We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colonna Palace Hotel
Ranked #445 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just great - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our 20+ stay at the Colonna Palace - just would not stay anywhere else in Rome - super location and fabulous staff. Over the past 15 years we have recommended the Colonna Palace to family and friends in the UK and USA, and all have been concurred with our opinion of this hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    293
    145
    62
    38
See reviews for
143
275
41
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel for the location. Really short walk to the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona. Only 20 minutes walk to the Colliseum as well and the Vatican was less than 10 minutes on the bus. The hotel itself was smart and clean though not overly luxurious but that didn't matter. Continental breakfast was good and eating on the roof terrace with a great view across Rome was a highlight of the stay. Staff were really friendly and Mrs Kalevra and I would definitely stay here again. There are cheaper options but the location makes it a perfect base to explore Rome :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slevin_Kalevra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My mom, boyfriend, and I stayed at the Colonna Palace for 2 nights. The location is very convenient to the Pantheon, Fountain of Trevi, Piazza Navona, and Via del Corso. The Forum and Colosseum are an easy walk as well. When you arrive by cab, you have a short walk (1/3 of a block max) to the front door since cars can't drive in the piazza due to security for the imposing government building there. Check in was a breeze.

Our rooms were next door to eachother on the 2nd floor (or what would be the 3rd floor in the US) My mom's single room was quite compact and dated, but she had a small balcony, which was nice. The bathroom, too, was compact and had a shower rather than a shower/tub. Our room was quite large, and the décor was dated for us, too. Bathroom also was only a shower rather than a tub. That was fine for us, but if you want a bathtub, be sure to request it. And, despite the dated décor in both rooms, the linens were *extremely* clean. We really didn't plan to spend much time at the hotel, so we didn't care about the interior decoration of the rooms, as long as they were clean, safe, and quiet. And they weren't very quiet... heard the store across the street starting to get ramped up for business at 6:45 a.m.! The rooms did have in-room safes for our belongings.

The rooftop terrace was fabulous. A great place to enjoy a glass of wine from the downstairs bar (the bartender is a very friendly, accommodating, cheerful gentleman...), soak your feet in the pool after a day of sightseeing, or enjoy the wonderful breakfast buffet. We all found the buffet to be one of the best during our trip ~ a wide selection of meats, cheeses, breads, rolls, pate, fruit, yogurt, and scrambled eggs. It kept us well-sated throughout the day until dinnertime.

I booked this hotel on points, so don't know what they would charge for a room. My usual hotels (Regno and Senato) weren't available for our dates of travel so I had to try someplace new. This hotel was very serviceable, had some great points (location, terrace, cleanliness), and will now be on my shortlist of hotels to consider on my next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Higher is better for avoiding the noise. Ask for a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

If central location is important, this hotel is really in the midst of things. Less than five minutes from the Pantheon and maybe 10 minutes to Trevi. Colosseum and Vatican are each about a mile or so away, but they're easy walks.

Our room was small and could use some updating, but it was functional. The rooms are air-conditioned, but make sure to ask if the system is activated. We stayed during that period between winter and spring when they shut the AC off. It was warm in the room during the day and we had to sleep with the windows open at night to stay cool. Because of that, we heard all the neighborhood noises - it would have been way better with the windows closed.

Wi-fi is extra, but it was faster than the typical services we've experienced at most mid-scale hotels in the states.

Breakfast on the terrace was good - one of the few places we found that makes good American coffee. If you stay more than a couple days, you'll probably want some menu variety. We also liked the terrace for a glass of wine in the evening (buy it at the bar downstairs and they'll bring it to you).

The downfall to a central location, of course, is the crowds - the streets are packed with tourists and (especially) street vendors. But you're just steps away from restaurants and unbelievable history. We'd stay again, as long as the AC was working.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenorman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Yes it is ideal for several monuments, however that's about it.
We asked for a nice room due to it being our 20th anniversary, and our first time in Rome.
We got a very very tired and old room. Most of the furniture was scratched or damaged in one way or another. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. However the bathroom was a disgrace with mould on the tiles and bath, the shower screen was damaged and the toilet flush was faulty.....then we had a sewage leak which went into the bedroom. The staff couldn't cope and we had to argue strongly for a room change with no offer of either a refund or an upgrade. Yes we did get a bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine, but really? Tge room we moved to was sweet with a little balcony to sit at but very very noisy. Take ear plugs!!
The rooftop breakfast was nice but after 4 days and no variety, got a bit monotonous.
It's a shame as we had looked forward to it so much but felt let down in so many areas.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank clubzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Jerusalem, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location was just perfectA short walk to all one wants to see and do in Rome!
Breakfast was very good! A lot of choice!
Good service, clean...
Rooms are a bit small and so was the bedroom!
Altogether good hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Positive:
- in the middle of the city center, 2 min. from Trevi fountain, 1 minute from the Pantheon.
- nice view from the terrace during breakfast on the top floor.
- there is always 3-4 police cars right under your window.

Negative:
- WiFi is NOT included (7€/day).
- breakfast is not "fresh" and they re-use the coffee from old mugs.
- old fashioned mentality of the receptionist.
- the interior is a bit worn down.
- you will have to pay extra fees, city-tax in the end.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#46 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#146 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#578 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#232 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#99 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Palace Hotel

Property: Colonna Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di Monte Citorio 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#231 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colonna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Palace Rome
Colonna Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel Colonna Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing