We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Accommodation Planet 29
Ranked #547 of 1,069 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 29 March 2007

Quite simple conditions, but if you only need perfect cleanliness, a comfortable bed and helpful personnel (and really nothing more), you will be satisfied.
The rate was relatively fair by local standards, however it is less the decentness of the rate, but rather the excessiveness of the local average price that makes this rate appear fair.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
3
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2006

I just got back from Rome a couple of days ago. I still can't believe just how beautiful Rome is.
We stayed at a cheap place near Termini station.We really didn't expect that much from this hotel, giving the low prices ( we payed 80 euro for a double with ensuite facilities).
But we were very surprised when we got there. The reception is on the first floor and so was our room ( we were lucky cause they have 5 floors and no elevator). The girl at the reception was very nice and helpful. She gave us a free map and showed us where to go and answered all of our MANY questions ( this was our first time in Italy). We were then showed to our room. We were pretty impressed by the beautiful paintings and sculptures that were in the room and in the reception ( it seems that the owner, his wife and his doughter are all artists and made all the sculptures and paintings themselves).
The room was really clean and so was the bathroom.
There was no breakfast included, but we didn't mind that. Most little hotels charge you an extra 10 euro for a 1,50 euro breakfast. No TV either, but that wasn't a problem as we were most of the time out visiting the many great places.
The location was great.There's a fabulous restaurant just in front called "La Famiglia " where we had dinner every night. There's also a supermarket, a lot of bars and a few shops.
If I come back to Rome I'll surely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank i_lizie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2006

We returned today from 2 nights staying in the self catering accommodation that Planet 29 offers. Its on the fifth floor of their building but we were warned about this and did not bring too much luggage. Elisa, from Planet 29, was most helpful answering all my emails very efficiently. The accommodation was an easy 3 min walk from the Termini station - fantastic. From the accommodation we were able to walk to all the tourist sites and never needed to travel by bus or metro. The accommodation was basic - kitchen area, sofa, table, bed (in the same room, however it was very large and most comfortable) and then separate bathroom. There was a tiny terrace but we didn't use it.
For a honeymoon this wouldn't be suitable, but for those looking at well-priced accommodation in a great location, I think it is ideal. Although it wasn't grand, it suited us perfectly as we were out all day and night, touring and eating at wonderful restaurants - we would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
8 Thank BunnyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2006

Very friendly staff. We arrived early and the staff is excellent at accomodating us. They also switched on the heat immediately upon our requests when the spring night can still be chilling sometimes. The location of the place is great, with SIR store just block away for you to get some supplies. However, no elevators so could be problematic if you are not at the floor of the reception. Nice kebab and pizza place on the main road to the Termini. Quality and inexpensive restaurants just two blocks away (ask the reception staff about location). The bathroom is a bit old but it is clean. The room is not carpetted but it is clean with just the furnitures you need. The window closes well. We have a room on the same floor as the reception and it faces the cafe opposite to the street. It's occassionally noisy at night with people playing instruments and singing till about 11 or so. Afterall, at this Eternal City, it is really hard to find a place with this type of location and amenities at this price. Reasonabe value for price and I will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2006

The room was sufficient and we had a nice view of the cafe opposite from our room. The place is well kept and clean and the toilet is sufficient as well.

Location was very accessible from termini if you are not willing to pay for a cab for your luggage.

Service was so-so, no breakfast and be aware that if your room is on the 5th floor, you have to carry your luggage up the stairs. No internet connection and no wireless connection to tap either.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2006

Highly Recommended!! Pretty rooms. Clean bath. Nice hot shower. I will go back. I spent tedious days reviewing hotels on trip advisor trying to find an inexpensive stay for 3 nights in Rome for myself and my two daughters near the Termini which would be clean and have nice Roman interior. My bottom line was a triple with a private bath, which is called a triple en suite. I finally emailed Planet 29 directly and got many choices directly from them for the price I could afford, including apartments in the historic center. I chose the triple at their pensione near the Termini. We arrived by train and walked 5 min to their place, following their explicit directions, nice neighboorhood. The plaque is on the outside of the building and they are only one flight up from a marble hallway. They speak english very well. The highlight after asking if we could go on a tour leaving in 30min,they booked the night tour of Rome in 15 min after we arrived.They are there all the time you just have to ring the door bell. They stored our luggage on the morning we left. Lovely people. A lucky find. Their pictures are accurate. Lovely interiors. Comfortable beds, warm linens, street noise minimal, windows shut tight works wonders. We all had such a good time and the location is TOPS!!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 January 2006

I've stayed at Planet 29 in 2001, 2003 and 2005 with my mother, and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting clean and inexpensive accommodation in a central location.

The bad: lost reservations, being given a queen bed rather than 2 twins, and being very close to some youth hostels (the drunken noise carries in summer when the windows are open), no hot water in the morning (although this was OK last Feb).

The good: The staff are always friendly and speak some English. And when we arrived at midnight (after being stuck on an overcrowded train from Bologna for 12 hours due to blackout/storms) the staff were on site to let us in (although reception was closed). If you arrive before your room is ready you can sit in a pleasent courtyard in the sun and they are happy to mind your bags if you have a late flight. And this side of Termini is a safe residential area (unlike around other Termini hotels). Finally, although there is no airconditioning, the ceiling fans and high ceilings make the rooms quite pleasent.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#403 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,290 of 3,619 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,549 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#288 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accommodation Planet 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accommodation Planet 29

Property: Accommodation Planet 29
Address: Via Gaeta 29, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,069 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Accommodation Planet 29 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accommodation Planet 29 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accommodation Planet 29 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing