the hotel.
We highly recommend this hotel.
Sincerely.
Aurora del Pilar Porragas Niven.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilarica_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Cosmos tour. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Room was large and bathroom was nicely fitted out. The breakfast buffet was fair with not many choices. Hotel is not near the city center, but as we were with a tour group this was not an issue

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank OneSouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Villa Carpegna, for one night in early April. The stay was fine, as other reviewers have noted, the hotel does need an update of furnishing and fittings. There are some lethal door stops especially in the bathroom. Catching them with you toe is most painful! Uk Health and Safety would have had them removed!
We stayed at the hotel again for 3 night some 2 weeks later after we returned from a cruise.
This time we had booked a suite, which comprised of a bedroom and sitting area, bathroom and balcony. The balcony was on second floor level and was on the flat roof of another part of the hotel. Again the furnishing were quite shabby, filling coming out of the easy chairs etc.
The worst experience was yet to come!
Upon opening his wallet to buy a bus ticket my husband found all his cash had gone. Roughly £400 in Euros and sterling. The wallet had been full the previous evening when we went to bed and the only time it was not with him was when we went down to breakfast. We telephoned the hotel to advise them and asked them to secure our room and let nobody in. On our return we found nothing else had been taken from the room and the hotel promised to undertake a review of entry into the room. The report came back that nobody had entered our room other than ourselves.
The explanation came apparent on our last night when my husband became aware of a figure at our bedroom window attempting to come in the open window. He ran straight out screaming and the intruder ran off, apparently jumping down some 30ft. When my husband looked down he had used a down pipe to escape down and presumably used it to get up. My husband came back in, secured the door and window and ran downstairs to reception. He was gone some 5 minutes and the whole of that time I tried to get someone to answer the telephone, simply nobody answered the phone. A security man with torch came back with my husband, wandered outside, came back in and wished us a "good-night"!
It was clear that the money had been taken on the first night by an intruder coming into our balcony door. I hindsight maybe we should not have had the door open, but it was a hot night and the air-conditioning was weak and very noisy. We were on the second floor after all.
When we asked to speak to the manager the next morning, it was only the reception manager who appeared. They was a clear lack of concern to our predicament. They promised it that matter would be reported including to the police. I have since sent emails asking for them to confirm this but they will not say they have reported it to the police.
They had given us free drinks on our first night (after the loss of our money) and a 2 course meal with a small discount. Unfortunately the waiter that evening was also running the bar, we gave up after 20 minutes waiting for any desert. Instead we had a kit -kat from the fridge, they then charged me 4 Euros for this!!
When we checked out the bill was inaccurate, we had been charged double for meal etc. It took 4 men nearly 25 minutes to try and sort it out. We just wanted to get out of the hotel after this grim experience. They have offered us a small discount if we ever stay with them again, I think not!.
It has taken me a while to right this review, we came home completely in shock after our experience. We find the thought of some walking around our bedroom as we slept, coming within inches of us horrifying. What may have happened if one of us had woken up? He then came back again.
The hotel have shown very little concern or sympathy for the whole episode. They promised to look at the security. This should be done before not after guests use the rooms. There was no was no way of securing the windows unless they were completely shut. There was no security lighting on the balcony and the no security camera on this part of the hotel.
I thoroughly recommended anyone staying in this hotel to be vigilant at all times and avoid room 222 at all costs!

Room Tip: avoid any room with balcony unless you take your own alarm system!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Bus stop and local shopping are a few blocks away from the hotel, but within easy walking distance. The area around the hotel is relatively quite, especially at night. Old Rome is conveniently close by bus or car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When in Rome do as the Roman do!!!! When I first arrived at this hotel I really felt good. It is located in a residential area, at first you have those beautiful trees and plants and this already give you the feeling of peace. Inside it is very well decorated and quite modern. The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast is amazing. I have stayed in many hotels in Rome and this one is by far the one I definitely would go back. I know Roma pretty well, so I can tell you that the best way to see and feel this city is to walk around without counting how many km you are going to do. In Europe we do walk a lot, maybe this is why we can afford to eat so much as we will loose those calories by walking around. I can tell you that it is very rarely would I use a local bus in Rome, often the city can be so chaotic that I would reach my spot before them. The hotel is about 30mn away from the Vatican by foot, Piazza Navona is 30mn away from the Vatican. I love walking around Rome through those tiny cobblestone street and little alleyway, just to get the feel of ancient Rome. You will always find lovely little gardens, cats at doorsteps, old little stores, lovely statues of the Virgin Mary on the walls, lovely roof apartments with lots of trees around it and so on. You feel so good after spending the day in the city to get back to a peaceful place like this hotel and sit in their terrace enjoying either a cup of coffee or tea or why not a nice glass of wine. You will have plenty of time to recharge your batteries for the next day. If you do not want to walk, you can always use the bus which is only 10mn away and will take you either to the Vatican or down to Piazza Venezia. The hotel staff are very helpful and just so kind!! I will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infosutrell62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Expedia secret hotel bit so was a little apprehensive when it got sent through in terms of location but if you're okay with getting a bus you'll be fine-you'll at least burn off the calories that you'll consume in all the pasta, pizza, gelato and vino that you have whilst in this magical city! The hotel itself is clean and well presented, with ok size rooms and an OK shower-this is our 5th time in Rome and they can be hard to find! Decor is dated but again it's Italy so don't expect modern. nice terrace area with bar next to the restaurant and pool-pool was closed during our stay (May) but people using loungers and terrace to enjoy the sunshine. Great breakfast with lots of options-perfect for filling up before a day exploring the city-quality was excellent-much much more than I expected for the price so really pleased! It's a good hotel, I'd stay again but not if I was on a first visit as it's hard to find and you need to be confident with using public transport.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsH39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#54 of 1,271 in Rome
3,388 reviews
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#274 of 1,271 in Rome
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Occidental Aurelia
#211 of 1,271 in Rome
1,183 reviews
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#679 of 1,271 in Rome
903 reviews
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#169 of 1,271 in Rome
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Roma Villa Carpegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Roma Villa Carpegna

Address: Via Pio IV, 6 | Gregorio Vii, Villa Doria Pamphilj, Aurelia Antica, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly NH Villa Carpegna)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Rome
#166 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#229 Business Hotel in Rome
#272 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#297 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £70 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Roma Villa Carpegna 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Roma Villa Carpegna is set in a quiet area, just a few kilometers away from Rome's historical center and within easy reach of the Vatican and St. Peter's Square. NH Roma Villa Carpegna offers an attractive alternative for your stay in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, NHHotels, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Roma Villa Carpegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villa Carpegna Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Rome
Jolly Hotel Carpegna
Jolly Carpegna Villa
Jolly Hotel Villa Carpegna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing