We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonna Palace Hotel
Ranked #435 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location is convenient for walking to all the "must-see" highlights of Rome. Wi-fi (7€/day) unreliable. Bathroom updated but our shower leaked profusely, resulting in wet carpeted area in front of bathroom door for the duration of our stay. I suspect, that is why they provide packaged slippers. Wall-mounted hair dryer and toiletries provided. The highlight of the hotel was the roof top terrace for breakfast and a pre-dinner Aperol spritz.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gr8Trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Can't believe the last people only gave this one blob. Ok the corridor carpets are a little faded but all in all it's a lovely little hotel right in the centre of Rome.
Rooms very clean
Location excellent, max 20 mins to everywhere worth seeing
Nice breakfast in a rooftop location
Lovely little bar
Good size rooms
Safe in room
Police all around the piazza (it's the parliament square after all)
And finally not that expensive compared to central london for example. Of course you could opt for one of the big fancy american style hotels off the Borgese but you will miss out on the quaint roman feel and central location of this hotel.

Adrian and Vicky, Doncaster, Yorkshire, England.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Not a 5 star - old and tired and wifi is not available without fee. Breakfast is lovely and included, friendly staff, gorgeous rooftop view of the old city. Across from Parliament, expect police everywhere. Comfortable room and fantastic location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Be warned. The pictures on their web site do not represent what you will receive. The Colonna Palace is not a 4 star hotel. It's really 2 stars. The carpets are old and stained. The rooms are tiny. The beds are terrible. The furniture is of poor quality and badly maintained. While in Rome, we checked other hotels and found that you can get much better hotels in similar locations for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We wanted a hotel that enabled us to walk to the major sites in Rome during the day and eat out in nearby restaurants in the evening. The Colonna is very central, yet peaceful because it directly faces the Italian parliament building. Our room was comfortable, with a view over the square of the Egyptian obelisk (Ist century). It is just around the corner from the 2nd century column of Marcus Aurelius. It was 20 minutes walk to the Coliseum, the forums and the Palatine hill and not much further to the Vatican and Castel St Angelo ten minutes in the other direction was the Pantheon and the Trevi Fountain. This we really appreciated as before we have stayed a bit out of town. The room was comfortable, clean and modestly priced, though not huge.
Breakfast was on the roof terrace with a view across to St Peter's square.
As we travelled with cabin luggage only I needed some purchases despatched to the UK via post and the manager, Ettore Frigo arranged this personally. When we wanted restaurants booked or tickets for the open topped bus tour reception arranged it all and as we do a fair bit of travelling we have come to appreciate professionally run hotels.
So Yes we would stay again when next in Rome

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was traveling with my teenaged son and we really enjoyed this hotel. Staff polite and professional and all spoke very good English. Though they were patient enough to allow me to practice my Italian. The position is fantastic. Close to everything, very close to Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps and dangerously close to very good shopping. Room was small, but this is Rome, and yes a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. Enjoyed breakfast and in summer I imagine the pool is a bonus. Views from breakfast terrace were wonderful. Overall I left feeling my time at this hotel was time well spent.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel looks very good on web site, but when we went there we realised interior looks old and very used. Hotel has no restaurant, but breakfasts are served in the roof top, where is romantic view to Rome.
Cleanliness in room was OK and hotel staff were nice, just one waiter was little bit nervous during hectic breakfast time and ignore us...
Location of hotel is absolutely excellent!!! You are just in the centre oposite the Parliament. Hotel is 2 min from Pantheon, 7 min from Piazza Navona, 10 min from Piazza Venezia, 20 min from historic Rome, Colosseo and Vatican.
If you don’t expect luxury of four star hotel, this hotel is good choice for pairs that want to spend nice vacation walking around historical sights.
And is also good for shopping maniacs, cos its dangerously close to Via del Condotti :)))

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,269 in Rome
1,565 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#111 of 1,269 in Rome
670 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#109 of 1,269 in Rome
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#250 of 1,269 in Rome
1,147 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#594 of 1,269 in Rome
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di Monte Citorio 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £116 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Palace Rome
Colonna Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel Colonna Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing