We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beat or expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Commodore Roma
Ranked #852 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beat or expectations”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I just have to put in a word about this hotel as a thank you to an excellent staff for making my vacation worthwhile.

My family and I read the reviews and had low expectations. We arrived exhausted and were very I satisfied with our room. For no charge, the management upgraded the room, and basically saw to any need we had. We could have spent a lot more money and stayed in a more International class hotel, but we really liked this place - they simply tried harder, and the price is not high relative to the market.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BDMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    159
    125
    42
    38
See reviews for
70
137
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just got back from a short visit in Rome and from my stay in the hotel Commodore.

I choose the hotel from Booking.com where it had great reviews .It was close to my budget also since it was my first time in the city. However although it states that is a 4 star hotel i am not really sure if it is.
The single use room was small -though i cannot tell if the size was the same in the other type of rooms or not - , had a steady shower in the bathroom wall of tiny size which is not convenient if you are a tall person( like me) . The instructions on how to use the phone device were not correct , tried twice to call in local numbers and both times could not get an outside line. Had to use my mobile finally.
The breakfast area was well situated in a room with lot of light and view (if you are lucky enough to sit in the tables next to the windows where you can see the church of Santa Maria di Maggiore). The breakfast was ok .

On the plus side nonetheless please add that the hotel is very good located in walking distance of few metres from the main central train station (Termini) from which you can go to all places around Rome and just few steps from the hop on hop off city -seeing bus stop( must do).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x19k77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Commodore for three nights using their online package. Like other reviewers have stated, the hotel is very close to the Termini so it's in a handy location. I found the staff on the front desk very helpful, particularly when I had to try several rooms to locate one where the wifi actually worked. After visiting 4 rooms with my ipad in hand I was finally successful, but I really think this shouldn't be necessary. As others have noted, the rooms are very clean but tired looking.

Breakfast was simple and plentiful, and I enjoyed the freshly made cappuccino which the waitress was happy to order from the kitchen.

Would I stay there again? Yes if I was only in Rome for short stay, but I don't think it is four stars.

Room Tip: For me it was all about trying to find wifi in the room. If you can't access it with the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Hotel Commodore in 4 years. It may not be the trendiest, or the most modern hotel in Rome, but the staff are lovely, the rooms comfortable and it's in such a great location - 15 minute walk to the Forum/ Collosseum in one direction, 15 minute walk to the Spanish Steps and The Trevi in another, and a 5 minute walk from Termini. Clean sheets and towels every day, extra pillows when we asked for them, not too noisy. The room isn't huge, and the bathroom is tiny with a shower that is not built for average sized humans, but it's the ambience of the place that keeps us coming back. There have definitely been improvements in cleanliness over the 4 years, and some of the rooms have been refurbished recently.

I would definitely stay again and, if the aim of your holiday is to enjoy and make the most of Rome rather than sit in your hotel room, then I would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chloe_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo B, Direttore generale at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing the Hotel Commodore for the fourth time.

These kinds of comments encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best we can for our guests.
It was a pleasure having you at the Hotel Commodore , and we look forward to welcoming you again and again.

Best regards
Angelo Battistini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just returned from another unforgettable experience ! We stayed at COMMODORE HOTEL in via Torino Rome - the staff were all extra ordinary , friendly & helpful - breakfast was more than we expected - good choice & ample - the room was comfortable and overlooked via Torino - hotel is very centrally located - we definitely recommend it - we will return ! a BIG THANKYOU to all the hotel staff & Management Rita & Ronald - Malta

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo B, Direttore generale at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely pleased that we were able to turn your stay in Rome into an exceptional experience, as it means our main objective.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our service and staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the historical heart of the Eternal City and let to continue your dreamy experience with us...

Best Regards,
Angelo Battistini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Staff very friendly; foyer and reception are very attractive; breakfast fine but fruit from a tin; however, our room was poor. Very clean with fresh sheets and towels daily but it was very shabby and tired. It was small and claustrophobic with a writing bureau as a dressing table! Wardrobe blocked 1/3 of the window area. En suite clean but stale smell all the time. Definitely not a 4 star room .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PWO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo B, Direttore at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for chooosing Hotel Commodore for your roman stay and for the time of your report, we are very happy to learn that you liked our foyer and lobby area as well as our service, we take good note of your suggestion in order to improve our services.
Best regards
Angelo Battistini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Commodore for one night on a stopover in Rome. Had the impression the hotel was 3 star, although it seemed that on arrival it was advertised as a 4 star hotel. I had booked a basic room online and on check-in was upgraded to the deluxe suite on the top floor which was a nice touch! Room was very large and had a double bed which was very comfortable, separate study area, large bathroom with shower over bath and a small rooftop terrace overlooking Rome which gave great views over the city. Furniture is a bit old and dated, but very European style. Had decent Air Conditioning which was a plus! Service I found to be very average, the guys in reception didn’t really seem to care about patrons and were slow to respond. WiFi was meant to be free, on check in I was given a free WiFi key and managed to misplace it, I then went and tried to get a new one downstairs and was greeted by a very rude gentlemen who was trying to charge me 10 euros as apparently internet was an extra cost? Luckily I found the WiFi key back in my room and saved 10 euros! Breakfast was nothing special, hotel advertised a beautiful breakfast room overlooking the city but this was not true. The food was okay, standard continental breakfast with Danishes, croissants, toast, coffee, juice etc... Overall, a comfortable stay, although if I didn't get a room upgrade, I would say this hotel is a bit on the expensive side and I am sure there are other places to stay with modern rooms. Location was great though, Termini was about a 5 min walk and very close to all attractions and transport. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Chose a high floor room to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petronator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo B, Direttore generale at Hotel Commodore Roma, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with the others travellers.
We are very grateful and happy for your awesome comment!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Rome.

My warmest regards,
Angelo Battistini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#330 of 1,264 in Rome
920 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Gioberti
Hotel Gioberti
#742 of 1,264 in Rome
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#410 of 1,264 in Rome
178 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,264 in Rome
3,055 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#511 of 1,264 in Rome
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore Roma

Property: Hotel Commodore Roma
Address: Via Torino 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#328 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commodore Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Commodore is an elegant 4 star hotel situated in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Train Station, the Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Rome Opera House. It has 60 rooms including single, double and deluxe rooms and triple rooms. The rooms are finely furnished and all equipped with the most modern comforts. Its intentionally retro' atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. It is strategically located in the heart of Rome and perfect both for business travellers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commodore Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Roma Hotel
Commodore Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing