We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggle to justify 4 star rating......”
Review of Hotel Royal Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal Court
Ranked #179 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Havant
2 reviews
“Struggle to justify 4 star rating......”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Big room, high ceilings, but very basic. Main issue was window with wooden shutters let virtually zero natural light through with no adjustment, great if you like sleeping through the day?!?!?! Just didn't feel like a 4 star, we paid £210 for 3 nights so if you can get a 3 star for less I'd go with it..... Main plus was location, it is about 4 minutes from termini station so very easy links to both transport and all major city landmarks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimitris0, Reception at Hotel Royal Court, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for writing a review.
We have never claimed
that all of our guests at 100% are satisfied. We are hardly working for having as more as possible guests that when they leave Rome and our hotel they thing that they have been in a place where they are welcome.
There are exceptions and always they will be.
The only thing that I would like to ask you is why you didn't tell us at the reception that you were not happy with that room. We could maybe propose you something else. At the end we/you could open the wooden shutters, they are not fixed.
That the hotel is 4 stars we know it and all guests that are coming here know it too. But as I wrote there are always exceptions no matter what we do or provide. There are always some that will find something that is wrong.
Kind regards
Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    263
    99
    27
    14
See reviews for
115
336
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited Rome for the first time last week and were so pleased that we had chosen the Hotel Royal Court. The room was extremely spacious and comfortable, with a super en suite facility. Everything was absolutely spotless - really clean. The food was very good - a reasonable choice of dishes at breakfast, with everything very fresh. However, the most notable feature of this hotel has to be the FANTASTIC service provided by the Reception staff - particularly Dimitri, who just could not do enough to assist us, including recommending some excellent restaurants. Whilst we were initially disappointed that there was no bar on site, we soon found that this gave us the opportunity to visit a number of the excellent bars/trattorias in the nearby vicinity. The location of this hotel could not be better. We will DEFINITELY be booking to stay again. J & D F

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

we were a party of 3 family womens, came to rome to explorer the city, the royal court hotel was the best choice!
the staff in the hotel was the best: Dimtri, Roman and Don carlos, all the time help us with smile.
we had a nice triple room, very nice bathroom/
the breakfast was exelent, with very good pie, cakes etc...
the cappucino was also very good.
i am realy like everything about this hotel, and i reccomend to everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilaplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We visited Roma to specifically go to watch the Rugby at the Olympic stadium so four of us descended on the Royal Court for a 6 day break in Rome. The Hotel was perfect for the "Roma Pass" being close to the Terminus for all the public transport to get to all the attractions of the city. There are some good local restaurants with Demitri's recommendation just around the corner so after long days on public transport and walking around all the must see sights it was great to get showered and out to dinner with no fuss and without having walk too far. I have only one slight issue, I couldn't get the internet to work to read my iPad in the breakfast room. One had to go up to reception or to your room. When eating breakfast, just like reading the local morning paper we did want to discuss the days route for visiting the city over morning tea then google the site to get the background and make sure we knew what to look for when we got there. That apart we have a fantastic weekend, this Hotel is excellent; thanks to all the team, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for a weekend short city break. Demitri, the manager, treated us like kings and queens. He was attentive, very helpful and so friendly. As someone who normally doesn't like hotels due to their impersonal demeanour, I was so pleasantly surprised with the staff and running of the hotel. It's in a fantastic spot just 15 minutes from the major sites and perfectly located next to the main train station- Termini. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and in particular, Demitri for making my engagement so perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Royal Court is an excellent hotel in lots of respects. Not least because it is so close to Roma Termini Station that you can see the station from the front of the hotel. It therefore has the best possible transport links to the airports, the historic city centre and Vatican City. All these places of interest can be reached easily by bus, Tube, or taxi - or if you prefer - some you can walk to. There are lots of restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity, so you'll not have to wander far for drink and/or a meal. We couldn't try all the restaurants, of course, but the ones we did had good food at reasonable prices.

The hotel is cosy and quite small which makes it extremely welcoming; it is housed over three floors with lift access to all levels. The rooms are standard size but nicely furnished in "shabby-chic" and ours had a 'queen-sized' bed, which was very comfortable. A fridge minbar was in our room, so I assume that all rooms have one. A good sized bathroom with a bath and a shower + bidet, and it had angle-poise shaving mirror. A very easy-to-use electronic safe is also provided for you to safely store your air-tickets and passports, etc. The room has AC and heating so irrespective of the time-of year you go, you'll be comfortable at night. (It was pretty cool outside when we were there in mid March but always nicely warm inside the room...) Worth noting! None of the rooms had views of the city, the hotel is surrounded by adjacent buildings so if you're wanting views overlooking St Peters Square you'll have to expect to pay a lot, lot more...

The hotel has a small central court yard, with a couple of tables, and they will serve you cold drinks there. The hotel offers free, reasonable-speed internet access, so take your iPad, tablet or smartphone with you.

The breakfast room is small (in keeping with the small size of the hotel itself, and is in the lower floor. The 'continental-style' breakfast was good and varied, and very adequate, certainly for our needs. I would suggest you buy bed & breakfast right from the outset, it is much cheaper pre-booked !

All the staff were extremely helpful and polite, could not fault anyone. The Manager was particularly help with the usual "touristic questions" we all ask - 'the nearest Tube, bus', taxi etc (bar in our case!) and at the end of our stay, he offered, at no cost, to keep our luggage in their locked store room, which was fantastic for us as we expected to head along to the station and use the Left Luggage facility there. We weren't flying until 8:50pm and still had serious sight-seeing to do.

This an excellently-run, small, comfortable & cosy, hotel, well-placed for easy access to everything you'll want to see in Rome, but set in a quiet area for that good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Note there are steps to the foyer so dialled travellers will need assistance it, once in you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandjan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed her for the last 3 nights (left today). Friendly and helpful staff. The place is clean, nice décor, could do with a little maintenance in the hotel, ie. the bathroom tiles around the bath tab (leaks) could be fixed properly. Room 214 is lovely, with a lovely sink in the bathroom. Flat screen TV. A big + is the safe in the room. Lovely breakfast: fresh mini baguettes, ham, salami, cheese, yogurts, cakes, croissants, cereals, scrambles eggs and bacon (though these are prepared early in the morning so may be a little soggy). Can ask for a fresh espresso or cappuccino. Rene' in the breakfast room is a lovely/helpful member of the staff.

The hotel is conveniently locate 5 minutes walk from Termini Central Station. The bus to the airport is just outside the station in Via Marsala so this hotel is very convenient for early departures and walking to most of the sites.

Room Tip: 214 is a nice room. The lifts stop at the 3rd floor and then you need to take the stairs down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#133 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#362 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#158 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Court

Property: Hotel Royal Court
Address: Via Marghera 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#172 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#197 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Court 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Court is a charming boutique Hotel located in the city centre between Termini railway station and La Sapienza University. The location is strategic: from the main train station you can easily reach every tourist attraction and both airports with a train or a bus. Within walking distance you will find Via Nazionale, with its shops and the Exhibition Palace, the Coliseum and the Ruins of the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain. The service in the Hotel is attentive and dedicated; the Team is at entire disposal of the Guest starting from the reservation with suggestions, restaurant bookings and any kind of assistance. The Client at the Hotel Royal Court will enjoy a special familiar treatment, and will feel as at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Royal Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgana Royal Court Rome
Hotel Morgana Royal Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing