We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base if a little out of the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #195 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good base if a little out of the centre”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Have just come back from 4 nights at the Crowne Plaza and have to say they were very relaxing and enjoyable.

The hotel is a distance from Rome, but that actually makes it better than some of the hotels which are inside the city. The reason for this is that the hotel has a lot more space to play with and this includes a swimming pool, gym, tennis courts and Spa.

Check-in was quick and efficient. My first hint here though is getting to the airport from the hotel. It mentions on the website a hotel shuttle, this only runs up to 17:45 after that you either need to get a private driver from the hotel or a taxi. I took a taxi which came to €45 for the trip and took about 30 mins. We did take the shuttle bus back to the airport and it was very useful.

The room as nice, if a little small compared to some hotels I have stayed in. We had a balcony over looking the swimming pool area which was good, although the chairs on the balcony could have been more comfortable.

The decoration of the room was a little old looking as was a lot of the hotel, but this seems to fit in with Italy itself, it could probably do with an update.

I will say that the TV channels were quite limiting, not something you should worry about but... In the end we actually watched more streamed than we did the TV as you only had CNN and BBC World News as English speaking channels on the TV. The wireless was very good though.

We ate twice in the hotel, both in the evenings and have to say the food was excellent. The single meat and fish plate from the buffet was great value for money and the quality was very good. We didn't try the breakfast.

As I have said the hotel is outside of Rome and this does mean that to see anything you have to get into Rome. There are a number of options. About 30mins walk from the hotel there is a metro station which takes you straight into the middle of Rome. This costs €1.50 for a single trip and there are stations near all the major sites.

You can also book places on the hotels own shuttle bus for €1 which either takes you next to the Vatican in the morning or to the city in the afternoon evening.n We did use this one day to get to the Vatican.

It is worth exploring the local area as there are a couple of supermarkets near by which are useful.

All in all the hotel is a good base to explore Rome from. Coming back to a swimming pool in the evenings is a very good thing to be able to do and not something you could do in many of the city centre hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u9537503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear u9537503,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s (which is only 4 km far from downtown) following your stay with us in August 2012. I am pleased to note that overall you very much enjoyed your experience with us.

I am concerned to read that you were disappointed with the size of our room that judging by the many glowing reviews on tripadvisor and other sites are considered large and spacious.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location and connections.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

Kind regards
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    1,047
    430
    145
    54
See reviews for
764
933
88
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in August. The hotel is out of rome, but there is a frequent hotel shuttle service. Alternatively you can get the bus from outside the hotel into the centre of rome. Ask at reception, the staff were all super helpful and explained which buses to get and it was easy. The room was large, clean and cool. The pool was a must in August to cool off from the heat. Overall for the price this was good quality accommodation, with fantastic staff and good facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldw34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear geraldw34,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was happy to learn that you liked our hotel for the good value for money, the large and clean room, the pool and that you found the service and overall experience of staying with us a positive one.

I really do hope that when you come back to Rome you will join us once again. I have, as I always do, passed on your really kind words on to my “fantastic and super helpful staff” here.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, Generale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights for a short break prior to our son going to university.
From the outset the staff were very capable and willing. The hotel is a little old but the staff make up for this in every way. In particular the breakfast staff were amazing, always going th extra mile for you and the bar staff outgoing and very friendly.
We had a problem initally with our airconditioning but after reporting it it was very quickly resoved.
A good hotel with a great shuttle service to the city and also opposite a good public bus service
Lovely and quiet, nice gardens and pool.

Will definately return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your lovely feedback and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel with our lovely and quiet atmosphere, nice gardens and pool, great shuttle service, very friendly staff (in particular the breakfast and bar team). I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments! The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
Regarding your comments that you found our hotel “a little old” allow me to put on record that our lobby, bar, reception, relaxing area, restaurant have been completely refurbished in a new, modern, fresh and contemporary style.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Found this hotel a great place to use as a base for exploring Rome. We had a bit of a mix up with the bus picking us up from the airport but this was sorted out quickly by the manager on arrival and travel back to the airport was free of charge, cant understand the people on here moaning about the breakfast there was plenty of choice and it set you up for the day. The hotel is in need of a little bit of modernising but you get what you pay for. The pool is a massive plus, just whats needed after walking round Rome all day. Liked the Bar in the foyer too nice to have a drink before you head out into town could do with a few more staff hepling Valentino though poor bloke was doing everything. All in all a good stay and would stay again.!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balbolski28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Balbolski28 ,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s. I’m glad to know that you found our Hotel an “Excellent choice” and learn your appreciation about our pool, breakfast, bar.

As we mentioned in other reviews all our rooms have been recently renovated and refurbished in a new contemporary style as well as the lobby, bar, reception, relaxing area and restaurant.

I have passed on your kind words on to Valentino and the rest of the great team I have here at the hotel.

I really do hope that you can join us again in the near future.

Kind regards and with renewed thanks.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is my second review of this hotel as I stayed previously over Christmas. Travelling with a family with two children 11 and 13 in over 30 degree heat of summer the excellent outdoor pool facilities made it feel like a real summer holiday rather than just a city break. This is a fantastic oasis set a little away from the heat of the city and a great relief for a tired tourist. The pre-bookable air conditioned airport shuttle was waiting for us on arrival as was the freindly driver (Stefano), who is always happy to give a locals guide and tips of where to go and what to see. The staff are very accomodating and made us freel very welcome as returning guests. Rooms very clean, large and fully equiped with tea & coffee, iron and board, safe, great shower, bath and bday in cool tiled bathroom with good mirrors for gettting ready and travel sized bathroom essentials. Beds huge and a sofabed was put out in the evening and was perfecly adequate. Flat screen tv with the option of paying for extra films and internet, which we didn't take. Free internet access on two terminals in a room off the main foyer also available, handy for checking in flights. We had two adjoining rooms each with a balcony overlooking the pool and hills in the distance. Good for spotting the sunbed availability. Rooms cleaned, towels replaced everyday and any slight issues (safe got stuck shut) were resolved by cheerful, efficient members of staff. They are all clearly well trained as everyone was ready with a smile and a 'buon giorno' from the maids too the manager. The only slight note was that a slight upgrade on decoration in a few areas could be carried out, corridors a bit old fashioned in colour of walls and carpets and chairs on balcony a bit faded,but seriously nothing to lessen the enjoyment of the stay. The breakfast which you can prepay for approximately 14 euros is a fabulous buffet, with the full hot works, fruit, cereals pastries and even a glass of champagne if so required. Again efficient freindly staff and great layout which works if you want to linger or rush off. The evening buffet at 28 euros per head which has the option of a relaxing outdoor seating if you do not want to go into Rome to eat, plus you have the added entertainment from the resident pianist. There is also a bar, which we did not try this time.
The large pool is surrounded by a garden and cooling trees is a real treat, plenty of sunbeds provided, but there are some busy moments when you may need to sit in the grassed area instead. Towels provided by the lifeguard, diving is not allowed so it doesn't get rowdy, but all the same plenty of opportunity for the kids to have some fun or just do lengths in the roped off section. There is also a shallow childrens pool. The days were so hot that the pool was a lifesaver. There is also a fully equiped gym, exersize studio, spa with bookable treatments, indoor pool and a jacuzzi, no children allowed in there. There is a regular shuttle bus to the centre of Rome, now pre-bookable for 1euro and it takes on average 15 minutes depending on traffic. We have been lucky enough to pick quiet times in Rome with this trip coinciding with a large portion of the locals on summer holiday elsewhere to avoid the heat. Rome itself so much to see and really comes to life at night, which is good as it is sooo hot during the day. Totally recomend this hotel whatever your situation, family, business traveller or a few freinds I feel it would accomodate all. Lovely stay and would go there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Linda T,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report after your second visit and happy that we met again your expectation. Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Hotel was ok. Spa was fantastic but restaurant choices were limited and pricey.
Hotel full of ageing Americans! Not very quiet!!!
Room was lovely with a nice balcony and as it was my fiancées birthday we arrived back to our room to find a lovely chilled bottle of Prosecco. Yum!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdunne36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear holidaylover82Bath,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us!

We appreciate you taking the time to bring to our attention your experience with our Hotel and Spa.
Concerning our food and beverage offer in our Restaurant (open from 11 to 22.30), we have a wide selection and options of local and international dishes. A full buffet including starter, pasta, main course, salad, fruit and dessert costs only € 28,00, good value for money and you can eat whatever you desire with no limits (price are comparable with all 4 stars superior Hotel’s) .
Another choice is our pizza and sandwiches menu or our “à la carte menu”. During the evening, in the summer period you can enjoy our “al fresco garden” in which you can try our lovely barbeque, or a lot of fresh proposals from our menu rich of a variety of local and international dishes.

We are very happy to welcome Americans no matter how old they are as we will all go through this stage.

I'm very glad to know that you loved the complimentary bottle of Prosecco delivered in your room for the birthday of your fiancée.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards, Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My daughter,19yr. old grand daughter,12yr. old grandson & myself stayed 5 days from 19th August & found the hotel excellent, from the buffet breakfast to the patio dining area, the food was first class. Reception staff were welcoming & friendly & keen to advise & help when asked for information.My grandson loved the Roy Rogers non alcoholic cocktail form the bar,which was ideal for children. A convenient bus stop outside the hotel made travelling into Rome easy & the reataurant beside the hotel serve a great spaghetti Bolognese. Our room 330 was at the front of the hotel which we preferred & at night the music played by the pianist drifted up & was very soothing after a hot day sight seeing in Rome. As a former craft trainer & assessor with Holiday Inn & the original Forte company in management capacity,I was impressed by the standard of service throughout the departments and the attention to detail, & would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We will stay again & hopefully in Rm.330. Regards Catherine Finnegan nee Fusco.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor room at the front overlooking the drive was what we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear catherine f,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us!
I’m very glad to know that you found our Hotel excellent, with friendly staff and high level of services, good food.
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
I have shared your review with my whole team (including you appreciation for the Roy Rogers prepared from our bar tenders). We are very much grateful for your compliments! The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work. I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.
With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#46 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#116 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing