We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, great value hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Corot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Corot
Ranked #587 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous, great value hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Termini, where the Terravsion buses from the airports stop.
Considering its central position, it is nonetheless very quiet, due to great double glazing.
The staff were friendly, polite and smiley.
Breakfast was basic but plentiful, and the waitress even offered all guests bespoke cappucino, latte or espresso coffees from the Gaggia machine!
The hotel is scrupulously clean, and our bathroom looked as though it had been installed yesterday!
Ideal position, on all the main train, tram, bus and Metro routes.
A huge variety of restaurants on the doorstep, Restaurante da Nazzareno and Restaurante Mino being particularly fine.
Would recommend this great value hotel to anyone!
The review by sarah795 is amazing. They were checking out as we were having breakfast, and my wife and I could not believe how rude and aggressive they were being to the reception staff while trying to get away without paying a national tax (of a whole 2 Euros)! Don't believe anything they have posted, as they are obviously not seasoned travellers!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 208! It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank epicureglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    173
    113
    21
    12
See reviews for
98
156
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just back from 4 nights at this hotel. I can honestly say i would not recommend this hotel. It is very old and very basic. Myself and my friend are both only 28 and were not looking for the ritz but this hotel was the complete opposite. I will say it is kept very clean. The noise levels are ridiculous. We could not sleep for 4 nights. When someone flushed there toilet it was like being in niagra falls with the noise. It sounded like there was mainteance being done at 3am with banging, furniture being moved, footsteps. It was literally like sleeping in a busy train station. I wrote a letter of complaint about this on the last morning but the man on reception basically told me it would be going in the bin. You cannot use the air con in the room yourself, you have to ring recepetion everytime you want it cool or hot so this gets rather annoying. We had paid for this hotel via an agency online but when we were checking out we were advised we needed to pay an extra 2 euro per night for City Tax. Nobody had advised us of this when booking or checking in. As far as im aware now everywhere in italy is the same so just be careful when booking. The plus side of this hotel was it was right on the door stop of termini station which is great for the metro and it is very clean. I can honestly say though i would never stay again due to the noise levels and the fact it was so basic

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciano P, Direttore generale at Hotel Corot, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Sarah795,,
Thank you to have left here your comment about your experience in Hotel Corot. Unfortunately your bad review is based on your sensation and it’s not objective.
You complain about noises levels: flushing water toilet, footsteps, maintenance noises (we don’t maintain during the night). Of course these noises could come only from another room with guests regardless the other guests. When someone complains about the noises coming from another room, it’s necessary to communicate this discomfort to the reception immediately. So we can intervene to solve the situation. If you give a complaining letter at check out time, it’s too late. I don’t think it’s right to blame the Hotel for something we couldn’t control; we could in case you told us immediately.
City tax is a public tax which must be paid from all guests in Hotels in Rome. City tax is a regional fee, so it has nothing to do with the hotel. The money we collect belong to the local government in Rome. I'm sorry your agency did not inform you about it but every hotel is obliged to collect this tax from its guests.
I really hope you will give our hotel another chance to make you change your opinion.
Best regards,
Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
northridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

Great loc..great serv ice staff...grumpy desk...avg bkfst....not fancy but does job...clean gd wifi

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank bobkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciano P, Direttore generale at Hotel Corot, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Bobkr,
thank you for your review.
I hope that you will stay again here for your next trip in Rome.
Warmest regards
Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Very close to the termini station & the bus stand and it is a boon for visitors. There are pharmacies, stores, wine shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk. The hotel decor is old and not the best at the common areas (probably because it shares the elevator and a passage with another hotel). The rooms are rather small but very clean and the toilet is of reasonable size and clean too. The hotel staff is very friendly and polite, Mario at the reception is particularly helpful. The breakfast room is bright and the breakfast is adequate. They might look at changing the menu once in a while though. Free wi-fi in the room is definitely a bonus. For its price it is good value and I shall recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GautamMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Right across the road from Termini station (look for via Marsala exit). We took the Leonardo express train from the airport (worth the money). At first you think, "What am I letting myself in for" but the concierge desk is friendly, the price is reasonable, and the accommodation is better than expected. The breakfast room is bright and there are lots of choices. You can take the subway system and many attractions are a doable walk.Make sure you have good walking shoes. Watch for the gypsies at the train station - they ask for money for helping you get subway tickets from the machine, and there are some outside the hotel at times selling knock-off merchandise. Just walk with a purpose, not by yourself. This is a really good place to stay for a few days if you are doing Rome on your own (be sure you do the New Free Rome Tour your first night!).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jangale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

very close to Termini station, where you can find market, pharmacy, stores, phone companies, etc. Always felt safe in the area. The hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms little small , but functional and clean. Very clean bathroom. Pretty good breakfast and the best cappucino ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtaddeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Right by train station which we liked! A short walk or take the metro to all attractions. We felt safe. The common areas are dated, like worn carpet, but all was clean, staff were helpful.
It is connected to Hotel Rimini. Breakfast was adequate. Coffee was good. For the price for Rome, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DevonaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#399 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Bruna
Hotel Bruna
#673 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#328 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#437 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#703 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#957 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corot

Property: Hotel Corot
Address: Via Marghera 15-17, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corot 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Corot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corot Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing