We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh delicious pasta”
Review of Leon D'Oro

Leon D'Oro
Ranked #10,162 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Colonna
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“fresh delicious pasta”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Super friendly owner. Pasta was very fresh and sauces and portions perfect. Veggies were delicious as well. Tiramisu was homemade and very tasty. Went around noon so wasnt crowded yet. Enjoyed that. Would eat there again. One appetizer, two entrees, drinks, and one dessert about 50 euros.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    32
    39
    212
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious home-made food, owner a real character”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

They serve home-made pasta. The apparent owner Claudio said his wife made it which we don't know for sure, but it was home-made and delicious. He stands outside his restaurant as many small business owners do there, and tries to convince people to come in. We took his card and came back several hours later for supper, and he remembered us and that we were Canadian.
Claudio is quite a character and a bit of a salesman but very good about it. He made several recommendations and promised pretty amazing results but the food did live up to his billing, it was delicious.
Our only disappointment was that he disappeared half-way throughout the meal without a word. It's no big deal as he probably has long days or may have had something important to deal with, but he is part of the attraction and we looked forward to his presence. That is the only reason I didn't give this a 5 star rating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we ate there before seeing the reviews on here - big mistake. The owner who was standing outside was very welcoming an that, combined with the lovely display of various pastas in the window, tempted us in.

The food and service was good but the bill bore no relation to the prices on the menu and arrived as indecipherable squiggles. The first bill presented to us was for ?86 which was reduced to ?69 when we challenged it. This was still way too much for what we had ordered and having read the reviews on here now I know why. A place this dishonest and underhand deserves to go out of business.

Helpful?
4 Thank Patagonian69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
İstanbul
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“dishonest billing”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

ok let me tell you something food was not bad actually it was delicious but we have paid 10 euros for service 6 euros for bread and 4 euros for bottle of water.. i have never paid 6 euros for a bread in my life... lol . Good Luck

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Shakespeare07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Complete Ripoff”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The food was okay, but the glasses and the toilets were dirty and it was way too expensive for what was offered. 33€ for two very small portions of pasta and a bottle of water with the notice "Tip not included" on the bill. Never again - do not go there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leon D'Oro also viewed

 

Been to Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing