We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Accommodation Planet 29
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
11
13
8
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
13
8
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Had read good reviews, albeit mostly a year or two before our stay. Only two were very negative.

Fortunately we only stayed two nights and were out most of the time. As we kept telling each other,'It is ed to sleep in'.

The bathroom looked newly refurbished and clean, the wooden floor was filthy and we couldn't walk bare footed on it without moving dirt into the bed when we retired.

Hardly saw anything of hotel staff who were behind locked doors on the first floor, our room was on the second floor.

The advertisment seen on the internet stated three times that there were ceiling fans but our only option was to pay about £18 for airconditioning.

Fortunately, we had a travel kettle and European adaptor with us, so we were able to have hot drinks in the morning and evening - esential, as coffee and tea are very expensive in Rome except in fast food burger bars.

Our first night we dined at the Restaurant across the road, both the food and service were aweful and the waitress extreemly rude.

The next night we had a really good and much cheaper meal at di Famiglia Allam, just around the corner on the left -Via Volturno, 44 . The staff were friendly and very friendly.

Overall, our experience of Rome was good as the hotel is near Termini convenient for the metro trains and buses and most tourist sites are within easy walking distance - as long as one is good at mapreading.

Wherever you stay, have a super time in a historians paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiredofhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

I would definitely stay here again. It's a decent hotel for the price. We had asked for a room on the same floor as the reception and it was fabulous. The room was large with a huge window overlooking the courtyard, private bathroom and air conditioning. If I was to stay here again, I would request for the same room as I think other rooms are not as nice.

The location is fabulous being close to the termini station and surrounding restaurants. There's a fantastic restaurant across from the hotel that always seems to be packed.

If you were to book here, I really suggest to request a room on the reception floor or else you'll be dragging your luggage up the stairs and it's not easy.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank reesapeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We did not even end up staying in the Planet 29 accommodation but in Della B&B across the road, even though I had booked this back in July with Planet 29. We asked where breakfast was served and was told repetitively that it was downstairs but we were unable to locate it so never got any breakfast during our stay. Also the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly and on two separate days we had no water at all in our rooms. We also had money stole from our room (over 100 euros) and then after that the room was not cleaned (we suspect that it was the cleaners that took it as they never came back after the money was taken). Therefore we had to use the same towels for 4 days as no new ones were delivered to the room. The cleaners also (before the money was taken) were constantly outside our rooms from 6 am in the morning until about midday and created so much noise that it was impossible to sleep when they were outside in the corridor cleaning the other two rooms that were in our corridor. We reported the theft of the money to Planet 29 and to be perfectly honest they did not seem surprised that money had gone missing but asked us if 'we were sure that it had been taken'!. They then tried to overcharge us by 15 euros and also another couple who were with us. In short I would never recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank missymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

We stayed here for one night, and thankfully that's all it was. We booked it last minute so we didn't have a lot of choices, so lesson learned. The location is good - very close to Termini but the place was terrible. First, you have to walk up 4 flights of stairs (if it had been nice this wouldn't have been such a big deal), and second, the place was not the cleanest. The beds seemed clean but the shared bathroom smelled like urine and the shower looked as though it had never been cleaned. The breakfast was terrible - weird packages of tiny melba-type toasts with butter and watered down coffee. If you have other options available - take them!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurelmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2007

Based on the reviews held on this website I booked Planet 29 in Feb of this year for a holiday in May. I don't know what happened to the place between then and now but I would not recommend this place to anyone. After the first night we were asked to move rooms , and we obliged.... big mistake. the room we are in is about 8 ft x 8 ft. no decoration on the walls . These are scuff marked and have plaster gouged out of them. The bathroom has mould on the walls and if you shower the basin overflows. The showerhead does not work and sprays out at one point only. The rooms are kept clean by the staff and the bed made for you. For 60 quid per night I have had better and althoughy Rome is supposed to be pricey ( its not really compared to any other city ) I think the extra cost for a decent Hotel could be worth it. Walking around the city we have come across some well presented hotels which are reasonabley priced.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LpoolKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews