We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #209 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

This is a wonderful hotel that really treats its guests well. We arrived early from our flight knowing we would not have a room yet but they accomodated us, gave us a bus schedule into town, explained everything and put up with our fundamental Italian! Very helpful and even arranged a tour for us when ours was canceled unexpectedly. Due to our long flight and long day around Rome, we decided on an early dinner and ate at the hotel. It was really good. The waiter was excellent and funny, explaining how his "mother" cooked our meal just for him, etc. Spent a great night there before our cruise. I would definately go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljeanw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    1,030
    429
    145
    53
See reviews for
753
915
86
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

just back from st peters crown plaza rome to day . No were near st peters square. The breakfast was terrible. The staff was no help at all.It was so on child friendly they would not let my daughter at 11 year old in the in door swimming pool. The drink and food was so over price and did not taste very good. No way i would give it a 4 star hotel more like 2 or 3. clare from Ireland

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — to far from city
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank salon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

This is an American style hotel transplanted to Rome.

Our room was not ready when we arrived.

The hotel was under construction. At one point we had to wade through construction debris. This was not noted on the hotel website nor were we told about it when we checked in.

The value of movies and internet for a set price was good.

The service in the restaurant can best be described as snooty. The food....transplanted Italian food in America. We had the buffet one night in the restaurant and then were told the kitchen did not want to make any more of the items that they were out of.

The same restaurant, at lunch, served a partially frozen pizza. Coundn't believe it.

At breakfast the snooty counter person got his guests out of order and then demanded we sit with other customers.

The only reason I would return is for the hotel points and the pool for cooling off in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Crowne Plaza Rome/St. Peter's. Although this hotel not near the city center, there is a bus stop right outside of the entrance where several buses run daily every 10-15 minutes. The bus system is much better than the metro/subway in Rome b/c right now the metro only has two lines. Take the bus, it will get you wherever you need to go.

The hotel had everything that that we needed in terms of modern amenities. We enjoyed our private balcony. Be advised; wifi/internet is NOT free. We paid 25euros for every 72 hours of service. That was my only disappointment with this hotel.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. We arrived about 4 hours before check-in and our room was ready with no problems. Front desk staff spoke several languages.

The hotel also has a free shuttle service that runs about once an hour until 10p. The shuttle drops you off near Piazza Venezia which is convenient and safe.

Pool/spa facilities were beautiful! Yes, you do have to wear a shower cap. Bring your own flip flops and save yourself the 4euros that you'll be charged for a pair of their 'slippers.'

This hotel is not really within walking distance to any attractions or restaurants. I supposed you could walk, but there are no sidewalks in places and the road is curvy so it would be dangerous. There is one restaurant right next to the hotel but it is opened only limited hours.

By bus, it took about 10 minutes to get to the Vatican daily; and 15 to get to Rome city center.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Quality of the room/ammenities, accommodating staff
  • Disliked — cost of wifi
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

Just returned from four day stay between Christmas and New Year's. Concur with most other reviews with following updates. Yes, hotel is near nothing (St. Peter's Basilica in not within walking distance), but free shuttle bus is pretty good deal. However - the bus holds 33 and is first come first served. Being near the front of the line means little - doors open and its every man for himself. We were three for three, but saw about four or five turned away each day when no seats were left (no standing allowed). Bus departs at 8:45, 10:15, 11:30, 3:00, 4:15, 5:30, 7:45, 9:00, and 10:00. Returns from downtown are 9:15, 10:35, 11:50, 3:15, 4:30, 5:45, 8:10, 9:15, and 10:15. Downtown drop is at Via delie Botteghe Oscure 23, in front of Museum Nazionale Romano Crypt Balbi, a few blocks from Piazza Campidogglio, and a 10 minute walk to the Pantheon in another. We also took the number 881 or 98 bus from directly in front of the hotel to the Cornelia metro, and trained it in from there very easily. Cost is 1 Euro for the bus/train combo for up to 75 minutes. Walked to the metro once (20+ minutes) and to several local restaurants. I don't recommend it with small children - other reviewers were correct that there are small to no sidewalks in most directions from the hotel and I kept nervous watch on my 10 year old as buses and cars whizzed by. We ate at three restaurants near the hotel and enjoyed them all; Arturo's right at the hotel driveway, Birbante, about 10 minutes walk at Via di Bravetta 8/10 [--], and our favorite, a family run place about five minutes beyond Birbante, called al Giardino d'Abruzzo, Via Del Fontanile Arenato 77 ([--]. Dinner for two adults and a child, with a bottle of wine, appetizers, and desserts, ran about 50 EUR at each place. Our rate at the hotel included full breakfast. Decent spread - no omellete chef. Eggs alternated hard or runny. Little bit of everything and no one should go hungry. My standard coke with breakfast was extra - EUR 6.50 one day and EUR 4 the next. I brought my own the next two days and no one complained. Had to bring them from a grocer though. Hotel will sell tokens at the front desk for the one or two coke machines on every floor, and I hit them all only to find that none of them worked. The hotel staff was concerned not at all, and refunded my money but took no action over four days to restock the machines. Room was hot - thermostat and fan blew out hot air at a constant rate only. Desk's recommendation was to open the balcony door to mitigate heat, which we did. Room was otherwise fine (mini-bar, hot water pot and instant coffee, no microwave). Was supposed to get a daily paper as a Priority Club member but that never happened. Late check out of 2pm though worked fine. We arrived from Termini Stazione by cab 25 EUR fare and an excessive and bogus baggage charge I was too tired to fight. We departed via cab to Stazione Trastavere (15 EUR and no baggage charge) and light rail to Fiumicino (EUR 5.50 per person) all in less than an hour. Beat the 70 EUR charge for a hotel shuttle to FCO. All in all I think being out of the downtown area, staying in a familiar brand name hotel, and shuttling in worked best for me. I was uncomfortable with attempts to reserve hotels in Rome through resellers who offered rooms that were never available on hotels' web sites, and reserving a Crowne Plaza room through the Holiday Inn web site delivered no surprises.

  • Liked — Predictable
  • Disliked — Plain and slightly overpriced.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank supplyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

We arrive in the hotel after almost two weeks in Tuscany in the middle of a terrible storm .
we did stay for 7 nights and three more member of the family arrive a day after for a Special occasion (my sister birthday)
the place is located in a really nice area with many trees calm and quiet a bit out of Rome (exactly what we were searching for )
our Superior room was good size the internet worked well the staff were great ( especially Angelo Monica and Robert thank you ) the breakfast was really good room service was great the bar was lovely with live music (piano) we did not use at all the shuttle bus as we did have our car. the Osteria have really fresh and good food with good prices for Rome.
The pool area was really clean (everyone had to wear a shower cap …?)
Rome is lovely we will definitely return and when we will we will stay in this hotel

  • Liked — Location, kind staff location , everything
  • Disliked — shower caps in pool area
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ANGELA,GREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Whilst this hotel is a little out the centre of Rome it really doesn't matter as the free hotel shuttle (10 - 15 mins journey) frequenlty drops off and picks up in the centre of Rome from 9am - 11 pm.

If arriving via the Termini , then you are best to get a taxi to the hotel (around 25 euro)- although if you can find out the time the hotel shuttle picks up in Rome centre you may be able to co-inside your journey with it.

Breakfast is great - lots of variety and all the staff were very nice and helpful.

Champagne and oysters in the hotel bar before you set out for the night makes it special - although prices are as usual v high.

If you want somewhere outside the hustle of Rome this is the place - the room was v pleasant with a modern tv, big bed etc - though the bathroom was very small. Its not a romantic hotel but definately would give it a 4 star.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank William040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#111 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#119 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing