We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Last Minute Booking”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #447 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We are a military family. The USO made us a reservation here when we had to get out of the apartment we had rented (it was terrible). It was clean, great location, very courteous staff, breakfast was good, they were very helpful. All in all, we will return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmckemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Client,
thank you for your evaluation and recommendation of Hotel Amalia. We are proud we contributed to your comfortable and convenient stay in Rome.
I like to put in evidence that USO travelers are particularly welcome to us.
Thank you for recommending Hotel Amalia Vaticano to other travelers and looking forward to having you again with us.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Amalia hotel is located in a very useful for a tourist point in Rome, very close to Vatican city and St Peter square. Also it's located very close to the metro line A. There are many coffeeshops and restaurants around it and also a mini market.
The staff is very friendly and respond quicκly to people's needs.
The rooms are very clear, breakfast and coffee are fine.
i think the room price is excellent in relationship with the location and the hotel facilities.

i 'll stay in this hotel for sure if i 'll visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dionisis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Dionisis,
we are proud of your evaluation as "excellent stay" at Hotel Amalia Vaticano.
Thank you for recommending Hotel Amalia Vaticano to other travelers because of your full satisfaction and I am looking forward to having you again with us.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is not a typical one. It is placed in an old, but well taken care of, building with an elevator. You literally have few minutes walk from Vatican. Our room view was over Basilica, and it was so perfect! You might also notice that it is a very safe part of town, since Vatican is next door. Amalia is just few min walk from metro and bus station. Hotel has perfect stuff, 24h present! Room was very clean and nice, towels were changed every single day,sheets were also white and clean as if they were new. There's also an interesting Mini market next door that works till 20h, which is useful and wonderful. There's one and only thing I would change, and it's breakfast that is nice, but each and every morning the same. There are all necessary stuff served, but it gets little boring if you stay more than three days. Anyway, I would stay in this hotel again, that's for sure! I highly recommend it :)

Room Tip: There's no fitness center, I accidentally checked it. Ask for a room with Basilica view! It didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomana_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Tomana,
thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation of Hotel Amalia!!
I am proud you are fully satisfied with your travel experience and I am particularly happy that you have been focusing on how safe is the area where the hotel it is located.
I are taking action after your suggestion of improving our breakfast.
Thank you for recommending Hotel Amalia Vaticano to other travelers and looking forward to having you again with us.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

i stayed the hotel at yearend , stuff are really friendly also nice care .
you can find nice cafeteria in front of the hotel , also supermarket near the hotel .
a little bit danger place around the hotel , but if you be careful , there is nice place .
thank you to your care , see you again .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikioHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

あなたのレビューありがとうございました。
敬具
ホテルアマリア
レオナルド

Thank you very much for your review.
Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here on a recommendation from the USO. I was really impressed with the value of the hotel and honesty of the hotelier. We stayed in the junior suite on the 5th floor. The rooms were immaculate and very large. Breakfast was fine with excellent coffee made to order. The price was very reasonable given the location...very close to metro and Vatican. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Most importantly, the hotel worked with me on a booking mistake. They will also book taxis for you....their taxi was cheaper than the transpo I arranged myself.

The USO is right around the corner.

The only thing that could have been better was the bed....not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay.
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Best Regards
Leonardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

we have been staying at this hotel since 2004 on our first trip to Italy!!! I will never waver. If I cant get in -- I will contact them personally and they remember me!!! They are located "down the street" from the Vatican. If you request, you can hire driver to pick you up at the airport and they will call reputable drivers to take you anywhere!!! Hotel is very well maintained and staff is the best in Rome!!!

Room Tip: Front rooms allow you view of lit up Basilica at night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Responsabile reception at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed again the stay at Hotel Amalia Vaticano .
Thanks for your kind compliments for the staff .
Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vaticano
Leonardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

for those who like to explore the city. 13 mins walk to the vatican, 3 min walk to the metro, making this hotel ideal as a place to use as a base to be out all day and return to a warm comfortable room and it is quiet yet close by are many places to eat to choose from some cheap and some expensive. shops are nearby for those who like shopping. we found this hotel ideal for our needs of visiting the historic parts of rome.

Room Tip: bring your own kettle and tea cups to make yourself a drink in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLMWARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Front Office Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for having reviewed the Hotel Amalia Vatican.

Best regards
Hotel Amalia Vatican
Leonardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#288 of 1,271 in Rome
611 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#74 of 1,271 in Rome
703 reviews
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#661 of 1,271 in Rome
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#527 of 1,271 in Rome
237 reviews
Heart Hotel
#147 of 1,271 in Rome
483 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#524 of 1,271 in Rome
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Address: Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £43 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Amalia Vaticano, situated in a late 19th century "Palazzo" is only few steps from the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel an the metro station " Ottaviano S.Pietro. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, LCD TV. Telephone, hair-dryer, safe, air-confitionig.Wifi free for Superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing