We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #193 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, decent price”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed here for one night to catch a transfer to a cruise ship. The hotel is not exactly modern, but not bad. If you only need it to catch a transfer than it fits the bill.

It is not located near Rome city center. You have to take a shuttle into the city. So if you expect to just walk around Rome for a day, you have some planning to do. There is really nothng around the hotel to go grab a bite to eat. And the food at the hotel is just adequate.

The rooms are smaller and basicly decorated. The bathrooms are nice. It is relatively quiet. I did enjoy the pool. Very big and had a lap lane.

Bottom line is if you dont care about where you stay and only need it for a night, then it does the job. If you want something long term to enjoy Rome, there are so many better options in the ctiy center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasJD6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear DallasJD6189 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza which is only 4 km far from St. Peter’s Basilica and downtown Rome!

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our big pool.

Concerning the location, allow me to explain that the Hotel offers a regular courtesy bus (1€ per person each way), greatly appreciated from all our guest staying with us. The bus runs on a regular basis to St. Peter's Basilica in the morning and to the heart of the city center (Trastevere or Venice square) in the afternoon and evening. Moreover 2 different public busses are available just at the doorstep of the hotel and in 15 minutes you can discover all the main attractions in the heart of Rome. Taxi rank inside the hotel is also available and fares are reasonable.

Regarding your comments about our 24sqms rooms (larger if you compare to many European Hotels),
allow me to put on record that they have been recently renovated and refurbished in a new contemporary style as well as the lobby, bar, reception, relaxing area and restaurant.

By reading your review we see that you didn’t’ find shops, restaurants (Arturo just at the doorstep of our Hotel) , bars, cafes and supermarket available in a small village 300 meters on our left hand side.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    1,073
    437
    149
    55
See reviews for
797
951
89
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We traveled to Rome August 23-September 2,2012 for our honeymoon and stayed at this hotel. We used priority club points for our stay and were not disappointed. While the hotel is a little outside of the town, they offer a shuttle to the Vatican area 4 or 5 times throughout the day for only 1 euro per person and the same shuttle will also drop you off at city center in the evening for the same price. This saved us a ton on cab fare! There is also a shuttle that's much cheaper to and from the airport as a cab is almost $65 one way! The hotel lobby is nice and there is a nice little bar and a piano player if you want to unwind after a day of walking. The restaurant right next door (Arturo) is WONDERFUL! We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tawnya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear tfcn,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s for your honeymoon in Rome!

We are very glad to know that you would not hesitate to recommend our Hotel to anyone and thank you in advance for your advice and suggestions that will be of great help for future guests.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Myself and 12 friends and family stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my brother's 50th birthday; we chose it because we had stayed here 10 years earlier and it was very good then. It is excellent now! The rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable; breakfast is fabulous and sets you up for the day. The staff are helpful and patient. They operate a great shuttle service in and out of town and it's only 10 minutes anyway.
The cocktail bar and staff were spot-on and flexible to constant changes (13 people - it's like herding cats)!
Marvellous - a good weekend made even better, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Stuart W,

Thank you for your wonderful review and to have chosen again our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our rooms, breakfast, staff, shuttle service and learn that after 10 years you have found our hotel excellent and of course better, thanks to our refurbishment and renovation.

I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lofthus, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Lovely surroundings around this hotel which is about 15 minutes from the Vatican City and St. Peter's. A shuttle bus is provided at different times during the day to 2 different drop off points which make up for the distance. I was in Rome for 2 days and even though this hotel was great, with a pool, an ATM and a great restaurant with an excellent tasting menu that has to be tried, I think this hotel is better suited for those that have more than a couple of days to explore Rome. Breakfast was great with a lovely selection. I would definitely stay here again, as it's an excellent hotel with friendly staff and all the facilities needed.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room with 2 double beds. The room was small to be a superior room, however very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Christine F,

Thank you for your great review of Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s! I am delighted to read such a lovely report about our staff, facilities and services.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location and connections. It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed for 10 days to celebrate my "landmark" birthday.This is an excellent hotel in an ideal location to visit all the popular sights, as we wanted to go somewhere we had not been before & had fancied going to Rome a while!
Staff are all very, very helpful & courteous, especially at breakfast, which can be a very busy time of day-we were always greeted with a smile & a friendly welcome in the mornings no matter what the time & how busy they were.The breakfast menu caters for all tastes & we were advised what was available to us on arrival.We arrived early for our check in & even though it was very busy we were allowed into our room earlier that the stated 3pm check in time.On day 3 our air conditioning broke down & we were allocated a new room overnight within 40 minutes with the option to return to our own room(which had a pool view) or stay in the new room-we returned to our original room.The staff profusely apologised for the inconvience caused-but the inconvenience to us was only minimal.We found the hotel coach very convenient just not for late night returns so we used the taxis to get back as the last coach returns at 9.30pm to the hotel.Just be aware that there is a lot of overcharging going on with the taxi drivers though-I expect what you would encounter in any busy capital.We will definitely be staying again at this hotel & would recommend it highly to anyone.
Thanks to all the staff for making my "special" birthday one to remember!!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room as many of the rooms do overlook the car park & as the pool closes fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debs_gu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear debs_gu,

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent experience of the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s. It's an unusual situation for us to receive a review from a guest who has spent such a long period with us.

We genuinely try and make our guests' stays with us as personal and memorable as possible. We are truly glad that you have enjoyed the pool, breakfast, staff and facilities.

We regret for the inconvenience on day 3 with air conditioning and we are happy to learn that our staff was able to fix it by allowing you to enjoy the rest of your stay.

We hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

It is rare that one can visit the same hotel three times and still feel that each visit is better than the last, but it is most definitely the case with The Crowne Plaza. As a family we decided to go back to the Crown Plaza having had such great stays last summer and again at Christmas. It is the ideal hotel for a family wishing to take in the sights but also wanting a summer break by the pool. The staff are so friendly and helpful that you look can forward to seeing them again as much as this fabulous hotel. Do have the breakfast, it will keep you going all day until dinner that is great both at the hotel or via a short trip by the hotel shuttle into Rome, where in Trastevere you will not be disappointed by the choice of restaurants. Our thanks to all of the staff that once again made our stay so very special.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Robert D,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen again our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

We are very glad to know that your third visit was even better and that we met your expectations.

I have shared your comment with my whole team as you have mentioned their wonderful service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

With Kind regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were welcomed warmly at our arrival and everyone was very polite from the minute we arrived.
Our room was very comfortable and modern (except the bathroom, which was a bit 90s); we had teas and coffee facilities and also an ironing board in our room.
We very happy to find a pool and a very relaxing SPA which was free to use for customers.
Breakfast was also very satisfactory and filling.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfujica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear mfujica,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay!

We are very glad to know that you had a “perfect stay in Rome” at the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s, and learn your appreciation about our staff, comfortable and modern room, breakfast, pool & spa.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#50 of 1,258 in Rome
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#93 of 1,258 in Rome
1,190 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#113 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing