We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Á sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #207 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Á sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

Nine days/eight nights in this hotel in Rome: we loved every minute of it!
Situated outside the noisy, busy and smelly center of the city: to wake up by the sound of singing birds early morning: a blessing!
Sufficient parking space for our (rented) car, a most convenient shuttlebus on the premises, different buses going both directions right outside the hotel driveway and always taxi's available, by simply pushing a button or asking one of the staff: what else does one wish for.
Room was excellent, spacious, with a sofa and 2 chairs arranged round a coffeetable, bed was hughe and excellent, bathroom contained everything one needs, closets with big mirrors: more than sufficient to store clothes for such a long period as we stayed. Lovely balcony with bench and stool.
Staff very friendly, including Housekeeping: every request was immediately fullfilled.
Should we ever return to Rome, we will definately consider this hotel and we can recommend it highly.
Some advices: take the 2 bottles of complimentary water and fill them up at one of the many small taps in the city: pure, clear, cold drinking water with excellent taste!
A wonderful place to eat: Ristorante Arturo, rightside outside the hotel driveway.
Two fantastic trips we made: Tivoli (full day, 3 Villa's + gardens)
and Ostia Antica (half day): get to know ancient Rome.

Helpful?
2 Thank MLaibowitzNoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    1,030
    429
    145
    53
See reviews for
753
916
86
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

I spent 3 nignts in this hotel recently on a recent business trip. I am a frequent traveller to Rome and on many occasions I have stayed in hotels that somehow did not live up to my expectations. As I reluctantly regurgitated my creditcard number over the phone when booking, I thought, well..another Crowne Plaza. However, I was pleasantly suprised. The room was nice, the bed.. ah the bed was marvellous ( I tried to look for the mattress brand in case I can find a similar one at home), the bathroom was clean, and above all there was a balcony complete with a terrace overlooking the tennis court. The room was spacious and careful thoughts were given to the need of a traveller. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were more than willing to help with directions and timetables for public transport.

The restaurant were expensive and not good value for money. The service was slow and slightly frosty. However, an excellent restaurant was literally next door. It served wonderful food, the staff was friendly and the service was excellent. Although the hotel is far from the city centre, the transport link was good. There is a reliable hotel shuttle service to city centre but for those who love adventures and are willing to practice speaking in Italian, the bus stop is right ouside the hotel and there is a frequent service to the metro station, Cornelia for line A metro that takes you directly to city centre including Spagna for shopping.

It was an enjoyable hotel stay in Rome and I have to admit, I was not expecting it.

  • Liked — The room with balcony
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lara021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

Stayed here two nights in Septemeber 2008.

Room and bathroom was great. Large and light with ascces to a balcony with a table and chairs.
Only bad thing was the smell - remember to ask for a non-smoking room if you do not smoke.

Fitness area is good and the indoor pool seemed nice even though I didn't use it.
Outdoor pool area seemed nice but didn't have time to use it.

Roomservice pretty pricy and not very good (not the club sandwich anyway). Same impression of the restaurant.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Location is ok for business in town but not very good if you are a tourist. No matter if you are there for the Vatican, Colossuem etc. you can find something closer. It is too fare from the centre.

All in all great hotel but less great location.

  • Liked — Standard of the room
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MadsCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

we started our holiday in Italy with a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous and the location was not a problem as we took the complimentary shuttle bus into Rome centre with great ease.


We enjoyed the spa facilities - excellent facial and massage.


A highlight of the hotel was the free tapas served with bar drinks - most excellent!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank RiversideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

We stayed here on our first night with a bus tour, leaving next day for So. Italy. Excellent hotel as far as cleanliness, size of room, amenities, bathroom, etc. However, as many other reviewers have said, it was not an easy walk to sights. We thought we could walk to the Castle St. Angelo, but didn't get far and realized we were uncomfortable on the tiny sidewalk/pathway vs. close-to-us traffic.

We know they had a free shuttle to the town centre, but it did not drop people close to our destination. We would have ventured out, but had dinner appointment time with the tour, so not enough time when we didn't know where we were going or how much time was needed. When we left on our tour bus for dinner, we saw how far it was to the Castle and realized we could never have walked it.....not only the distance, but the way to get there.

However, another couple of the tour took the free shuttle into Rome and said it was a 20 min. walk from there to the Castle, so if we had another day in Rome, we would have done so.

This is a perfect hotel for a stopover or a "just staying for the night til our tour leaves." We would have liked to stayed another day, as we would have taken advantage of the free shuttle and gone into the historic area. We would opt for this very good hotel, with large room at that location, vs. staying close to sights and not having such a good room and amenities, especially since the hotel offered free shuttle into historic area. This was the only hotel on our tour that had tea kettle & coffee maker in our room.

We did not eat at the hotel's restaurant, but several people on our tour did -- said the food was excellent and one man raved about a chocolate dessert.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

I loved everything about this hotel. The location is no problem because their complimentary shuttle bus service into Rome is excellent. And the city bus, which stops near the driveway of the hotel, goes to the Vatican. We also took the complimentary shuttle bus service (departs at 0715) to the airport (FCO) which drops you off outside of Terminal C. We then took the airport shuttle over to T-5 where the check in is for American carriers and El Al.

The hotel rooms are fantastic. The beds are fabulous. The bathroom is large. There is a safe that is probably big enough to put most laptops in. There's also a tea kettle with tea and coffee available. And a mini bar which also has space in case you need to put something in it. Our room overlooked the pool area, and we had no problem with noise. The balcony was wonderful, too. There is a flat screen TV with 4 or 5 English channels.

Every hotel employee I talked to was very helpful and polite. We were able to check in a few hours early, which was great after a transatlantic flight. There is a business center available, but it costs 5 Euros for one hour of internet use.

We had dessert and coffee in the restaurant one evening. Not worth it at all. Expensive and bland.

The restaurant near the bus stop (turn right at the end of the hotel's driveway) was great. Very reasonable prices, and the service was excellent. Our waiter was a charmer.

I would not hesitate to stay here again when I visit Rome. I thought the location would be a drawback, but it wasn't at all.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms and complimentary shuttle service into Rome and the airport
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MoeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

Just got back from 3days at this hotel.
well first for the good points the hotel bed room was clean and there is a small balcony and a huge comfy bed.
The hotel shuttel bus is free and takes you into the centre of Rome and drops you off and picks you up later.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and there was plenty of sunloungers to choose from to sit down at which is rare with most city hotels.
The bad was the hotel shuttel bus has an option of 5.30pm bus or a 7.45pm but nothing inbetween so its either eat really early or really late so we would go early and have a few drinks first in a bar.
The prices at the pool were ridicolous 8euros for a coke and a water which would be appropriate if you were at a 5star hotel in Rome overlooking the vatican but this was an out of town hotel with rather shabby halls as they were decorating and I herd lots of guests complaining of overpriced restaraunt with terrible food so we gave the restaraunt a miss.
We did have room service one night of a club sandwich which was ok but you cant really go wrong with a club sandwich.
There is a shuttle to the airport but not to Campiono airport so its 40euros in a taxi but if you use the hotel taxi service its 65 ruro !!
This hotel was ok but to be honest if went back would stay in city only as if you get in at say 11am you either stay out all day and get back at 9pm feelung hot ,dirty and tired or you have the hassel of bus in and out again ect at least if you are in town you can go back shower change and go out later.

  • Liked — The pool had lots of sunloungers and the free shuttle bus
  • Disliked — needed more times for shuttle
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinkgizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#110 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#119 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing