We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too far away, not well taken care of” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #205 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“too far away, not well taken care of”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I was in this hotel because of a conference that was taking place there. I would not have been at this hotel otherwise. Very far from public transportation (more than 20 min walk to metro), and the hotel only provides a 3 shuttles a day to the Vatican, and 3 closer to the town center. They only run their airport shuttles until 5 pm.
The rooms were very stuffy (I'm usually not sensitive to allergens), our heat was blasting, and it took two days and multiple calls until someone finally fixed it well (there were wires popping out from the thermostat). The pool was ok, but there was a huge group of ants by the whirpool.
Staff was not very friendly and/or efficient. It took more than 20 mins to check in, and check out.
If you're going to Rome to see the city, do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear trini15,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are sorry to read your disappointment and experience about our staff, that judging by the feedback of other participants during the conference last week and glowing reviews on Tripadvisor is always very helpful, efficient and friendly.

Regarding the location, allow me to put on record that getting to the tourist part of Rome is very easy with the hotel’s shuttle bus (1,5€ per person each way), greatly appreciated from all our guest staying with us. The bus runs on a regular basis to St. Peter's Basilica in the morning and to the heart of the city center (Trastevere or Venice square) in the afternoon and evening. Moreover 2 different public busses are available just at the doorstep of the hotel (only at 1,5 euro cost to reach downtown which is only 5 km far from our Hotel), or reach the nearest metro station and in 20 minutes discover all the main attractions in the heart of Rome. This is the cheapest way to explore Rome. Taxi rank inside the hotel is also available but and fares are reasonable.

We regret for the problems encountered with the room and whirlpool. We have discussed the points you have raised with our Chief Engineering and Housekeeping and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future.

We very much hope that we can yet encourage you to stay with us again so we can put your above concerns to rest.

Kind regards. Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    1,017
    426
    144
    51
See reviews for
743
907
86
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel staff very helpful before and during our stay. We were given an upgrade to a superior room and advice on restaurants. Bar staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and well stocked. Taxi costs around €8-€10 to town. The location is a little out of town, around 15 minutes by taxi. We would happily stay again but the location doesn't lend itself to exploring by foot so be prepared to use the shuttle bus or taxis (there is a taxi rank on site which is excellent)beds are very comfortable, excellent nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for reviewing The Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

I am very happy to learn that you found our hotel nice with friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast.

I have shared your comments with my whole team as you have mentioned their great level of service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

First time in Roma on the occasion of our annual gathering with friends.
I have not tried all the services provided by the Hotel due to the purpose of my trip.
However, I should say that the breakfast was excellent according to the International standards in this category of hotel. Very good quality also of the beds.
I have experiences their shuttle to Airport and I consider a 14€ fee is very reasonnable compared to the cost of a Taxi
I have also enjoyed the quality of the food during a cocktail served in one of their function rooms.
In addition to this, I should mention that the Wi-Fi is too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacouletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Jacouletti,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your lovely feedback following your recent stay.

We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our services, excellent breakfast, quality of food.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

The Crowne is a reasonably priced and located hotel…if you’re willing to pay a little less and negotiate getting downtown on your own. We were traveling for leisure and stayed there for four nights in December.

STAFF: The staff were reasonably friendly, though none went out of their way to really help. Often, the desk was really crowded with guests checking in, so it was difficult to get the attention of the front desk staff to ask for minor things, like maps, guidebooks, bus schedule, etc….things that should have just been out on a counter for easy pickup anyway. The staff really didn’t try to assist you in understanding the bus schedule or how to get around, we had to navigate this all ourselves.

BREAKFAST: We had a room rate that included the breakfast, which was a good deal…I suppose. I certainly wouldn’t recommend paying for it at the hotel, it wasn’t worth the 18 euro asking price. The breakfast certainly isn’t anything to write home about, but it did include a range of standard breakfast fare. The dining room could use an update.

LOCATION: As others have written, this hotel is NOT located near St. Peters Square, so the name is misleading. But, if you just Google the location, its easy to see that the hotel is a fair distance from Rome attractions. Upon missing the bus one day, which we didn’t know about because we weren’t given a bus schedule upon arrival, we tried to walk the distance to St. Peters. We would NOT recommend this. The roads to St. Peters leading from the hotel have no sidewalks, so the walk was really treacherous. Cars were driving fast and there were blind corners to go around. The discounted bus that the hotel offers doesn’t go around the clock, so if you miss it, you’re either waiting for quite a while until the next one or having to figure out how to get to the attractions. The hotel is in (safe) walking distance to the subway system, which we would definitely recommend. The system is clean, safe, runs efficiently….

WIRELESS: The wireless is ridiculously expensive. Your room is allotted one free half hour (not per day, either). Otherwise, a 12-hour wireless code is 20 euros, if I’m remembering correctly. There is no reason for wireless to be that expensive. There were two computers in the lobby for guest use, but those were never free during the time we were there. Of course, when in Rome, you’re not really expecting to stay in your room checking email/internet sites, but the wireless just should not be that expensive for guests. Finally, the beds were really comfortable, the grounds of the hotel are really nice, but the bathroom could use an update, especially the showers and the sinks.

I don’t know that we’d stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear jolotraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are sorry to read your disappointment regarding our location, but on the other hand we are happy to learn that overall you were satisfied with your stay.

Concerning the location, allow me to explain that the Hotel offers a regular courtesy bus (1,5 € per person each way), greatly appreciated from all our guest staying with us. The bus runs on a regular basis to St. Peter's Basilica in the morning and to the heart of the city center (Trastevere or Venice square) in the afternoon and evening. Moreover 2 different public buses are available just at the doorstep of the hotel (only at 1,5 euro cost to reach downtown which is only 5 km far from our Hotel), or reach the nearest metro station and in 20 minutes discover all the main attractions in the heart of Rome. This is the cheapest way to explore Rome. Taxi rank inside the hotel is also available with reasonable fares. You have many options available from early in the morning until late in the night.

Regarding WI-Fi we wish to put on record that we offer 30 minutes free internet access in our Bar (Drink and Surf) and that 4 pc are available in our business corner.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Kind Regards. Davide Grilli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gahanna, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

First time in Rome my hotel stunk. This time around we really picked a nice one. It did cost 45.00us to get there but that is normal for the taxis from airport to hotel. It is a large property with a beautiful pool area/restaurant. The rooms will fit four, which is really nice for US people with kids who are used to that. About an 8 to 10 Euro taxi ride past the Vatican to where you can walk around Rome. Very well placed. The staff were very pleasant, although we didn't need much because it was easy to figure out and had no problems to discuss. We had a beautiful patio area attached to our room and enjoyed sitting out at night.They had a beautiful outdoor restaurant area which you should get reservations for.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dar Barbara E,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

We are very glad to know that we met your expectation and that you loved our property, pool area/restaurant, rooms, staff.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Best regards, Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Excellent hotel. Not altogether central-as it is a bit of a walk-but bus access is available.
Absolutely no problems at all.
Positives:
Good beds
Pillow choice
Hairdryer
Tea/coffee facilities
Fridge
Safe
Iron facilities

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Belinda R,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s for your stay in Rome.

We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our excellent hotel with good beds, pillow choice and all the facilities provided.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter's.

Best regards. Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Hotel was quite nice and comfortable. The location is quiet and a bit outside the main city center but hotel runs shuttle service to the city centre and also to the airport. In addition one can always find cabs outside the hotel. I was a bit surprised that even internet is not free with the room. Overall I had 3 nights comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjara181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Banjara181,

Thank you for your review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s!

We are delighted to read that you found our Hotel an excellent place to stay and that overall we met your expectation.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

Best regards.
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#111 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#116 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#244 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing