We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colonna Palace Hotel
Ranked #453 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

There are two things about staying here we really enjoyed, the first being the location, it was awesome, we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go and really enjoyed exploring Rome from here. Second was the rooftop breakfast area which was lovely and the food quite good. We did find the staff to be a bit unfriendly and off putting and the decor dated. The public areas were large, but just felt kind of cold and unwelcoming. Our room was comfortable enough, but quite noisy from the street below.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlyncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    302
    151
    65
    40
See reviews for
149
283
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several days recently with friends. We arrived from the States in a torrential rainstorm at around 11 AM. Because of its location next to the Italian parliament - there is no convenient vehicle access to any entrance of the hotel. As a result we had to carry our bags for about a block in the pouring rain. The hotel staff at the front desk was uninterested and unwelcoming. They directed us to their breakfast restaurant to wait for our rooms as we were dripping wet and had no place to go due to the weather. We soon saw that they had two tiny elevators that delivered us to a floor beneath the restaurant as you had to climb a flight of stairs from there to the restaurant. The first thing you noticed exiting the elevator was the old threadbare carpet everywhere - nearly completely worn in spots and a bad first sign. We sat there for about 30 minutes over a roll and coffee before they asked us to leave as the guests were backed up down the hall waiting to be seated. (Upon checkout, they billed each of us for a full breakfast after we assumed it was included.) After a couple of more hours - we got our rooms and were shocked as to the tiny size, the beat up dumpy looking furnishings and the dim lighting. The bathroom, while small, was at least updated and clean. The bed was only about a foot off the floor. It was the most uncomfortable bed upon which I have ever slept and it would not surprise me to learn that we were sleeping on box springs without a mattress. The air conditioning was ineffective and we had to sleep under a screen less open window and endure mosquitoes. The noise was unbelievably loud and steady all night from the restaurants, drunks, street cleaners and vehicles. The next day we got stuck between floors in one of the small elevators with an employee - the temperature went up to 90 degrees in no time and nobody responded for nearly 10 minutes to the weak alarm. It was very unnerving. The furniture in the waiting areas is great grandmother like and much of it has arms that wiggle. You will need a crane to get up from the couches as you are almost hitting the floor. When our respective spouses each asked the hotel's quiet bartender for two glasses of ice he would only give them one glass to share between them. Upon checkout, there were charges none of us understood and the front desk man was less than pleased to have to answer our questions (primarily as he had no immediate explanation). The only things that were good about this hotel were its central location, the quality of the breakfast and the lovely outdoor breakfast seating area with wonderful views of the city.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms - get an upgrade. Better choice would be to stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fukowiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent a number of nights at this hotel, having used it on previous trips to Rome, but never again. The hotel location is great and within walking distance of most of the tourist sites. Breakfast which is good, is served on the rooftop, with fantastic views of the city and the staff couldn't do enough for you, but if you want a drink in the bar you have to wait until the barman has nothing else to do (depending on which one is on duty). Overall the staff are very helpful but we felt we were an Inconvenience to the manager. The rooms are clean but some are very small and could do with updating, you could describe the hotel as faded elegance. Located beside a state building the hotel is surrounded by Police barriers, which makes it secure and safe but sometimes your route could be blocked off and you might have to walk around the block. Regular protests take place here. WiFi is not available unless you pay for it (not good enough for 2013), street noise and old noisy air con fans will keep you awake at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Piazza facing the state building are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We got sent here after the hotel we had reserved for our honeymoon vacation said they were overbooked and sent us over here for a night.

Pros: GREAT location. Super central to attractions, really close to Pantheon. The breakfast was decent but the rooftop patio it is served in is spectacular. Really great. They also serve pots of American coffee which was awesome and tasted good. Staff was very nice.

Cons: rooms are a little run down, which I can live with, but the beds are incredibly uncomfortable which was harder to take.

If you get a good room rate, it is a good place for a Roman sight seeing home base. But don't pay too much or you'll be disgruntled when you arrive and see the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Palace Colonna is a nice enough hotel with a fantastic location. The rooms are rather shabby though, concidering it is 4 star, they are not clean and not maintained at all, and some not all are very small. The breakfast is definitely not worth paying for. Friendly staff and a very nice roof garden/terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitte Obertin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Location is convenient for walking to all the "must-see" highlights of Rome. Wi-fi (7€/day) unreliable. Bathroom updated but our shower leaked profusely, resulting in wet carpeted area in front of bathroom door for the duration of our stay. I suspect, that is why they provide packaged slippers. Wall-mounted hair dryer and toiletries provided. The highlight of the hotel was the roof top terrace for breakfast and a pre-dinner Aperol spritz.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8Trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adybaby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Can't believe the last people only gave this one blob. Ok the corridor carpets are a little faded but all in all it's a lovely little hotel right in the centre of Rome.
Rooms very clean
Location excellent, max 20 mins to everywhere worth seeing
Nice breakfast in a rooftop location
Lovely little bar
Good size rooms
Safe in room
Police all around the piazza (it's the parliament square after all)
And finally not that expensive compared to central london for example. Of course you could opt for one of the big fancy american style hotels off the Borgese but you will miss out on the quaint roman feel and central location of this hotel.

Adrian and Vicky, Doncaster, Yorkshire, England.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#43 of 1,256 in Rome
1,489 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#141 of 1,256 in Rome
612 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#578 of 1,256 in Rome
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#108 of 1,256 in Rome
1,524 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#238 of 1,256 in Rome
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Palace Hotel

Property: Colonna Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di Monte Citorio 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colonna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Palace Rome
Colonna Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel Colonna Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing