We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome to beautiful Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #193 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great welcome to beautiful Rome”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We used this as a base to stay before a cruise. Very welcoming and efficient check in and we were able to get in to our room early which was really appreciated. Lovely quiet room and all of the facilities that you would expect from a Crowne Plaza. The grounds were lovely with a tempting swimming pool and beautiful gardens. Unfortunately we were on a tight schedule and the delights of Rome were calling! We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was fine.We were given a large table for all cruise guests to share which was a bit odd. There are plenty of taxis to take you the Vatican area which cost about 12 Euros each way.The Castelle de Sant Angelo is our favourite part of Rome so that was our first stop. It is truely stunning and well worth a visit. The Celebrity Staff were also on hand to sort out any glitches. A very good start to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Dorvic,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted to hear that we met your expectations and learn your appreciation about our welcome, room, facilities.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

With kind regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    1,062
    432
    147
    55
See reviews for
777
942
89
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights during recent trip to Rome. about 20 - 25 minutes to the airport, same to train station, and 10 to 20 euro cab ride to any of the attractions. Cabs were always available, no waits. Rooms were clean, beds were a bit on the firm side, pillows were fine. AC fan was actually pretty quiet (unlike a lot in the US). Had so so salads from the restaurant, but the breakfast buffet looked ok. Early check in honored for members with status. My only suggestion would be to put (back) in a soda machine. There is no where to go for a soda, and those at the bar / restaurant are 4-5 euros. Overall, a good hotel, would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear SydH,

Thank you for your lovely review and to have chosen our Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s.

As Ihg Rewards Club member you are of extreme importance to us.

We are very glad to learn that you loved the location, comfort and cleanliness of the room, service and recognition. With our fantastic IHG rewards Club Programme, we deliver personalized benefits making each of our guests feel valued and recognized for their success when travelling.

We have noted and shared your comments about the salads and soda.

Enjoying our food and beverage offer whilst staying at the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s is very much part of the overall experience so we will continue to work hard.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.

With Best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1,175 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 684 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a really good hotel in a nice convenient area of Rome. The access to the city centre is great and its also a great place to move away either to the Airport or to the place around the outskirts of the city.

The product that they offer its very strong. The quality of the rooms its great and the atmosphere around the hotel is also amazing with lots of green areas in a closing distance to Villa Pamphili Park. Its a perfect place to relax after a long walking day in Rome.

The breakfast its very good with lots of choices, fresh food and a big space with a pool view. The hostess of the breakfast room was by far the best I saw in a hotel. Well educated, managing several languages and engaging in proper conversation with all the guest. A true valuable asset of the hotel.

The only shortfall was the internet and the shuttle. Having to pay for both things in a hotel of this tenure its kind of ridiculous (specially the shuttle). The internet I would understand to collect it in the room but not in the public places but the shuttle to the city its a transportation must specially in a area where moving around its not that easy for foreigners. The charge its just nominal (just a few euros) but still its looks that they are trying to collect from you in every chance they have.

Still I think its a really good hotel and its located in a nice area. For people that prefer big hotels instead of a city family hotel this is your choice. The money spent would be the same. Just beware of the extras.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMartinSDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear RMartinSDXB,

Thank you very much for your review and to have chosen the Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter’s.

I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, location, quality of the rooms, good breakfast with great staff (especially the hostess).

As you mentioned our hotel is an oasis of peace where to recharge after a long day in the crowded and bustling city Centre. We are an urban resort featuring facilities that of course you won’t be able to find in a more central location such as gardens, 25m length swimming pool, pool bar, Spa, tennis courts, large comfortable bedrooms and extensive free parking facilities.

We are sorry to read your disappointment about free internet service. Allow me to put on
record that we provide 30 minutes Wi-Fi free in our business center and by the bar with our “surf and drink offer” that includes 30 minutes Wi-Fi free. We offer free Wi-Fi to our Elite members and starting from July 2014 we will be more than happy to include this benefit even for the club level, it means everyone join Ihg Rewards Club (easy and no costs).

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and I hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Wit best regards,
Davide Grilli – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night pre-cruise on 1 June 2014, paying with reward points, and were allocated room 565. This is a big room, high ceiling, king size bed, with a sofa and two chairs. Although our standard request is non-smoking, this seems to be a smoking room, as there was a faint smell of tobacco, and two ashtrays. It is worth noting that the lifts are on the other side of the wall to the bed, so you can hear the lifts operating. So, if you like a big room with a comfy bed, and you don't mind the smell of tobacco or the noise of the lifts, then this is the room for you. We were too tired to bother moving rooms.

Staff friendly and helpful as usual. Great spread for breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear dalek49,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!

We are very happy that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s to redeem your points, earned with our fantastic IHG Rewards Club free to our guests.

We are sorry that it was impossible to allocate you a non-smoking rooms during your stay.

Regarding your comments about the smell of tobacco rest assured that we have discussed the points you have raised with our Room division Manager and Housekeeping. We know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and we are confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services and they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future.

As Ihg Rewards Club member you are of extreme importance to us.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

Wit Best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
354 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is my third trip to Rome and I will stay again. I like the Rome Metro and this hotel is within easy walking distance (15 min). We had a great time. In fact there are some interesting gelato and restaurants within walking distance again around 15 min. If you go to Rome be prepared to walk, take a cab/metro or all the above. It is great to take the metro to a particular area and then walk and see the sights. The hotel's rooms were spacious, loved the pool and spa, staff was excellent. Very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear almenj,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted to hear that we met your expectations and learn your appreciation about our Hotel, location, spacious of the room, excellent staff.

Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

With kind regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to our cruise, and the cruise line chose the hotel. Here are the pros: the grounds are absolutely gorgeous, the breakfast buffet was great, the staff were friendly and at attentative, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Here are the cons: the hotel is not within walking distance of anything, and you have to pay for wifi, they do not provide conditioner (I think this is standard in Rome, not sure about Europe or Italy as a whole).

They have a shuttle bus that you can take in to town for 1.50 Euro round trip, which took about 10-15 minutes to the drop off point near city center. If you are staying overnight and not planning to do any sightseeing this would be a good place to stay, if you want to walk the city, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSPBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear VSPBI,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay prior to your cruise.

We are glad to know that you found our Hotel clean with beautiful grounds, great buffet breakfast, comfort, of with very friendly staff, spacious and clean room, outstanding breakfast.
Regarding the location, as you mentioned, the Hotel offers a regular courtesy bus (1,50€ one way, 3€ return), greatly appreciated from all our guest staying with us. The bus runs on a regular basis to St. Peter's Basilica in the morning (9-10-11-12) and to the heart of the city center (Trastevere) in the afternoon (16-17-19-20-21) and evening. Moreover 2 different public busses are available just at the doorstep of the hotel to reach downtown which is only 3 km far from our Hotel), or reach the nearest metro station and in 20 minutes discover all the main attractions in the heart of Rome. In addition Taxis are always readily available (taxi stand on site in our car park) and cost only 12 euros to get in to the city center.

The Crowne Plaza Rome-St. Peter’s is an urban resort featuring facilities that of course you won’t be able to find in a more central location such as gardens, 25m length swimming pool (also kids pool available), pool bar, Spa, tennis courts, large comfortable bedrooms and extensive free parking facilities.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peters again in the future.

With best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, SC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here for a short vacation. Staff is very nice and helpful! Shuttle service is excellent and inexpensive. Food is good, room was comfortable and clean. Shuttle service to and from airport is inexpensive and so is their bus shuttle to two popular drop off sites for walking about the city. What made our stay enjoyable was the friendliness of the hotel staff. They were excellent! I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gaterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grillid, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Gaterp,

Thank you for sharing your experience and to have chosen the Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter’s.

We are glad to learn you appreciation about our nice hotel, location, shuttle service, wonderful staff.

I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza St. Peter’s on your next visit to Rome!

With best regards,
Davide Grilli, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#51 of 1,256 in Rome
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#30 of 1,256 in Rome
1,861 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#133 of 1,256 in Rome
2,048 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#115 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing