We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park
Ranked #245 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we were a bit hesitant to book a hotel in Rome that was not in the old town, but soon overcame that once we checked in. Our room overlooked St. Peter's dome and the overall view was great. The hotel met all of our expectations in what it offered, and it did the job well, in typical Marriott fashion. Transportation to the Vatican and the centre of Rome was very efficient by train and subway, and part of our people watching experience. Perhaps the only down side was the food in the on-site restaurant Moscati. The fare was average at best, and the prices were high (how about 10 euros for a small, basic dessert?). We ate a couple of meals in the Bistrot, which was ok, but we soon ventured off to a neighborhood place called Taverna Sacchetti 2 or 3 blocks away, which had received good reviews on Trip Advisor. In total, we had 3 dinners there and enjoyed them all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so pleased you loved your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park and would like to thank you for posting your wonderful review. Your very kind comments have been passed on to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

This isn’t a 5-star hotel, but it’s a 5-star Courtyard. My wife and I stayed here for five days and four nights, and we found it to be an excellent value. We also found that we disagree with some of the criticisms posted here.

HIGH FLOOR! We checked in at noon, and had no problem getting a high-floor room with a view of St Peter’s dome. The front desk staff (which was always extremely helpful) said they were glad to grant these requests when available. (Checking in early may have helped us.)

INTERNET PACKAGE. We asked for an internet package, and they gave us three days for 20 euros (it’s usually 10 per day). They said the package was good for only two devices. But when we said we had four devices, they freely granted us a special “Executive” access for two additional devices.

BREAKFAST. They offered two breakfast plans: 7 euro/person for a continental breakfast or 14 euro/person for a full hot breakfast. I know that breakfast is commonly complimentary at Courtyards in the U.S., but perhaps not in Europe. We found the continental to offer an abundant supply of pastries, rolls, and juice.

SHUTTLE. Some have complained about the cost of the shuttle bus into the city (3 euros/person), but it was very convenient, constantly on time, and much cheaper than a 25 euro taxi ride (and you never know when a cabbie will try to rip you off). They leave promptly at the designated time, and the trip to downtown (right at the Vatican museum entrance) takes 17 minutes. So, to catch your shuttle, it’s typically ready to pick you up about 13 minutes prior to its designated departure time.

Note: On two of our shuttle rides, the driver was yacking on his hand-held cell phone for much of the trip. This was especially unnerving because the Italians drive with an “every man for himself” attitude. When we checked out, we mentioned this cellphone problem to the hotel front desk, and they said the drivers are not to be using their phone, except in hands-free mode. They wrote down our report, and I feel confident that they will address it.

GEMELLI STATION. One commenter said you take 3 lefts to get to the Gemelli Station. It’s actually three rights from the hotel to the station. If you come to the hotel via the train, go to the top level at Gemelli Station, and you will be facing the main street. From there, you turn LEFT, then two more lefts to the hotel. The hotel is indeed very close to the station, probably only 5 minutes’ walk.

LOCAL DINING. We took the advice of one of the posts here and ate at Taverna Sacchetti. (To correct their directions, you take a right from the front of the hotel, take another right to walk up the hill, then turn LEFT when you get to the main street.) This restaurant is in a strip mall, and we found it to be acceptable, but nothing to brag about. It is indeed one of very few local restaurants. The hotel restaurant is indeed a bit pricey, but the food was better than other restaurants. We paid about 50 euro for two of us, while 20-25 euro was common elsewhere.

ROOM FURNISHINGS. Concerning the furnishings of the room, I thought it was actually much nicer than a typical Courtyard in the U.S. The bathroom was mostly marble, had a sitz bath, and a heated towel rack (!). There was a refrigerator, complimentary bottled water, but limited drawer space (just one large drawer in the closet), but plenty of counter space. TV offered five English channels (mostly news, e.g., BBC, CNBC, Bloomberg). The bathroom electrical outlet accepted 110V U.S. plugs. Elsewhere, you need an adapter.

BALCONY! We had an excellent balcony with 2 chairs and a table, offering a great view of the city and St. Peter’s dome. We caught some fabulous sunrise photos. Being here on New Year’s Eve, we could see more than 20 fireworks displays throughout the city, all from our 5th floor balcony.

NEIGHBORHOOD. The hotel is in a quiet residential area, and you can leave your balcony door open at night for fresh air. Almost no street sounds and no local riff-raff.

GREAT STAFF. The front desk staff was extraordinarily kind and helpful and eager to resolve the slightest problem. We probably spoke with 6-8 different hotel staff, and they were all very professional and spoke functional English.

TOUR TIPS. We booked a tour of Ancient Rome and the Vatican through the front desk. It was a quick and easy process, but it was expensive (about $500 USD for a full day). Note that the company will charge you about 3-5 percent more than advertised if you pay by credit card. On the plus side, the tour allowed us to skip all the waiting lines (which were VERY long), and we had a personal tour guide for our small group of eight.

USE AUDIO TOURS. On the next day, we took a non-guided tour of the Castle St. Angelo. Loved it! The view of the city from the top of the castle is hard to match. We paid (I think) 10 euro for the audio tour in English and were very glad we did. You could get one device and share it with two people.

Each audio station (there were about 35 throughout the castle) offered about 90 seconds of narration. The narrator speaks excellent English (unlike our high-priced Italian guide), and the recorded narration presents reliable and factual information. Plus, you can hold the audio device right up to your ear and not miss a word. Even in our 8-person guided tour, it was not always easy to hear or understand the guide.

On the previous day, our expensive tour guide frequently spewed information that was based on bad sources, but she passed it all off as absolute fact. I’m speaking primarily of her comments about Peter and Paul, biblical data, and Christian history. (I have a master’s degree in New Testament.)

But I highly recommend this hotel for easy access, quiet area, very nice furnishings, and a top-notch staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of St. Peter's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TRW1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so pleased you loved your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park and would like to thank you for posting your wonderful review. Your very kind comments have been passed on to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Unless you are Italian and visiting family in this area, the hotel is in a terrible location. They hit you for 3 Euros per person each way every day if you want to take their hourly shuttle to where the tourist sites are, or you can ride the metro for 40 minutes to get there or pay 20 Euros for a cab. Breakfast is crazy expensive at 15 Euros pp for a standard US continental style and there is NOWHERE nearby to go as an alternative. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and decent size. The "view of St Peter's square" promised is actually a far away siting of just the top of the dome on the other side of a park. Restaurant food was average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014
Google Translation

Gentile cliente,
nel ringraziarla per il suo contributo, devo sottolineare che il comodo trenino, con frequenza di dodici minuti per corsa, arriva in pieno centro in soli 20 minuti, 10 per San Pietro. Il costo della colazione continentale è standard per tutti gli hotel di questa categoria ed offre una vasta scelta di opzioni, apprezzate da sempre dai nostri ospiti. Sperando di averla ancora nostro ospite le porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful and polite. The lobby area and the restaurant was very clean. The rooms were clean but there is room for improvement. The bathrooms are small and will be a good idea to renovate them. Our reservation did not include the breakfast but according to my family it was really good. The check in/out was fast. Most of the rooms have balconies at least the ones we were given. Close by there is a really good place to order pizza. The distance of the hotel was not an issue for us as we bought the omnia vatican pass that included all types of transportation for 3 days.
The Gemelli Station is very close to the hotel and was a big plus for us. You take 3 lefts and the station is in front of a car dealer. It takes about 5-10 minutes to get to the station. If you are going to the vatican city you can take the green line to St Petro or change lanes in Valle De Aurellia to take the metro ( red line) to the ottavia or Cipro station. Approximately, it takes 15 minutes to the vatican city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in Italy, 6 nights of them at the courtyard in Rome. The hotel is almost in the suburbs, however, it is very easy to get to central Rome on the regional train F3 connecting to the metro to go anywhere. There is also a shuttle to the vatican area for 3 euro which is a good option after a long day of sightseeing.
The hotel is clean-our room had a nice balcony and there is a large grocery store 5 min walk to get snacks and wine at the end of a hard day!!! Breakfast is very good-Rodika the hostess, is welcoming and always smiling.
My husband was pickpocketed on the metro on our 3rd day in Rome and lost everything-cash and credit and debit cards. The front desk staff was incredible. They helped us call our bank and credit card companies-and brought me water and a chair when they sensed that I was getting a little overemotional! I will never forget their helpfulness, continuing for the rest of our stay. All of them were so kind, but I will remember Erika forever, she was so wonderful!
Some rooms have a great view of St Peters, especially at night when it is lit up and you are sitting on the balcony.
We have been to Rome many times, but I would return to this hotel gladly when we come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of St Peters---wonderful view especially at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PattyPat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here while I was back in Italy on business. If you are here for vacation find another location as it is is a good ways back to Rome and there isn't much of other restraunts in the area.There is a family restraunt that you have to walk to up and around the corner that is in something like a strip mall that is very good homade Italian cooking.

As for the hotel and staff they seemed to be covered up. For me just a quick business trip is okay if you are in and out, but trying to get around and find other restraunts it is not even close.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britt016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guest
Near the hotel there are 3 restaurants within 1 km, but the most important thing is that the hotel offers 2 dining choices, well: The Moscati restaurant with excellent menu and a la carte menu of traditional Roman and nostrp BISTRO with also menu at € 10. We hope to have it still our guest.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here Nov 2013 on a 4 day trip to Rome. The hotel was up to par with other Courtyards in Italy. The hotel staff were great and helped us to find our way around. As all the other reviews said, it is a nice hotel but too far outside the city. It takes 20-60 min (one way) to get into room riding the trains. You walk 5 min to the Gemelli (above ground) train station. Then ride three stops to the Valle Aurelia metro (subway) stop. Walk down a few flights of stairs and then into the metro/subway. Then ride anywhere from 3-8 stops to your sightseeing stop. The question is, is it worth staying outside the city to use Marriott points and lose 1-2 hours a day in travel or stay closer inside the city and potentially pay? If I had to do it again, I would stay closer in the city and pay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Terrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#358 of 1,269 in Rome
2,054 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Hotel Sisto V
#626 of 1,269 in Rome
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park

Address: Via Giuseppe Moscati 7, 00168 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £84 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel is conveniently located near the Vatican City and S. Peter's Abbey and offers everything you would expect from a 4 star conference & leisure hotel whether you are in Rome for business or fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rome Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rome Central Park Hotel Rome
Central Park Roma Rome
Central Park Roma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing