We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and a very friendly staff.”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #430 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and a very friendly staff.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent location…walking distance from the Vatican and other touristic sites.

We stayed at Hotel Amalia for 3 Nights. We had booked a triple room and the size of the room was humongous compared to other hotels we stayed. The shower room was small….bit difficult to turn around in it.

Maria and Leonardo, always with the “welcoming smiling”, were very helpful in providing us with the directions and advising us on the mode of transport to the different sites. The gentleman who tended to the breakfast was very courteous and helpful too. Thank you all for making our stay at the hotel a truly memorable one!

Would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanzelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the Hotel Amalia Vaticano .
We thank you for your nice compliments for the staff of the Hotel Amalia Vaticano.

Best regards
Hotel AmaliaVaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    192
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
113
167
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Recently my friend and I completed our sixth stay at the Amalia since our first discovery of the hotel a decade ago. Location, location location! At least if the Vatican is a major part of your travel interests. The rooms are extraordinarily well finished and comfortable for the price. The growing pains we saw there from an expansion two years ago seem to have been resolved. The breakfast is quite modest, in keeeping with local custom. The wi-fi proved to be far more inconvenient and difficult than the system I discovered in other hotels on the same trip. The area becomes very quiet at night which can be a plus. There is a nice variety of nearby restaurants. Leonardo and the staff aim to please. Public transport, both metro and bus, is easily accesible. In short, the Amalia is well woth consideration by those with an interest in the Vatican area. One travel tip: head to St. Peter's in the early evening and you can walk in with no lines and enjoy a pleasant visit right up to its 7 P.M. closing time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
It has been a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel Amalia Vaticano again. I am please to learn that you have enjoyed this stay much more than the last time.

Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Unfortunately, at the hotel we initially booked there was a plumbing problem in our room and the people there were quite kind to relocate us to another hotel. That was Amalia hotel. I have been in Rome many times before and I know what to expect to find for what I am paying for. And in this case, I paid good money. We merely wanted a clean and quite room to have a sleep because most of the time we would be out sightseeing.
When we arrived, there was a Filipino guy at the reception who made our life hard. He was acting as if we were about to stay at the Buckingham palace at least and what we were about to pay was too little. We explained to him and showed the papers we were given, that the booking at Amalia hotel was made by another hotel, was not our fault and he should contact them to resolve any differences. He kept reading the papers we showed him, the actual confirmation with the specific amount we were about to pay him in cash. Eventually he agreed.
But the big drama came later when he showed our room. He took us through a corridor that smelt so bad (we had to smell it every day on our way in and out). The room was small, much smaller than we expected. The big surprise was with the toilet. There was no door!!! Can you imagine it??!? I am not sure that all rooms have the same design, but our room was a disappointment.
This hotel exploits its location greatly, for is close to the Vatican. For us that was a negative because the places we wanted to see were closer to Fontana di trevi which is a half an hour walking distance. But even for faithful Catholics who go to Rome basically for visiting the Vatican, this hotel is a disgrace.
Picture this in your mind. it is night and you return to your hotel after a very nice time you had out. And then you pass the reception room (2*3 sq.m.) and you see the receptionist (not the Filipino guy) sitting on a chair with his feet up on another chair, not wearing shoes, eating pop corn and watching tv. How professional is this??!?!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PARIS_IOANNOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Hotel Amalia Vaticano.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that took place during your recent stay in Rome.
This does not reflect our usual standard of service and now action has been taken to ensure that a similar situation does not re-occur.
Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Myers
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A charming hotel in an excellent location. The Vatican Museum is less than a five minute walk, St. Peter's less than ten. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was surprisingly large considering the proximity to the Vatican, Metro, restaurants, etc. Everything was neat and clean and the AC kept us comfortable. Price included a simple breakfast with fresh, crusty Italian bread, cereals, yogurt (but the coffee wasn't good). It was almost impossible to get in and out of the shower without spraying the bathroom but that was a minor inconvenience compared to the advantages of location, location, location!

Room Tip: Breakfast room is on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler33907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay.
Rome is a beautiful city, and makes unique every holiday.

Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Just 2 blocks from the Vatician Museum and approx. 4 blocks from St Peter's Basilica. The hotel is on a tree-lined street very picturesque. The Metro is 2 blocks away. Close to good local restaurants & shops. We stayed in the family room on the fifth floor. The 2 rooms were large and very clean. The beds(king & double) are very comfortable and the A/C was set at the right temp. Bathroom was modern with tile floors and updated faucets and a rainwater shower head that felt wonderful after walking all day.The front desk was very helpful and helped us with transportation options and tours. You can also buy water and other cold beverages at the front desk for 1 euro. Great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanangelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
We hope to accommodate you again.
A big hello from Rome.
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo & Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We keep coming back to the Amalia. Our family has stayed there three times now. Amalia is close to the Vatican and next to a Metro station. The neighborhood is excellent; the location could not be better. The staff is friendly. Amalia is not a luxury hotel, but the rooms are comfortable and very clean. It's a home away from home. I really wish I could give the breakfast a thumbs up, but that wouldn't be fair. Since you can have a cheap breakfast at a number places in the vicinity, this is not really a problem. Despite the breakfast, Amalia is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
It 'been a pleasure to have hosted again and to know that the hotel Amalia Vatican is the preferred hotel of your family when you come to Rome
Yours sincerely
Hotel Amalia Vatican
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel is on a nice street by the metro, vatican, and st peter's. It's still walkable to attractions on the other side of the river (spanish steps, trevi fountain, pantheon). The room had good AC and a good price. The bed was the only full size bed we got on our trip to Italy! The bathroom was my only complaint. The shower was old and didn't feel clean and was extremely small. I'm only 5' 3" and I could not turn around in it (although we had this experience in Tuscany as well). If you are going to the Vatican, I'd rec putting in for the Scavi tour underneath St Peter's. You need to request a reservation a few months ahead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#269 of 1,258 in Rome
584 reviews
Hotel Museum
#475 of 1,258 in Rome
294 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#527 of 1,258 in Rome
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#666 of 1,258 in Rome
167 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#49 of 1,258 in Rome
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Property: Amalia Hotel
Address: Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#302 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Amalia Vaticano, situated in a late 19th century "Palazzo" is only few steps from the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel an the metro station " Ottaviano S.Pietro. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, LCD TV. Telephone, hair-dryer, safe, air-confitionig.Wifi free for Superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing