We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, kind hosts!”
Review of Colosseum B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colosseum B
Ranked #292 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, kind hosts!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My 12 & 15 year old daughters and I stayed in a room for three; the room was clean and spacious, and the beds were comfortable. Our room had a tile floor (no carpet), and although we were surprised, it turned out that we really liked it. The bathroom has a shower (no tub), toilet & sink. The room is partially below-ground with a nice window at street level, and the benefit is that it keeps the room quiet and also cooler (yes, there is a/c). Wi-Fi worked great. We slept late the first morning and didn't see our host (not a problem), and the second morning we had coffee and croissants with them, chatting with the aide of our translation apps. Valter offered ideas on places to visit, and he also arranged a car between the B&B and the airport (50 euros paid to the car driver). That morning coffee and conversation remains one of our favorite experiences in Rome because Valter and Daniela gave us an opportunity to not be tourists - just people sharing a simple breakfast.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 which has a queen size bed and a day bed, so it sleeps 3 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    38
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
79
110
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwanenburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Daniella, Valter and son were very friendly. Valter even used his translation app to show us many sights to see in Rome!!! The room was very clean and spacious. Great value! Only 100 meters away from the colosseum so i couldnt imagine a better location. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. Wifi is complimentary and with a good reception!

Kind regards,

Dani and Vianne

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dani v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
300 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were a little disappointed after reading the reviews. Yes, the location is great but we never met our hosts, there is no b&b but basically you are in a basement suite with access to a kitchen. We did receive coupons to go down the block to receive coffee and toast though. So we really did not get any of the tips mentioned before in the reviews. One thing we did not care for was how the rooms smelt badly and needed to be aired out upon arrival every evening. Their son was as gracious as a young man could be though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baxter932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valterdaniela, Owner at Colosseum B, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guests,
I really don’t know what you were expecting. We have done our best as usual but we apologize if we have not exceeded all your expectations.

1)My son Francesco is a competent member of our staff and he was there every morning to assist you and the other guests and he always was asking if everything was well
2)Francesco went to the post office with you in Via S. Giovanni in Laterano, temporarily leaving his position
3)Francesco offered to buy a pharmaceutical ice pack with his money as the lady has a swollen ankle
4)You met me, Valter, the second day of your short stay and you seemed to be in a hurry and you have no stopped while I was talking to other guests. I’m the old host.
5)We cannot serve breakfast in the kitchen as for Italian law. Our kitchen is 11 meters and for Italian law it should be 16 + 16 (total 32 meters) so in every website that sell our rooms we inform that breakfast is served in a cafè outside Anyway we have a fully equipped kitchen where you can enjoy unlimited free coffee & tea and where you can cook whatever you want
6)Francesco washed for you free of charge a washing machine full of clothes warning you that do not have the dryer. maybe the smell was due to hanging clothes in the room?

Kind regards
Valter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This bed and breakfast is truly wonderful. The location is perfect. Plenty of restaurants in the very near vicinity, and even a couple of small supermarkets too. All attractions are within easy reach in Rome, but some are literally within a few steps of the Colosseum B & B. The facilities are perfect for anybody. There is a small, but functional kitchen to be used at your discretion. With a cooker and washing machine there too, you have all you need to be self contained. Daniela and Valter are so accommodating you feel like one of the family. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they are more than willing to put themselves out to give you tips and information. It is a hands on service you would not get from a high star rating hotel. The other residents we met who were also staying all had excellent comments too, so you know you are in safe hands. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay, and certainly will choose to book again. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the Colosseum B&B. Location was perfect, only 5mins from the Colosseum and Metro, our hosts told us about the bus service and as we had a Roma Pass this was great. Our room was spacious and comfortable. A great Boticelli on the wall, La Primavera, but perhaps it should be on the opposite wall, so you can see it more. They told us about some of the great sites around the B&B, suggested a really good pizzaria which was just 3 mins walk away. We had complete use of the kitchen, great for making tea and my type of coffee (instant). I have no doubt that if we return to Rome again, this is the B&B I will choose first. They made us very comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 2, the biggest. Very comfortable and although on the Main Street, really not very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful rooms, very clean and very close to everything. Metro and bus stations are 2 min. far from the BB. But someone can also walk almost to everywhere in the city by there. The owners are really kind,pleasant and very helpfull. Poor breakfast but everything else was really great! Also wifi is available only in the kitchen but for us who we were out all day didn't matter at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Labrini T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My second stay at the Colosseum B & B was every bit as wonderful as the first. Valter and Daniela went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. The wonderful location of the B & B again permitted a lot of exploration of Rome on foot, as it is situated in the middle of ancient Rome on the Celian hill, a short walk to the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, from many fascinating churches, like San Giovanni in Laterano and Santa Maria Maggiore, and from many excellent restaurants. One day we walked ten miles. We found some favourite places to eat, which we frequently visited over our two-week stay, and were soon greeted there as regulars. We felt really at home there. There was a good balance between eating some breakfasts and simple lunches in the B & B, and then going out to dinner in the evenings.
It was a memorable experience, and I shall be back to Rome next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
B&B Giulietta al Colosseo
#465 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Monti
Retrome Rome
Retrome Rome
#464 of 3,621 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Monti
Arena Guest House Colosseo
Arena Guest House Colosseo
#164 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
B&B Second Floor
B&B Second Floor
#494 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Monti
B&B I Fotografi al Colosseo
B&B I Fotografi al Colosseo
#982 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum B

Property: Colosseum B
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 59, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colosseum B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colosseum Bed & breakfast is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Rome, Colloseum is only a five minute walk away.We welcome you to enjoy a relaxing stay in our place, that's ideally situated near Basilica of SANTISSIMI QUATTRO and SAN CLEMENTE (1 minute), Imperial Forum, (10 minutes) Vatican Museums, Navona Square, Spanish Steps, Veneto Street, Trevi Fountain, and the most beautiful churches and museums are located all around.So your holiday begins upon your arrival and not a minute later!The Colosseum b&b is located in a quiet but central location on the ground floor of an ancient building with an independent entrance. Colosseum b&b has been offering guests comfortable beds and excellent accommodation for over 10 years.Sleeping in a Bed and Breakfast in this Historical city is a must to travelers wishing to stay overnight in a traditional Roman Guest House and in the morning enjoy a continental breakfast. Upon arrivalCheck in time is from 09:00 AM to 05.00PM. You are welcome to check in any time before 01.00PM, but if your room is not ready before 01:00PM then we can at least store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10:00AM and late check outs are €30 plus charge per room and you can stay until 03:00PM.During your check-in we will answer any questions you may have. We are always ready and willing to help you with your dining requirements, to arrange taxis, book theatre tickets ect...List of Facilities In your Room:Flat screen TVCable TVFree Wi-Fi InternetHair dryersNearest Underground• Line B, line A, a 5-minute walk.Overground stationCOLOSSEO (linea B); MANZONI (lineaA) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Colosseum B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colosseum Hotel Rome
Colosseum Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing