We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Spring House
Ranked #163 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It is not palacial. It is not luxurious. But it is spotless, efficient, reasonably priced, accomodating, and convenient to Central Rome. Who goes to Rome for a hotel room anyway? My family and I had 3 rooms, all of them spotlessly clean, and plenty of room to do what we needed them for--clean up and get ready for the next adventure. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast was abundant, with friendly waitstaff. The front desk was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank July2011traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

dear customer,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
This gives us energy to work so much better. Our goal is to make happy those who stay in our hotel and I'm happy to know that with you, our goal has been reached.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room, its cleanliness and friendly waitresses, as well as our extensive breakfast full of fresh produce. It 'nice to know that the help of our friendly and professional reception was good and the quality/money relationship has been appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Went for 3 days to visit Rome and choose this hotel for it's quite positive reviews and it's location.
It is just next to the Vatican Wall and 10 minute walking distance from the St. Peter Square.
We checked-in in the evening and the hotel seemed to be quite and cozy. They also have an underground parking just next to the hotel, so if you travel by car it's a good option. The size of the room was really small, but we couldn't care less as we would only spend our time there to sleep. I imagine though that many people would feel really claustrophobic.
But than first night we had our first really bad surprise. At 5 am, the family staying the room above us, woke up. We realized that the walls are paper thin. They had two small kids, running up and down, screaming, shouting etc, till 7 am when they handed over they screaming and shouting to the room next to us.
Obviously we complained at the reception, be the morning receptionist tried to get rid of us asap, by telling us, that yes, they know, those were a few big Indian families. Well this was really funny as one of the families spoke perfect Italian and the other perfect American English.
Next night the very same happened, same rooms, same voices. This time we didn't bother with the receptionist as it was the same, so in the night when we got back we spoke with the receptionist who was on shift at that time. She was really helpful and apologized, explaining to us what we need to do if it happens again. Luckily the third night it was better and we could get a proper rest.
So, in conclusion, pretty below par hotel for the Best Western standards, really small rooms and avoid the bossy morning receptionist.

Room Tip: Avoid room 156
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

dear customer,
thanks for sharing your experience in our hotel.
Positive and negative comments give us many suggestions on how to improve our work. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location near the Vatican Museums and the Basilica of Saint Peter and I hope that you have taken advantage.
I am truly sorry that you are getting your room small. If you had told it us we would show you different room from where you could easily choose from.

I'm sorry you was disturbed in the morning so early from other customers. Unfortunately it can happen. I hope that does not happen again but if it happen, call the reception and advice it immediately. without waiting. Fortunately we have a 24 hours reception just to meet the needs of our guests at any time. Even at night we would have asked your "neighbors" to be quiet without waiting for the day dopo.
Uno of our objectives is to ensure that guests will rest well to visit the beauties of Rome without fatigue.

I hope you will give us another chance. please come soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel was clean and in a good location next to the Vatican City. It has free wifi and continental breakfast. The room was clean but very small about the size of the bed! But it is fine for just getting your head down. It was a good hotel for a weekend brake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobnob44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

I thank you for post a comment. I am happy to know that you loved the location of our hotel near the Vatican Museums. I hope you have had a chance to visit the old town where you can get there by subway CIPRO in 5 minutes walk from us. I'm glad you have enjoy our free wi fi access in all rooms and our internet access in the lobby and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are attentive to the needs of our customers for this if you had told the room was small for you, we would quickly show you other larger rooms. We have many other types of alternatives such as rooms with balcony or even on two levels. Next time do not miss the opportunity to have more sayng the reception your needs. Remember that our goal is to give you an unforgettable holiday and we can really do it .Just ask.
We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at the Spring House in Rome for three nights in June 2012, and had a good stay. The hotel is really close to the vatican and the vatican museum entrance (an extra tip, the queues for the vatican museum were massive every day after about 8:30am, so pay a few extra pennies and pre-book on line, it will save you hours of queueing). To be honest, the vatican isn't the handiest location to stay in Rome, as its a decent walk to the old town / pantheon / colloseum etc. But, there is a metro station just around the corner so it worked out well! In terms of the hotel itself, the room was abolsutely tiny, but heah, I only slept there so it didn't bother me. It was clean, warm, comfortable and quiet. And there was free wifi which is a bonus. Breakfast was pretty average I guess, but there are plenty of cafes on via candia if you fancy going somewhere else. The staff spoke impeccable english and were friendly...

All in all, a good choice and a great trip!

Room Tip: Room 133 is tiny!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

thank you for choosing us for your stay in Rome.

we appreciate that you wright this comment in Tripadvisor sharing with us and all the other customers your experience.
reviews like your one help us to improve our gaps. one of our target is try to satisfy our guest expectations.
We are glad to notify that we satisfy your expectations for our position near to the Vatican Museum and so close to the metro stop and restaurants. May be you didn't know that we also have an American bar where you can eat well. Now we have a good complete menu for only 20 euro!Next time don't miss the opportunity to try it!

I'm sorry to hear that the size of the room assigned was not so good for you . If you had warned the reception, we would certainly gave you a room more pleasing.
One of our target is to make pass our customers a memorable stay.

All the staff hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Vatican wall is at the end of the street, about 100 meters away. The Sistine Chapel is only 5 minutes walk away. The Saint Peter Basilica is only 15 minutes walk away.
If you plan to take the Metro (subway) to the hotel from the Airport, drop out at Cipro Metro station. Walk towards the Catholic Church next to the Cipro Metro station, go to Via Candia right across the Catholic church, after two or three blocks you will see the Via Mocenigo Road sign, turn right and you will see the Best Western sign board. There is a very good Chinese Restaurant at affordable price just one block from the Cipro Metro station. It is at the opposite direction from the Catholic church.

The room is clean, but the walls of the room is very thin. We can hear when people in adjacent room are talking, watching TV, flush their toilet, and do any other things.

The breakfast is good. The waiters are friendly, and so do the Receptionists. There is a supermarket next door. There are some nice restaurants just across the street from the hotel, and there are plenty of shops around the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyvale74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccspecialist, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spring House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Guest,

first of all thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in the "eternal city".
We are pleased to read that your stay with us was more than pleasante.
Our main goal is guest satisfaction and we work hardly everyday to improve the quality of our standards and services and your kind e-mail make us understand that this goal has been reached with you.

It's a pleasure for us understand that you enjoyed our Hotel position, near to the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapple and the St. Peter Basilica. This give you the possibility to visit this attraction and don't miss it.
We will continue to work as best as possible in order to continuously improve.

Kind regards,

Elisabetta Barbaro
Customer Care Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

After a long journey to reach Rome, the one best remedy is a hot shower. Alas, there was no hot water! It was not just on one day but for the rest of the week and our stay! Everyday, the management assured us the technicians were working on the boiler. Everyday, there was no hot water. In desperation, I had to boil the hot water with the kettle to wash my hair!

It was not an isolated case, as my next door neighbour had no hot water either. I also heard other guests complaining the same, so the problem appeared wide spread.

We were asked to complain to the Best Western chain, and the management did apologise. However, It did not make our stay a pleasant one as a basic requirement is not met.

Having said that, the location of the hotel is great for access to The Vatican and the metro. If they can fix the hot water, then it is a good proposition.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzietravellerDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

dear customer,
thanks for commenting your experience.
I am deeply sorry to hear that you had problems during your stay with us.
Unfortunately the problem did not depend on the hotel but from a broken pipe in the neighborhood that has created the same problem for the whole area, also in private apartments
Our goal is to make better our guest's holiday and in case of problems try to solve them immediately.
For this since you have said to have problems with the hot water we immediately called the technicians to check the fault and repair it immediately and you have saw them coming. Deeply sorry for what had happened we were delighted to offer you a discount of 60 euros on return transfer to the airport and I hope it's been nice. We hope to have another opportunity to show the true holiday at the spring house.
sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Best Western Hotel Spring House in Rome during June 2012. The room was normal European size (a bit small compared to normal US size), but very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with any request. Upon arriving, we were offered an upgrade to a very nice balcony room with free minibar (water, soda, beer, and wine) for only 15 euro per day, which was amazing!

The complimentary breakfast went beyond the expected "Continental breakfast", and included eggs, sausage, and bacon, plus lots of yogurt, fruit, and juice in addition to a huge selection of pastry. The coffee service was attentive and excellent.

The hotel is located about 500 meters from the entrance to the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel. St. Peter's Basilica is a few hundred meters past that, and the Cipro Metro (subway) stop is a few hundred meters in the opposite direction. There were many sidewalk cafes and bistros within walking distance from the front door of the hotel. It was a perfect location for everything we wanted to see and do in Rome.

I give this hotel my highest recommendation for its price range in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade to a balcony room with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#55 of 1,271 in Rome
685 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
768 reviews
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#52 of 1,271 in Rome
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Spring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Spring House

Address: Via Mocenigo 7, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Rome
#244 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Spring House 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location in the center of Rome, walking distance to the Vatican, Saint Peter's Basilica, Sistine Chapel and much more of historical Rome,international standard of quality and Italian hospitality are what make up an unforgettable stay in Rome. The Best Western Spring House's recently renewed and renovated style give you the ultimate "home away from home" experience, whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Spring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing