We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - loved the shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #193 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel - loved the shuttle”
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Whilst this hotel is a little out the centre of Rome it really doesn't matter as the free hotel shuttle (10 - 15 mins journey) frequenlty drops off and picks up in the centre of Rome from 9am - 11 pm.

If arriving via the Termini , then you are best to get a taxi to the hotel (around 25 euro)- although if you can find out the time the hotel shuttle picks up in Rome centre you may be able to co-inside your journey with it.

Breakfast is great - lots of variety and all the staff were very nice and helpful.

Champagne and oysters in the hotel bar before you set out for the night makes it special - although prices are as usual v high.

If you want somewhere outside the hustle of Rome this is the place - the room was v pleasant with a modern tv, big bed etc - though the bathroom was very small. Its not a romantic hotel but definately would give it a 4 star.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank William040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    1,073
    437
    149
    55
See reviews for
797
951
89
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Just returned from 4 nights stay. Staff wonderful, rooms very comfortable (& clean), great towels, extremely convenient for public transit buses. Very large hotel with many tours, conventions, banquets etc. Hotel food good - as long as you don't order American food! Shuttle bus also very convenient.

  • Liked — THE POOL!
  • Disliked — CAN'T THINK OF ANYTHING
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHADDACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I stayed in this hotel in June this year. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Although the location was pretty out from Rome, there was a free coach into city during the day. There are a few restraunts within walking distance, but not much choice. I am going to Rome this month, but staying closer to the city.

I would recommend this hotel if you are not planning to spend evenings in Rome (unless you are willing to pay for taxis) as the free coach is quite limited, it only runs about 5 times a day.

I didnt use the leisure facilities, although the pool looked very clean and inviting.

Nice spacious room with Balcony, ice machines in corridor
Overall a good clean hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, spacious roome
  • Disliked — Location - although not a major thing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michelleitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Nine days/eight nights in this hotel in Rome: we loved every minute of it!
Situated outside the noisy, busy and smelly center of the city: to wake up by the sound of singing birds early morning: a blessing!
Sufficient parking space for our (rented) car, a most convenient shuttlebus on the premises, different buses going both directions right outside the hotel driveway and always taxi's available, by simply pushing a button or asking one of the staff: what else does one wish for.
Room was excellent, spacious, with a sofa and 2 chairs arranged round a coffeetable, bed was hughe and excellent, bathroom contained everything one needs, closets with big mirrors: more than sufficient to store clothes for such a long period as we stayed. Lovely balcony with bench and stool.
Staff very friendly, including Housekeeping: every request was immediately fullfilled.
Should we ever return to Rome, we will definately consider this hotel and we can recommend it highly.
Some advices: take the 2 bottles of complimentary water and fill them up at one of the many small taps in the city: pure, clear, cold drinking water with excellent taste!
A wonderful place to eat: Ristorante Arturo, rightside outside the hotel driveway.
Two fantastic trips we made: Tivoli (full day, 3 Villa's + gardens)
and Ostia Antica (half day): get to know ancient Rome.

Helpful?
2 Thank MLaibowitzNoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2008

I spent 3 nignts in this hotel recently on a recent business trip. I am a frequent traveller to Rome and on many occasions I have stayed in hotels that somehow did not live up to my expectations. As I reluctantly regurgitated my creditcard number over the phone when booking, I thought, well..another Crowne Plaza. However, I was pleasantly suprised. The room was nice, the bed.. ah the bed was marvellous ( I tried to look for the mattress brand in case I can find a similar one at home), the bathroom was clean, and above all there was a balcony complete with a terrace overlooking the tennis court. The room was spacious and careful thoughts were given to the need of a traveller. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were more than willing to help with directions and timetables for public transport.

The restaurant were expensive and not good value for money. The service was slow and slightly frosty. However, an excellent restaurant was literally next door. It served wonderful food, the staff was friendly and the service was excellent. Although the hotel is far from the city centre, the transport link was good. There is a reliable hotel shuttle service to city centre but for those who love adventures and are willing to practice speaking in Italian, the bus stop is right ouside the hotel and there is a frequent service to the metro station, Cornelia for line A metro that takes you directly to city centre including Spagna for shopping.

It was an enjoyable hotel stay in Rome and I have to admit, I was not expecting it.

  • Liked — The room with balcony
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lara021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Stayed here two nights in Septemeber 2008.

Room and bathroom was great. Large and light with ascces to a balcony with a table and chairs.
Only bad thing was the smell - remember to ask for a non-smoking room if you do not smoke.

Fitness area is good and the indoor pool seemed nice even though I didn't use it.
Outdoor pool area seemed nice but didn't have time to use it.

Roomservice pretty pricy and not very good (not the club sandwich anyway). Same impression of the restaurant.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Location is ok for business in town but not very good if you are a tourist. No matter if you are there for the Vatican, Colossuem etc. you can find something closer. It is too fare from the centre.

All in all great hotel but less great location.

  • Liked — Standard of the room
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MadsCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

we started our holiday in Italy with a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous and the location was not a problem as we took the complimentary shuttle bus into Rome centre with great ease.


We enjoyed the spa facilities - excellent facial and massage.


A highlight of the hotel was the free tapas served with bar drinks - most excellent!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank RiversideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#50 of 1,258 in Rome
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#93 of 1,258 in Rome
1,190 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,258 in Rome
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#113 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing