We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined my whole evening”

Osteria Da Zi Umberto
Ranked #1,083 of 12,275 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ruined my whole evening”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

While it looks charming and tasty from the outside, this place was anything but. Food was mediocre, I was served dry potatoes and raw meat. Service was beyond below average, waiters were extremely rude and even pushed us out of the way. Such an unpleasant evening, avoid at all costs unless you like being thrown around and given crap food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lakesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    427
    127
    49
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Roman and Simply good”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Simply one of the few restaurant that is Italian, Roman, and simply good. We enjoy going here because they dont try to sweep you in like many and the food is what we like: Simple Roman dishes prepared well in a authentic atmosphere. Not for those who need posh to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok food, nice area”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

food was ok but nothing special, we were quite forced to finish quickly, the area is nice and you can sit outside

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miryam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We found this place per a recommendation of our taxi driver. We were in Rome for the day and having had poor experiences near famous tourist attractions, took him up on the recommendation. We were a large party (12) and were accommodated quickly (lunch time). We were all brought the fiore di zucca ripieno e fritto on the house and it was quite good. Several of us had the saltimbocca alla romana and others had the cod. My daughter was fond of her gnocchi. All was quite good, authentic Italian cuisine (family is from Italy).
The only reason for not 5 stars is the only dish my niece had was a simple dish as the caprese (tomatoes, mozzarella and basil) and she was disappointed. Other than that, coffee, house wine, appetizers, service was all great! If I could give them 4.5 stars, I would.
Definitely would return. Please note they are not "walking" distance from major attractions...but then again, we were with a few senior citizens.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place to avoid in Rome!!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The food was rather mediocre and the service was the worst I have ever seen. The waiter tried to trick on us, charging us more than the real cost of our food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Osteria Da Zi Umberto also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Da Zi Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing