We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Ranked #206 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
“A relaxing Easter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

We had a wonderful Easter break, the staff were friendly and the service excellent. The hotel is not in the centre but within walking distance and transport in and out of Rome is quick and easy.
Our family room was comfortable and clean and room service excellent, we'll definately be visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    1,030
    429
    145
    53
See reviews for
753
916
86
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

Reading other reviews of this hotel swayed me to book and I spent 4 nights best forgotten if that was only possible. I have just re-read the reviews and I can only conclude that either it is a different hotel or some people are easily pleased. This hotel is a tired, depressing, unlovely piece of 70s architecture with a colour scheme, particularly in the hotel lobbies, that could induce a migraine in sensitive souls, but let's not be too petty and instead, look at the location. One reviewer says it is in the centre of Rome and another says that it is a short stroll to St Peter's; it is in fact 5 and 3 kilometres respectively. The anonymous location is served by a busy and, being Rome, fast urban roadway whose pavements disappear, leaving the pedestrian horrible exposed to Italian driving skills. Anyone with the faintest suicidal notions should avoid the pedestrian option. It is therefore, not surprising that the little shuttle bus was so poular. This runs about every hour to and fro until 10.15pm with a 4 hour break midday. so what's wrong with that I hear you ask; well the combination of a large remotish hotel and a small bus means. as the hotel sign says, first come, first serve, everybody else is left standing on the pavement to wait a further hour or take a 16-17 Euro taxi trip into the centre.
Inside, atrocious corridor decor apart, the hotel is generally quite gloomy, with little natural daylight, although the litlle conservatory was quite pleasant. Bedrooms are a decent size and the bed was comfortable and clean, but that smell, a sweet rancid smell reminiscent of putrifaction. Hot water too, was interesting; shower during the day, as most people don't, and you would be rewarded with hot water; shower first thing in the morning and it became an optional extra.
The cost of the bedroom and bevarages was steep, but that appears to be Rome for you - no such thing as a credit crunch here, yet.
On the plus side the staff were efficient and friendly, but they'd need to be keep this leaky old vessel afloat.
In summation, this is a tired hotel, very much aimed at the business sector and tour bus operators, badly in need of renovation and, as an architect, I would be more than happy to help, that way I might find out the cause of that smell.

Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank EdinburghMaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

Me and my wife recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. Although it was a brief stay, we really enjoyed the time very much. The staff was very friendly and courteous, room was very clean and the facilities in general were up to international
standards. I just wanted to let you know what a wonderful place this hotel is.
The shuttle bus to the city centre is very convenient and there are plenty of them throughout the day so you do not miss any of the venues at anytime.... Needless to say the conveniece of the airport shuttle!!! We really want to thank the hotel and their staff and look forward to staying with you SOON
> the near future,
>

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipesaldarriaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

The crowne plaza was everything you'd expect from this type of property and more. Very modern, very clean, great service with english speaking employees and nice decor. Spacious rooms, particularly for Europe. I would definitely stay here again. The are a few drawbacks, including that it is quite a distance from the airport!! To get there by taxi would exceed 100 Euros I think. The trains can get you close, but you have to take 2 seperate trains, and the second one only runs about every hour and a half. I took a cab from the 2nd train station because I didn't want to wait and it was 14 Euros on the meter, but the schmuck insisted I pay another Euro for having 1 bag. Oy vey.

The Hotel does have a shuttle bus, but it only operates 1 time per day. It leaves the hotel at 7:15 am and returns from the Airport at 8 am. Thats it! If you are coming in or leaving at any other time, forget it. The reason is that the same shuttle goes from the hotel downtown and drops you off about 1 mile from the colliseum. It comes back about every 45 mins, so it is a great way to get back and forth to the center of Rome.

As long as you understand the operation, you can plan and have an enjoyable experience. At $139 Euros a night, it was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

This is a wonderful hotel that really treats its guests well. We arrived early from our flight knowing we would not have a room yet but they accomodated us, gave us a bus schedule into town, explained everything and put up with our fundamental Italian! Very helpful and even arranged a tour for us when ours was canceled unexpectedly. Due to our long flight and long day around Rome, we decided on an early dinner and ate at the hotel. It was really good. The waiter was excellent and funny, explaining how his "mother" cooked our meal just for him, etc. Spent a great night there before our cruise. I would definately go back to this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljeanw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

just back from st peters crown plaza rome to day . No were near st peters square. The breakfast was terrible. The staff was no help at all.It was so on child friendly they would not let my daughter at 11 year old in the in door swimming pool. The drink and food was so over price and did not taste very good. No way i would give it a 4 star hotel more like 2 or 3. clare from Ireland

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — to far from city
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank salon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

This is an American style hotel transplanted to Rome.

Our room was not ready when we arrived.

The hotel was under construction. At one point we had to wade through construction debris. This was not noted on the hotel website nor were we told about it when we checked in.

The value of movies and internet for a set price was good.

The service in the restaurant can best be described as snooty. The food....transplanted Italian food in America. We had the buffet one night in the restaurant and then were told the kitchen did not want to make any more of the items that they were out of.

The same restaurant, at lunch, served a partially frozen pizza. Coundn't believe it.

At breakfast the snooty counter person got his guests out of order and then demanded we sit with other customers.

The only reason I would return is for the hotel points and the pool for cooling off in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#111 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's

Property: Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's
Address: Via Aurelia Antica, 415, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rome
#105 Business Hotel in Rome
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#224 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#245 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with a tranquil garden, an outdoor pool and convenient transport links to Rome’s historic heart. Crowne Plaza® Rome - St. Peter's hotel offers guests easy access to the city centre via our scheduled shuttle service or public transport just outside the hotel. If you're travelling to or from Fiumicino Airport (FCO), reserve your seat on our shuttle bus or book a private transfer. Closest metro station Cornelia is just over 1km from the hotel. World-famous attractions such as Rome’s Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel – home to Michelangelo’s spectacular frescoes – are all within reach. The hotel is just steps away from Villa Pamphili city park and a few minutes from the old neighbourhood of Trastevere. Business travellers have access to a 24-hour Business Centre and 13 modern meeting rooms. Our dedicated Crowne Plaza Meetings Director takes care of all your event needs. The hotel is Completely Connected, and our Fast & Fresh meal options keep you focused and productive. Our airy rooms offer balconies and free WiFi and a Sleep Advantage® programme, including premium bedding, Quiet Zones and Guaranteed Wake Up Calls. Sip a drink in our relaxed poolside bar, enjoy Italian or international cuisine in our full-service restaurant. Pamper yourself in our wellness centre which is open to all guest over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Rome - St. Peter's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Rome St. Peter`s Hotel Rome
Crowne Plaza Rome St Peters
Crowne Plaza St Peters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing