We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large apartment and breakfast inc great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurelia Residence San Pietro
Ranked #131 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a great place to stay.
We stayed in a one bedroom but the same apartment could easily sleep 4 there is a bed settee in living room.
There is a large kitchen, large bathroom and a balcony the whole length of apartment.
Apartment cleaned everyday. And breakfast is included, so it's like a 4-5 star hotel with great service.
Reception we're very helpful. They give us details and directions for all sites in Rome.
Also we're able to arrange taxis and book site tickets.
We had a problem with shower head and when I mentioned it , the shower was fixed when we came back to apartment.
It's only 10 minutes walk to the Vatican and there a few nice places to eat close to the apartment.
Highly recommend this place.
It very near train line so you can hear trains if the window is open. But ther are no trains after midnight and you don't get any noise from street.
You could walk to most of the sites but we found taking a bus to some sites was a faster way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello Collin, sorry for ny delay in answering back, I really want to thank you for your nice message, guests like you make us stronger and willing of keep on giving good service, at the end tourism is HOSPITALITY, and even better if the place you are it is nice and comfortable like you said for our apartments. You described everything perfectly, do you want to come and work with us? Thanks a lot again, take care, and see you soon in the Eternal City!!!! Best regards, Paula Estebarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Aurelia Residence San Pietro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

We chose this hotel on the recommendation of my husband's Italian colleague who stays here during visits to Rome. Having flown in from IAD on a flight that arrived before 8:00 AM we were grateful to be given a room way before the regular check-in time by the very friendly staff. They even upgraded our room from a Rossini/Puccini to a Vivaldi, which, because our particular apartment is situated on the ground floor, has its own courtyard! Although the apartment showed a little wear it was nevertheless clean and spotless. Even the grounds of the complex was clean and properly maintained.

Why the 3 stars instead of a 4 or 5? A few things:

1) The property is either next to or very, very close to the metro track because even with all the windows closed you could hear the train rushing by. After the first day though we kinda got used to it, for the most part.

2) The limited availability of the front-desk staff. Although we were aware of this even before we booked our stay we still couldn't help but get frustrated on several occasions. We needed taxi service a couple of nights and had nobody to turn to for help (the automated taxi service is in Italian). Another time a friend tried calling us at the apartment but couldn't get a hold of us because there was nobody to patch the call through.

3) The website states that there is daily maid service except on Sundays and holidays (there was no holiday during our stay). We arrived on a Friday and we didn't get maid service until Monday. The following day, had I not requested that our apartment be cleaned again, they wouldn't have done so. Some guests don't mind sporadic housekeeping but I do. This was one of my main concerns and I even exchanged emails with them prior to our arrival to confirm that there will be daily maid service.

While this property is a stone's throw from the Vatican it is important to know that the Vatican Museum entrance is on the side that's farthest from Via Aurelia. St. Peter's Square is a good 20-minute walk (this is an estimate since we never walked to St. Peter's) so walking to the Vatican Museum would probably take twice as long. Cab ride from Aurelia Residence to the Vatican is anywhere from €7 to €9 while a cab ride to Rome's city center is €11 to €15.

There's a Carrefour (supermarket) within walking distance (10 minutes) and a really good restaurant frequented by locals (Goose Ristorante) 2 blocks away.

There's no pavement on Aurelia Residence's side of the street (it's a busy street and cars zip by at around 40 mph) but the property's gate is set back about 3 feet from the road so when you step out of the gate there is actually space for you to stand while you wait for traffic to clear so you can cross the street to where the pavement is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank proud_mom219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello, sorry for my delay in answering. We remember your nice family, you, your husband and your son, you were very friendly. We really appreciate that you wrote really your experience so detalied. I can mention also few things:
1) we are close to a secondary train station and it is know by all the guests coming as it is written everywhere, unfortunately the noise is really subjective, we are planning to change the window system to improve if. And we know as you said that you can get used to it.
2) we are not a hotel, we are a residence, it is pubblished our opening hours in the website and all the other website who work with us, and also you wrote that you knew it. We normally teach all our guests to use the telephone, and we are sorry you did not find a person who sope english from the taxi company. The taxi also stops in the squares, and there is one nearby the residence, 5-7 minutes walking. We also explain normally and tell the guest the extension number for each apartment in order someone has to call them, maybe you arrive in a busy morning that this was not explain to you, and again we are really sorry. All our guests can be reach directly the apartment without needing to pass through the reception swichboard.
3) daily maid service: change of towels, bed making and cleaning of the bathrooms (except Sundays and Public Holidays), this is what it is written in our website and what we offer, mabe you wanted us to pass a hoover more often, or maybe other more deep cleaning, but you did not mentioned a particular task that had to be done. And for sure on Monday was schedule the cleaning also if you would've not told us, as you wrote in this message.
Rome it is nice to get to know it walking, we are near the Vatican City, so closed to most of the attractions in that area, Vatican Museum as you mentioned are on the other side, but I bet who decide to stay in this neightbourhood love to walk through St Peter's Basilica and Square in order to arrive to the museum, I think is not a normal walk but one of the most pleasants one!
regardng the street we understand that you need to pay attention before you can croos to the sidewalk, we are on deal with the italian goverment to make some changes and be more comfrtable and safe when coming and going. At the end I can feel that you like it as your title is " Nice place, friendly staff", hope you will come again and maybe be able to help you while your stay and now that we know better your needs be more efficient for you. Kindest regards, Paula Estebarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our family of four enjoyed our stay in Rome extra because of the place we stayed. We can recommand this hotel to every one.
Perfect location, huge and clean rooms and very nice employees.
Thanks for all the lovely cappucini

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elodie1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and it certainly did not live up to my expectations.
What you see on the website is a far cry from what you really get.

Everything, with exception of the shower in the bathroom, seemed outdated - definitely not the luxury they advertise.

I did not eat at this hotel but when I looked inside of the dining area it was again bland and old-fashioned.

At night the hotel is very noisy whereby I was often woken by cars and motorbikes driving past and also on one occasion by a woman screaming for about half an hour. All not too comforting, especially when staying alone.

When I left I had to catch an early flight and so had to check out around 7am although no one was at reception and the door was locked with the shutters down. Not a great way to leave a hotel - especially one which proclaims to be as good as it is.

Also a note, there is no pavement when you exit the hotel. You have to walk straight on to the road which is quite dangerous particularly if you have small children or luggage.

All in all, I was let down by this hotel and will not be returning nor will I recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talktolaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hello, we are sorry for your message, but we also thank you for sharing your experience, we can say that what is pubblished in our website or the booking agencies online are real pictures of our apartments, so what you see you get, then if you like the decoration or not is personal and subjective so we accept your thought. Being in the city center of an important city like Rome it is normal to have car and motorbikes noises, so we are working on our apartments to make a better isolation of noise through the windows. The sidewalk is crossing the entrance so we understand that sometimes can be dangerous, and we are dealing this fact with the roman goverment. We are not a hotel, we are a residence, our opening hours are pubblished everywhere, when checking in we remind our guests our timetable, so the guests who leave before our opening hours have to come the prior day to make the check out formalities and then that morning leave the keys inside the apartment, it is not so wire situation at the end. We do not proclaim to be as good as... are the guests who stayed in our residence who make their own opinion of our place and share it. We never say that we are a luxury residence but a familiar and comfortable one as per our spacious apartments, so we are really sorry that you felt disappointed. For the moment we can only give you our best wishes, Paula Estebarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The apartment is more than we expected. Comfortable enough and very spacious. The outside gate makes you feel very safe once inside the apartment. Very close to St Peter's square. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Lorraine, few nice words towards our residence so we just have to tell you thank you!! Your opinion is really important, we try to make feel all our guests special and our friendly staff helps a lot. Rome is an unique city and we are proud that you chose our residence. Warmest regards, Paula Estebarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had an enjoyable 4 nights in a spacious 2 bedroom apartment within walking distance of the Vatican and short bus ride to the city centre/ other sights.

The breakfast was adequate (barista coffee, bread, cereal, fruit, juice etc)

Overall the apartment was a good base for our Roman holiday.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Liz, Hello, thanks for sharing your experience, you are a very nice family, we remember your kids, so as you said our spacious apartments allowed you to enjoy your stay in Rome, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again in a near future.! Best wishes, Paula Estebarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My family and I stayed at the Aurelia last February for 6 nights, I can only now review our stay as I have booked our return trip, I was too sad about leaving to write it last year. Perhaps that tells you all you need to know about this wonderful place and the very special staff who work here.
Nothing was too much trouble for Paula or Steffano, they assisted with booking tickets, catching buses, etc. the advice they gave was always so helpful.
Our apartment was ideal for our family of four. We enjoyed breakfast at the Residence, with Gerrano who looked after us so well, ate lunch in the city and then returned in the evening to cook a simple supper for ourselves. The layout of the apartment meant we could relax, chat, watch TV in the evening after putting our (exhausted) daughters to bed in their own room.
We are so excited to return to Rome in a few weeks time, and stay at the Aurelia residence once again - see you soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff D, Direttore at Aurelia Residence San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hello Kim!!! thanks for your lovely message!!! it is never late to write and share experiences that mark you in life, and we are glad to be part of yours!!!!! Will be just great to see you again soon, Gennaro will be here to prepare you the best capuccino in Rome, Raffaele, Simon and me will be ready to assist you for all your needs once again while in our residence, giving you some tips regarding all the attractions an events in Rome. We start the count down!!! Warmest regards, Paula Estebarena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#50 of 1,267 in Rome
826 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#126 of 1,267 in Rome
467 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#109 of 1,267 in Rome
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Michelangelo
#164 of 1,267 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#47 of 1,267 in Rome
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelia Residence San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelia Residence San Pietro

Address: Via Aurelia 145, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Rome
#78 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#169 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £82 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurelia Residence San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurelia Residence San Pietro can be your home in Rome, with its 25 apartments with three different sizes is the ideal place for families but also for couples who like to have space, either for leisure and for business. In not more than 8 minutes walking you will be in Saint Peter's Basilica and Square, one of the most important attractions of the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurelia Residence San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelia Residence San Pietro Hotel Rome
Aurelia Residence San Pietro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing