We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colosseum B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colosseum B
Ranked #277 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

After much research we settled on the Colosseum B&B, booked through Venere.com, and were not disappointed. The residence is comfortable and quiet but VERY accessible to the central activity of Rome.

Prior to our arrival we were contacted by Daniela and Valter via email to state our expected arrival time. They were quick to offer assistance with transportation from the airport to their residence. Upon our arrival in Rome a gentleman met us as expected and our transfer couldn't have gone any smoother. Once we arrived at the B&B we found Valter awaiting our arrival. Due to our arrival time our rooms were not yet available but we were still checked in our bags were able to be placed in the kitchen area.

Unfortunately we had some communication challenges as we do not speak Italian and Valter does not speak English. However, with the help of an app on his tablet/iPad we were able to communicate easily. He offered to let us use their computer to quickly send a "we arrived!" email to relatives, gave us a key, and we were out exploring Rome in no time.

When we arrived back to the B&B that evening our bags were placed in our room already. The room was very clean and nice. The bathroom was up-to-date and also provided a mounted hairdryer. There was a TV available but we didn't watch as we had no time. Free Wi-fi was also available through a secure network. Every so often we would lose the signal but I had read this may occur in the older buildings. All we had to do was move to a new location in the room and we would reconnect. Our room was cleaned daily.

For breakfast, we received vouchers for juice and pastries for a location around the corner. Once again we had a slight issue with communication, as the workers spoke very little English, but we were able to collect our breakfast and walk 2 blocks to eat our breakfast just outside the Colosseum .

Although we were so close to the activity of the Colosseum and so many surrounding restaurants the location of the bed and breakfast was peaceful.

We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: If traveling from US you will need the large 2 prong adapters for the room. There is a supermarket o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BananaBuzzbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    38
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
79
110
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This b&b is located in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from Colosseum station. The place is clean and cosy. We arrived at the weekend after Easter Sunday. Daniela was very sweet to leave us with some Easter eggs :) The surrounding is also safe and quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Giorgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the best and greatest colosseum b&b for the 2nd time on the 15th of April and were again very happy with the accomodation the location and the excellent service was what brought us back again and we definetely would recommend this wonderful b&b.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esayase m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The property is located about 10 mins. walking distance away from the Colosseum entrance and the Colosseum Metro Station / Bus Stop.

There are some really nice restaurants nearby.

It is run by a very warm and nice family. They are very accommodating and helpful.

The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious. The bathroom was one of the biggest in our entire trip to Europe.

Breakfast is pretty good, although not at the property, but at a Cafe near by...

If you would like to cook your own meal, they have a fully functional kitchen as well.

In summary, I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a convenient location to explore the beautiful city of Rome!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lampasasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this B&B on our last night in Rome. We wanted to be close to the colosseum so that we could tour the colosseum before we left for home. The owner Danielle was extremely friendly and helpful. She made us feel like we were visiting family. There ended up being a small mix up with our room (she didn't realize that our daughter was going to be joining us later that day and had us in a double room) however she was quick to remedy this issue, sending over someone to clean the other room and even gave us the 2nd room for our daughters use. We enjoyed the warm and cozy feel of this small B&B and would definetly recommend this to place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This small B&B is well located just in front of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum.
This part of the town is very touristic but the street is quite.
There are a lot of restaurants and the rooms clean even not modern.
We'll recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

The B&B is very small, which makes it very cosy. The owner is super friendly. The kitchen has everything we needed to cook and make coffee, tea, etc. Grocery stores are close, so it's easy to buy stuff to cook. For eating out, there are many restaurants, bars and pubs around the hotel. Bedroom and bathroom are clean and very comfortable.
The B&B is within a five-minute walk to the Coliseum and you can also walk a short distance to take both metro lines.
We recommend this B&B for its good location, affordable price and very nice facilities!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#421 of 3,752 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Monti
Retrome Rome
Retrome Rome
#450 of 3,752 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Monti
Arena Guest House Roma
Arena Guest House Roma
#172 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
B&B Second Floor
B&B Second Floor
#452 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Monti
B&B I Fotografi al Colosseo
B&B I Fotografi al Colosseo
#1,038 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum B

Property: Colosseum B
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 59, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colosseum B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colosseum Bed & breakfast is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Rome, Colloseum is only a five minute walk away.We welcome you to enjoy a relaxing stay in our place, that's ideally situated near Basilica of SANTISSIMI QUATTRO and SAN CLEMENTE (1 minute), Imperial Forum, (10 minutes) Vatican Museums, Navona Square, Spanish Steps, Veneto Street, Trevi Fountain, and the most beautiful churches and museums are located all around.So your holiday begins upon your arrival and not a minute later!The Colosseum b&b is located in a quiet but central location on the ground floor of an ancient building with an independent entrance. Colosseum b&b has been offering guests comfortable beds and excellent accommodation for over 10 years.Sleeping in a Bed and Breakfast in this Historical city is a must to travelers wishing to stay overnight in a traditional Roman Guest House and in the morning enjoy a continental breakfast. Upon arrivalCheck in time is from 09:00 AM to 05.00PM. You are welcome to check in any time before 01.00PM, but if your room is not ready before 01:00PM then we can at least store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10:00AM and late check outs are €30 plus charge per room and you can stay until 03:00PM.During your check-in we will answer any questions you may have. We are always ready and willing to help you with your dining requirements, to arrange taxis, book theatre tickets ect...List of Facilities In your Room:Flat screen TVCable TVFree Wi-Fi InternetHair dryersNearest Underground• Line B, line A, a 5-minute walk.Overground stationCOLOSSEO (linea B); MANZONI (lineaA) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colosseum B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseum Hotel Rome
Colosseum Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing