We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommendation without hesitation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colosseum B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colosseum B
Ranked #254 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Recommendation without hesitation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Ahead of the trip we communicated via email with Daniella, but met only Valter when we arrived. He went out of his way to help us, carried our bags, gave us maps, offered us drinks, and pointed out a few of the "less-touristy" restaurants in the area (which must have been quite a challenge considering the location merely 500m from the Colosseum). The fact that Valter does not speak any other language than Italian added to the charm of the place. Rooms are spacious, clean and equipped with everything you might need ... even a luggage scale! Two points to be pedantic:
a) the Wifi reception is excellent in the kitchen (which is open to all guest), but quite average in the rooms. Perhaps an extender or repeater would do the trick. But who has time for internet anyway, if you are in Rome?
b) the nearest metro or bus stop is 10 minutes away, so we struggled with luggage. On the other hand, once the luggage is safely brought to the room, you can walk to almost any site (we went to the Vatican on foot).
Therefore, in conclusion, I highly recommend this B&B and would come back at any time.
Thank you Valter for all your help and hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in the triple, while our friends took one of the doubles. Both were spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenJamIno0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    37
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
110
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Friendly and helpful owners; outstanding location in the heart of ancient Rome; spacious room with clean and modern bathroom; small kitchen where you could prepare a simple or quick meal. Though it's called a "B&B," there is no breakfast provided. But altogether, an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We loved this small BB. Close to the Colosseum but surprisingly quiet. It was clean and comfortable and in a street where you felt less like a tourist and more like a Roman. Valter was fantastic and our 3 days there were very enjoyable. Cheers, Michele.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Collosseum B & B!!! It is our second visit in the past few years and was again very memorable! Although we would prefer to keep this as our own little "home away from home" in Roma, that would not be fair to our lovely hosts Daniella and Valter! Thank you again for your hospitality ... We will be back !!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This small BB was perfect for our trip to Rome. 5 minutes walk to the Colosseum and within half an hour walk to all the other major attractions. Rome was very busy at all the attractions but as we were in a quieter area we were able to eat at lovely little restaurants and pizzerias and they were not as expensive as the restaurants located in a more central location. The proprietor's were very helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our second stay and we have recommended this B and B to friends who want a competitively priced comfortable room to stay in a prime location. The Colosseum II meets all these requirements and is enhanced by the helpful attention of Daniela and Valter. Being in a city there is a degree of street noise.Having the use of the kitchen for drinks and snacks was home from home and the complimentary bottle of wine was appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbmtb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our first trip to Rome. It was very convenient, particularly to the Colosseum and St Clements (must see!) with lots of places to eat nearby. Very clean, and we loved having a kitchen in which to make a cuppa or simple meal. Daniella was very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#469 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Monti
Arena Guest House Roma
Arena Guest House Roma
#157 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Monti
Retrome Rome
Retrome Rome
#455 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
Profumo Maison d'Hotes
#70 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Monti
B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo
Monti
Eats & Sheets Colosseo
Eats & Sheets Colosseo
#1,680 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum B

Property: Colosseum B
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 59, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colosseum B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colosseum Bed & breakfast is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Rome, Colloseum is only a five minute walk away.We welcome you to enjoy a relaxing stay in our place, that's ideally situated near Basilica of SANTISSIMI QUATTRO and SAN CLEMENTE (1 minute), Imperial Forum, (10 minutes) Vatican Museums, Navona Square, Spanish Steps, Veneto Street, Trevi Fountain, and the most beautiful churches and museums are located all around.So your holiday begins upon your arrival and not a minute later!The Colosseum b&b is located in a quiet but central location on the ground floor of an ancient building with an independent entrance. Colosseum b&b has been offering guests comfortable beds and excellent accommodation for over 10 years.Sleeping in a Bed and Breakfast in this Historical city is a must to travelers wishing to stay overnight in a traditional Roman Guest House and in the morning enjoy a continental breakfast. Upon arrivalCheck in time is from 09:00 AM to 05.00PM. You are welcome to check in any time before 01.00PM, but if your room is not ready before 01:00PM then we can at least store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10:00AM and late check outs are €30 plus charge per room and you can stay until 03:00PM.During your check-in we will answer any questions you may have. We are always ready and willing to help you with your dining requirements, to arrange taxis, book theatre tickets ect...List of Facilities In your Room:Flat screen TVCable TVFree Wi-Fi InternetHair dryersNearest Underground• Line B, line A, a 5-minute walk.Overground stationCOLOSSEO (linea B); MANZONI (lineaA) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Colosseum B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseum Hotel Rome
Colosseum Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing